The Hanover Square Affair (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries #1)

The Hanover Square Affair (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries #1)

3.7 307
by Ashley Gardner, Jennifer Ashley
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

London, 1816
Cavalry captain Gabriel Lacey returns to Regency London from the Napoleonic Wars, burned out, fighting melancholia, his career ended. His interest is piqued when he learns of a missing girl, possibly kidnapped by a prominent member of Parliament. Lacey's search for the girl leads to the discovery of murder, corruption, and dealings with a leader of the

Overview

London, 1816
Cavalry captain Gabriel Lacey returns to Regency London from the Napoleonic Wars, burned out, fighting melancholia, his career ended. His interest is piqued when he learns of a missing girl, possibly kidnapped by a prominent member of Parliament. Lacey's search for the girl leads to the discovery of murder, corruption, and dealings with a leader of the underworld. At the same time, he faces his own disorientation transitioning from a soldier's life to the civilian world, redefining his role with his former commanding officer, and making new friends--from the top of society to the street girls of Covent Garden.
Book 1 of the Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries.

Editorial Reviews

Mystery Review - Sue Stone
Ashley Gardner's historical mystery series is a winner. This author brings the highs and lows of the English Regency period to vivid life. You'll meet soldiers out of work after the Napoleonic Wars; wives and mistresses who once followed the drum; Bow Street runners and master criminals; streetwalkers, servants, and ladies and gentleman from many different levels of society. Ex-cavalry captain Gabriel Lacey has learned the hard way that there are many fates worse than death.
The Best Reviews - Suan Wilson
In the tradition of Anne Perry, Ms. Gardner's debut delivers an emotional and compelling historical mystery. The tale is rich in detail and filled with a maze of beguiling, complex characters. Readers will eagerly await the next Capt. Lacey story
Round Table Reviews - Rashmi Srinivas
The author's depiction of a London where glittering gaiety and haughty noblemen co-exist with poor, underprivileged working class people and the seedy underbelly of crime and prostitution, strikes true. With a brisk narrative, credible characterizations, a challenging mystery and an authentic period atmosphere, Ashley Gardner has created a winner.
RT BookReviews - Sherii Melnick
(Top Pick!) With her vivid depiction of the era, Gardner brings her novel to life, from the streets inhabited by the destitute to the mansions of the wealthy. Woven into the plot are clues revealing the events from Lacey's past that have shaped him into the honorable but lonesome man he has become.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781466294677
Publisher:
CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date:
09/23/2011
Series:
Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries, #1
Pages:
318
Sales rank:
309,858
Product dimensions:
5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.71(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Award-winning Ashley Gardner is a pseudonym for New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Ashley. Under both names--and a third, Allyson James--Ashley has written more than 35 published novels and a dozen novellas in mystery and romance. Her books have won several RTBook Reviews Reviewers Choice awards (including Best Historical Mystery for The Sudbury School Murders), and the Romance Writers of America's RITA (given for the best romance novels and novellas of the year). Ashley's books have been translated into a dozen different languages. More about the Captain Lacey series can be found at the website: http://www.gardnermysteries.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Hanover Square Affair 3.7 out of 5 based on 4 ratings. 307 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So well written, this isn't just a fluffy historical mystery or romance. Authentic.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Regency England in 1816 is not the best place for a lame soldier on half pay with no prospects and no hope of finding any. Captain Gabriel Lacey and his commanding officer were asked to leave the army to avoid a court martial and scandal but the animosity between the two men exist to this very day. Still his ex-commander¿s wife Louisa tries to mend the breach that she was inadvertently responsible for causing.

Lacey rejects her overture but on his way to visit her without her husband there, he runs into a mob intending to assault the home of Josiah Horne. This curious captain goes to visit Josiah who thinks he wants the direction of a powerful man in the underworld. When he returns to the home to get the name, he find the man dead and castrated and a young girl drugged in a hidden compartment in the closet. He learns that another girl was there as well and he intends to find her or die trying.

The protagonist of THE HANOVER SQUARE AFFAIR is one of the most honorable men to grace the pages of a mystery book. He will risk his own life to right a wrong and that is the reason the audience will come to care for him and hope one day in his future he will find happiness. Ashley Gardner¿s debut novel compares favorably with writers who have made the best seller list.

