Hits Collection, Vol. 1 [Deluxe Edition]

Hits Collection, Vol. 1 [Deluxe Edition]

by Jay-Z

View All Available Formats & Editions

"Hits," for the sake of this 2010 anthology, tends to refer to crossover singles, which might explain why it pays no attention to Jay-Z's first two albums, Reasonable Doubt and In My Lifetime, Vol. 1. The emphasis is on his pop-leaning singles that reachedSee more details below


"Hits," for the sake of this 2010 anthology, tends to refer to crossover singles, which might explain why it pays no attention to Jay-Z's first two albums, Reasonable Doubt and In My Lifetime, Vol. 1. The emphasis is on his pop-leaning singles that reached the Top 20 of the Billboard Hot 100, beginning with 1998's "Hard Knock Life (Ghetto Anthem)" and concluding with 2009's "Empire State of Mind." It doesn't include every Top 20 hit -- neither "Excuse Me Miss" nor "Young Forever" appear -- and not every selection qualifies as a hit. For instance, the Black Album tracks "Public Service Announcement" and "Encore" weren't even issued as singles, though the latter might be the stand-in for the Linkin Park collaboration "Numb/Encore," which did hit the Top 20. Regardless, this is a decent overview, but it's far from definitive and more a celebration of the man's popularity, while also serving as a tie-in with Decoded, his memoir. The Hits Collection, Vol. 1 is lavishly packaged, containing a 32-page booklet of black-and-white photos. This might be the first time that a track list has used asterisks for the sake of denoting Grammy winners. [The second disc contains five tracks worth of deeper cuts and songs on which Jay-Z is featured.]

Read More

Product Details

Release Date:


Read More

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jay-Z   Primary Artist
Bashiri Johnson   Percussion
Ira McLaughlin   Vocals
Mario Winans   Drums
Pharrell Williams   Vocals
Beyoncé   Vocals
Kanye West   Vocals
Lamar Edwards   Hammond B3
J. Smith   Drums,Keyboards
Ed Goldson   Bass,Guitar
Kenneth Whalum   Tenor Saxophone
Don Crawley   Vocals
Larrance Dopson   Piano
John Legend   Vocals
Cassie   Vocals
Keyon Harrold   Trumpet
Leonard Harris   Vocals
Kenneth "Bam" Alexander   Drums
Saunders Sermons   Trombone
Cameron Johnson   Trumpet
Eric "E-Bass" Johnson   Various
Demme Ulloa   Background Vocals
Chuce 1500   Bass

Technical Credits

Prince   Composer
Barry Mann   Composer
Marley Marl   Producer
Rick Rubin   Composer,Producer
K. Walker   Composer
45 King   Producer
Ken "Duro" Ifill   Engineer
Jay-Z   Liner Notes,Executive Producer
Sean "Puffy" Combs   Producer
No I.D.   Producer
Deric "D-Dot" Angelettie   Composer
Jimmy Douglas   Engineer
Andrew Scheps   Engineer
Timbaland   Producer
Nichell Delvaille   Photo Coordination
Marlon Williams   Composer
Chauncey Mahan   Engineer
Pharrell Williams   Composer,Producer
Tracy Marrow   Composer
Shawn Carter   Composer
Antonio Hardy   Composer
Ann Mincieli   Engineer
Neptunes   Producer
Kanye West   Composer,Producer
Chad Hugo   Composer,Producer
C. Smith   Composer
Sean C.   Producer
Chris Atlas   Marketing
J. Smith   Producer
Michael Seltzer   Music Business Affairs
Kamel Abdo   Engineer
Gimel Keaton   Engineer,Additional Production
Ryan West   Engineer
Janko Nilovic   Composer
Alicia Keys   Composer
Joe Budden   Composer
Demacio Castellon   Engineer
Kenneth Whalum   Arranger
Nick Howard   Engineer
Eric Weissman   Sample Clearance
Jason Lader   Programming
Terese Joseph   Administration
Angela Hunte   Composer,Producer
Javier Valverde   Engineer
James Auwarter   Engineer
John Meneilly   Management
Jeff Bhasker   Composer
Patrick Hegarty   Art Direction
Carol Corless   Package Production
Ben Diehl   Engineer
Nicholas Solis   Engineer
Steve "Rock Star" Dickey   Engineer
Raw Deal   Engineer
Runners   Producer
Todd Russell   Art Direction
Tha Bizness   Producer
Alex Haldi   Art Direction
LV   Producer
Marcos Tovar   Engineer
Antoinette Trotman   Music Business Affairs
Sean Combs   Composer
G. Decarlo   Composer
L. Michels   Composer
Kristen Yiengst   Photo Coordination
M. Deller   Composer
L. Coppin   Composer
A. Mizell   Composer
D. Harper   Composer
J. Boxley   Composer
B. Jackson   Composer
C. Strouse   Composer
C. Butler   Composer
JP Robinson   Art Direction
N. Landsberg   Composer
E. Wilson   Composer
F. Perren   Composer
D. Matthews   Composer
E. Darby   Composer
D. Richards   Composer
J. Ventura   Composer
B. Keyes   Composer
B. Freeman   Composer
T. Wrice   Composer
R. Rouse   Composer
Elliott Wilson   Liner Notes
Ty Fyffe   Composer,Producer
Janeït Sewell-Ulepic   Composer,Producer
David Brown   Engineer
Antonio "L.A." Reid   Executive Producer
Alphonso Henderson   Composer
M. Charnin   Composer
Shux   Producer
Vol Davis   Music Business Affairs
Jennifer Justice   Legal Counsel
Shane Woodley   Engineer
Dave Sucky   Composer
Chaka Pilgrim   Marketing
Victor Abjaoudi   Engineer
Paul Falcon   Engineer

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >