The Great Wall: The Story of Thousands of Miles of Earth and Stone That Turned a Nation into a Fortress

Overview

This is the story of a people's struggle for absolute security in a violent and dangerous world. Needing defense against the Mongols whose empire encompassed most of the known world, the Chinese built the Great Wall of China over 200 years. Thousands of miles long, the Wall was guarded by over a million soldiers manning thousands of forts and towers.

Wonders of the World series

The winner of numerous awards, this series is renowned for ...

See more details below
Paperback (Reprint)
$9.94
BN.com price
(Save 23%)$12.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (10) from $2.54   
  • New (6) from $5.84   
  • Used (4) from $2.54   
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

This is the story of a people's struggle for absolute security in a violent and dangerous world. Needing defense against the Mongols whose empire encompassed most of the known world, the Chinese built the Great Wall of China over 200 years. Thousands of miles long, the Wall was guarded by over a million soldiers manning thousands of forts and towers.

Wonders of the World series

The winner of numerous awards, this series is renowned for Elizabeth Mann's ability to convey adventure and excitement while revealing technical information in engaging and easily understood language. The illustrations are lavishly realistic and accurate in detail but do not ignore the human element. Outstanding in the genre, these books are sure to bring even the most indifferent young reader into the worlds of history, geography, and architecture.

"One of the ten best non-fiction series for young readers."
- Booklist

Examines the building of the Great Wall of China and the thousands of years of conflict that preceded it.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Canadian Materials - Gail Hamilton
Informative, entertaining, often riveting, these books offer readers important pieces of history and bring the civilizations to life... A must-have series! Highly recommended.
Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
In this Wonders of the World title, Mann The Brooklyn Bridge sets the story of the Great Wall into a thorough yet concisely wrought framework of Chinese history and culture. Noting that the differences between the traditions of the Chinese and those of the nomadic Mongols led to centuries of conflict, Mann describes how rulers from various dynastiesbeginning with China's very first emperor, Qin Shi Huangdi, who died in 210 B.C.attempted to build walls to protect their people from the bellicose nomads. When the Mongols became even more powerful and feared in the mid-15th century, the Ming court began the colossal task of building the Great Wall, a laborious process that Witschonke illustrates in two full-page, informatively captioned pictures. The artist also offers some enticing panoramas of Chinese landscapes and several dynamic action scenarios: on horseback, Genghis Khan and his warriors charge at the reader; and a four-page foldout shows the Mongols attacking one of the Great Wall's forts. Reproductions of Chinese art cap this accessible view of a momentous era. Ages 8-up. Dec.
Children's Literature - Uma Krishnaswami
This chronicle of The Wall begins with a dramatic episode involving the sixth Ming Emperor who lost a bloody battle to the Mongol invaders, and was subsequently kidnapped by them. It examines the centuries of suspicion between ethnic Chinese and "the barbarians," setting the stage for the construction of what is perhaps one of the most dramatic structures of any time, any place. The book is illustrated with a combination of archival material, photographs, maps and Witschonke's powerful illustrations of looming mountains and equally forbidding soldiers. A center spread is especially impressive. A useful addition to a social studies collection.
School Library Journal
Gr 4 Up--A look at the story behind the building of the famous wall. Told in story format, the readable text is presented in a concise, straightforward manner. Beginning with the kidnapping of the Ming dynasty's sixth emperor in 1449, Mann traces the roots of the historical battles for land and power between the Chinese and the nomadic Mongols. As a result of the constant fighting, the first attempts at building a wall date back to the first emperor of China, around 200 B.C. However, the majority of the text focuses on the period after Khubilai Khan's rule through the year 1644. The text is surrounded by ample margins and accompanied by a full-color, captioned illustration on each spread. The vivid paintings, done in earthy tones, blend in with the photographs and museum reproductions that also appear throughout. A time line highlighting the various Chinese dynasties, a chart of the Mongol invasion, and a map showing the approximate location of the Wall round out the presentation. This title includes more detail than Leonard Fisher's The Great Wall of China Macmillan, 1986; fans of Mann's The Great Pyramid and The Brooklyn Bridge both Mikaya, 1996 will not be disappointed with it.--Shirley N. Quan, Orange County Public Library, Stanton, CA
Catholic Library World
Part of the publisher's "Wonders of the World" series, this excellent book combines history and adventure in a winning package...Sure to be popular both as education and entertainment, this title is highly recommended for grades 4 to 6.
Library Talk
Readers who loved Elizabeth Mann's The Brooklyn Bridge and The Great Pyramid, will be instant fans of The Great Wall.... Although it is a complicated story of politics and power, Mann tells it simply and skillfully...Brilliant illustrations by Alan Witschonke convey the enormity of the construction...a stunning visual history that will enrich any study of Chinese history and culture.
Parent Council
Chinese history abounds with drama, intrigue, greatness and sadness. In this book all the elements on which the nation was founded are melded into a riveting account of how the Great Wall was built and its physical and mental impact on the Chinese people. The writing is infused with a genuine enthusiasm for the subject. The book's value is bolstered by strong and splendid illustrations. The Great Wall is a great book.
Sacramento Bee
2,000 years of Chinese history read like an adventure story.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781931414128
  • Publisher: Mikaya Press
  • Publication date: 2/4/2006
  • Series: Wonders of the World Book Series
  • Edition description: Reprint
  • Pages: 48
  • Sales rank: 365,537
  • Age range: 9 - 12 Years
  • Product dimensions: 10.00 (w) x 10.00 (h) x 0.25 (d)

Meet the Author

Elizabeth Mann has written nine Wonders of the World books, an award-winning series. She is former teacher in New York, holds an M.S.E. and is cofounder of Mikaya Press.

Alan Witschonke is the illustrator of four Wonders of the World books: The Brooklyn Bridge, Empire State Building, The Great Wall and Hoover Dam.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    The Great Wall: The Story of Thousands of Miles of Earth and Sto

    The Great Wall: The Story of Thousands of Miles of Earth and Stone That Turned a Nation into a Fortress by Elizabeth Mann is a great book for kids to read. I had to make a book report of it in one of my courses, and it had all the information that I needed.

    Overall: I think this is a great book, and the author did a wonderful job making it straight to the point :)

    WONDERFUL :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    The Great Wall

    I have to make a book report at school on this book,I like the book,cause it's short!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)