Harriet Klausner

kyohin More than 1 year ago
It's true. You shouldn't judge a book by its cover. Due to the covers, I was afraid the mysteries in this series would have a heavy handed romance bent. Hooray, I was wrong! I am looking forward to reading more of Captain Lacey's adventures.
Kirconnell More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best historical mysteries that I've read in a while and I read a lot of them. Not my favorite period, but Ms. Gardner makes the time come alive in the book. Her characters are complex and believable. I think Gabriel one of the most appealing heroes I've ever come across. Recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good writing but it is a little dark for those looking for a lighter read. This book does contain rape and abuse but it is not described in action.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Captain Lacey is no longer in the military and is now living in London. One day he comes upon a mob throwing things at a home in Hanover Square. Since Hanover Square is one of the wealthier neighborhoods of London, a riot is one of the last things he would expect to find there. A young officer shoots Mr. Thornton, the leader of the mob. Captain Lacey comes to his rescue and helps Mr. and Mrs. Thornton get home. Mr. Thornton's maid, Alice, tells Captain Lacey that Mr. Horne lives in the house in Hanover Square. She also tells him that Mr. Thornton believes Mr. Horne kidnapped his daughter, Jane, and her maid, Aimee, from their carriage. They are still missing. Captain Lacey finds that Mr. Horne is associated with Mr. Denis -- not someone to get tangled up with. Mr. Grenville, Captain Lacey's friend, assists him in looking for Jane, but discourages him from interacting directly with Mr. Denis. Then Mr. Horne is found dead in his study. Aimee is found bound and drugged in a wardrobe just feet away from where Mr. Horne was killed, but Jane is nowhere to be found. As Captain Lacey and Mr. Grenville continue investigating to find Jane, they are told of another girl's disappearance. They end up putting themselves in great danger to locate Jane. The only thing I had trouble with was the setting -- London in 1816. I rarely read books set back that far in time, but I actually enjoyed this book. Captain Lacey is a very likeable fellow. His past has caused him much pain and he is trying to survive in a very tough world. I found the other characters, although some of them were less reputable, to be very well constructed. From her descriptions, I got a real sense of London in the 1800's. I recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading a few of these stories you'll find yourself half in love with our Captain Lacey! Murder, mysteries, crimes and a hint of romance on the backdrop of Regency England's ballrooms. Cor, its fantastic!
WyWy1 More than 1 year ago
Reading to me has always been like am escape. I enjoyed going back in time to London by way of a well written book,and I've always enjoyed a good mystery. The villian was disturbing and though I know this kind of evil exsist, I prefer not to read about them when reading for pleasure
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series.  The characters are excellent and the action makes sense.  Great mysteries
Daffydill More than 1 year ago
Cant wait to find out what will happen to Captain Lacey in the Next book and new "Demons" he will battle. It was a good story for the price. I found this book easy to read and a page turner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was in the mood for a good historical mystery, and I found one in "The Hanover Square Affair." The characters are terrific (and flawed), the setting well-researched. Highly recommended to fans of Ellis Peters, Stephanie Barron, and Bernard Cornwell. -- lyradora
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first in an interesting, arresting and different kind of mystery. It takes place in a time of history I enjoy, and gives a good description of the times and peoples. I have read the 2nd and am now on the 3rd book in the series. Just really enjoy this different kind of 'detective'.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I purchased this book, my expectations were not high, thinking a regency romamce with a mystery tossed in. Having read it and the second in the series, I can attest to the quality and depth of the writing. The characters had depth and believability and the setting while gritty rang true.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I usually read romance novels. I decided to take a chance on the Captajn Lacey Mysteries because I enjoyed another of this author's series( The Pirate Next Door, The Pirate Hunters Lady and The Care and Feeding of Pirates) I am so happy I gave it a try. Great mysteries within the on going story of Captain Lacey's past. I am currently reading the second book in this series and plan to read all of them. Give them a try, you won't be disappointed.
LadyKae More than 1 year ago
Don't let the cover fool you; this is not a romance novel. The Hanover Square Affair is the beginning of a brilliantly penned mystery series. Ashley Gardner most certainly researched this time period and truly makes 1816 London come alive. A complex but enjoyable plot and a memorable cast of characters made this book a page turner for me. I found it remarkably refreshing to follow how characters develop throughout the series. If you enjoy historical fiction and murder mysteries, this is the best I've come across. I initially enjoyed this book so much that I've since read the entire series twice through!
Anonymous 9 months ago
This is a very good story with mystery and intrigue that kept my interest throughout. It is set in England just after the time of Napolean.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Young0SY More than 1 year ago
I seldom give 5 stars on reviews because most books could be improved but this is an excellent series. I have read all 10 and ready for the next one. A strong writer, characters are strong and realistic, story line keeps you reading and is hard the figure out what is going to happen. The description of the lifestyle during this period is very thorough without being boring. Strongly recommend this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a really good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very very intersting suspense!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really detailed and intense
Anonymous More than 1 year ago