The Hundred-Year Lie: How to Protect Yourself from the Chemicals That Are Destroying Your Health [NOOK Book]

Overview

In a devastating exposé in the tradition of Silent Spring and Fast Food Nation, investigative journalist Randall Fitzgerald warns how thousands of man-made chemicals in our food, water, medicine, and environment are making humans the most polluted species on the planet. A century ago in 1906, when Congress enacted the Pure Food and Drug Act, Americans were promised ?better living through chemistry.? Fitzgerald provides overwhelming evidence to shatter this myth, and many others perpetrated by the chemical, ...
See more details below
The Hundred-Year Lie: How to Protect Yourself from the Chemicals That Are Destroying Your Health

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$12.99
BN.com price

Overview

In a devastating exposé in the tradition of Silent Spring and Fast Food Nation, investigative journalist Randall Fitzgerald warns how thousands of man-made chemicals in our food, water, medicine, and environment are making humans the most polluted species on the planet. A century ago in 1906, when Congress enacted the Pure Food and Drug Act, Americans were promised ?better living through chemistry.? Fitzgerald provides overwhelming evidence to shatter this myth, and many others perpetrated by the chemical, pharmaceutical, and processed foods industries. In the face of this national health crisis, Fitzgerald also presents informed and practical suggestions for what we can do to turn the tide and live healthier lives.

Consider this:
? The average American carries a ?body burden? of 700 synthetic chemicals
? Chemicals in tap water can cause reproductive abnormalities and hermaphroditic birth
? A 2005 study of lactating women in eighteen U.S. states found perchlorate (a toxic component of rocket fuel) in practically every mother's breast milk



Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Salon.com
Exhaustively researched ... a useful addition to your library.
Boston Herald
A frightening wake-up call ... if Fast Food Nation made you consider some serious lifestyle changes, The Hundred-Year Lie will inspire you to go ten steps farther.
KLIATT - KLIATT Review
In 1906, Congress passed the US Food and Drug Act and, according to the author, this has led to the "Hundred-Year Lie" that our food and drugs have been investigated and are safe and that the additives and chemicals put in them may actually make them better than the organic, natural variety. As an investigative reporter, Fitzgerald is expert at using scientific documents, articles in science and environmental journals and expert interviews to support his case. He concludes that we cannot rely on the government, science or manufacturers to either protect us or predict the effects of the products we ingest. As a test, Fitzgerald had his own blood analyzed for toxins and, in spite of living in an area of California known for its pure water and air and careful eating habits, he was shocked to find many toxic chemicals in his blood. While many readers will not agree with his conclusion that "Merely by choosing a diet of pure foods and a lifestyle free of synthetics, we can detoxify ourselves and initiate the healing of many degenerative illnesses and diseases," this book will cause any reader to think about the effect of our own voluntary actions on the health of our bodies. His suggestions for practical steps one can take may prove useful as well, although in the paperback afterword, he fears that denial will prevent most people or governments from taking any significant action. The book concludes with an extensive bibliography and index. Age Range: Ages 15 to adult. REVIEWER: Nola Theiss (Vol. 42, No. 1)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781101218938
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 6/22/2006
  • Sold by: Penguin Group
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 304
  • Sales rank: 584,563
  • File size: 465 KB

Meet the Author

RANDALL FITZGERALD has written investigative features for The Washington Post and The Wall Street Journal, and for twenty years was a contributing editor for Reader's Digest, where he researched, wrote, and edited articles on science and medicine.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents


Introduction: What Are We Doing to Ourselves?     1
Down the Rabbit Hole
Reading the Signs     15
Myths We Cherish: Toxicity Is Someone Else's Problem     20
The Government Knows What Is Safe     22
There Is Truth In Labeling     24
The Poison Is in the Dose     27
We Can Handle the Body Burden     28
Playing Biological Roulette     30
From the Womb to the Grave     33
The Hidden Role of Synergies     34
Clues to a Health Mystery     40
Our Five Toxic Phases of Life     42
Your Personal Toxicity Test     53
A History of the Hundred-Year Lie     62
Strangers in a Strange Land
Wizards of Oz: The Food Industry     91
Let's Throw a Dinner Party     91
We Have Become What We Eat     94
How We Lost the Nutrients     97
Myths We Cherish: Food Additives Are Harmless     101
Artificial Sweeteners Are Safe     106
Pet Food Is Harmless     110
NASA Has Perfected Synthetic Food     112
Toxic Threats in Our Food     114
Toxic Threats in Our Water     116
sorcerer's Apprentices: The Drug and Medical Industries     118
Nature's Gift Abused     122
Myths We Cherish: The Government Insures That Drugs Are Safe     124
One Dose Fits All     127
Fluoridated Water Is Healthy for Us     130
We Get All the Vitamins We Need     134
Vaccinations Are Always Beneficial     139
Drugs Have Extended Our Life Spans     142
Overmedicating Our Children     144
The Marketing of Disease     145
We No Longer Know What to Expect     146
Are We Becoming a Mutant Species?     148
Canaries in a Coal Mine     152
Myths We Cherish: Plastics Are Harmless     155
Everything Is Normal     159
Animal Testing Predicts Human Health     162
Evolution or Extinction?     165
Learning to Protect Ourselves     169
Beyond Apocalypse Now
Our Health is Naturally Occurring     175
Pure Food Is Good Medicine     179
The Medicinal Wonder Foods     182
Myths We Cherish: Only Drugs Can Treat Depression     183
Food Doesn't Cause Violence     186
Only Drugs Can Relieve Pain     188
Placebos Don't Really Heal     189
Organic Food Is Always Pure      192
Centenarians Are Genetic Anomalies     195
Nature Is Our Best Pharmacy     197
When Western Medicine Fails     201
Myths We Cherish: Ancient Physicians Were Unsophisticated     207
Ancient Remedies Are Unscientific     210
Rediscovering Ancient Wisdom Traditions     214
Bringing It All Home     217
Afterword: A Detox Journey     229
How to Detoxify Yourself     241
Modern Science Affirms Ancient Cures     246
Postscript: More Evidence to Penetrate Our Denial     247
Bibliography     258
Acknowledgments     277
Index     278
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)