The Inner Circle (Man of Wax Trilogy)

The Inner Circle (Man of Wax Trilogy)

3.9 14
by Robert Swartwood
     
 
From USA TODAY bestselling author Robert Swartwood comes the exciting second book in the Man of Wax Trilogy ...

Two years ago Ben Anderson woke up in a rundown motel, three thousand miles from home, his family missing, and the words LET THE GAME BEGIN written in blood on the back of the bathroom door.

Now, with his past life gone, Ben has become a

Overview

From USA TODAY bestselling author Robert Swartwood comes the exciting second book in the Man of Wax Trilogy ...

Two years ago Ben Anderson woke up in a rundown motel, three thousand miles from home, his family missing, and the words LET THE GAME BEGIN written in blood on the back of the bathroom door.

Now, with his past life gone, Ben has become a soldier in Carver Ellison's army against Caesar.

But when a mission goes wrong and one of their team members is murdered, it's the last cryptic word spoken that will lead Ben and the team one step closer to the Inner Circle -- a step that may bring them salvation ... or get them all killed.

With his trademark action and suspense, Robert Swartwood has delivered his most ambitious thriller yet.

THE INNER CIRCLE is over 120,000 words long and the second book in a trilogy where every day men and women must fight a power that threatens to destroy the world. Recommended for fans of Harlan Coben, Lee Child, and Dean Koontz.

Praise for THE INNER CIRCLE:

"THE INNER CIRCLE is a crafty, clever, white-knuckle thriller. If you haven't yet read Swartwood, you're missing out."
-- Brian Keene

"Not for the faint of heart."
--Cannonball Read

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940015106916
Publisher:
RMS Press
Publication date:
08/31/2012
Series:
Man of Wax Trilogy , #2
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
450
Sales rank:
212,640
File size:
2 MB

Meet the Author

Robert Swartwood is the USA TODAY bestselling author of The Serial Killer’s Wife, The Calling, Man of Wax, and several other novels. His work has appeared in The Los Angeles Review, The Daily Beast, Chizine, Space and Time, Postscripts, and PANK. He created the term “hint fiction” and is the editor of Hint Fiction: An Anthology of Stories in 25 Words or Fewer. He lives with his wife in Pennsylvania. Visit him online at www.robertswartwood.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Inner Circle 3.9 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 14 reviews.
AM_Donovan More than 1 year ago
If you were lucky enough to read “Man of Wax” you will already have an idea of the background involved in this story. If not, “The Inner Circle” can work as a standalone novel, but you will understand more if you have read the first novel in what is looking to be an excellent trilogy. Definitely not light, entertaining fiction. Instead this is a book that delves into the darker side of human nature and an examination of the Edmund Burke quote “The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing”. Exactly how far would you go to stop an evil larger than you? That spreads beyond your life and randomly attacks innocent people? What would you sacrifice? How many battles could you fight before deciding that you have had enough? Or, would you have the strength to fight to the end, even though the end will take your own life, too? We are back with Ben, Carver, the Kid and the rest of the gang as they try to rescue players from “the Game”. A reality show that first takes your family, then forces you to destroy everything about yourself that you thought was good, or an essential part of your self. This part also examines more closely the type of people that would be involved in a reality show like this, from the people that run interference to make sure the “gamer” performs as ordered to the people that pay to watch the games. We also get the first real introduction to Caesar and asked the question “What was the greatest thing the Roman Empire gave the world.” The answer is not roads (just a clue). We had to wait almost a year for the second installment of this trilogy. I am eagerly awaiting part three!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Robert Swartwood has a way of writing that by the end of the first chapter you're so captured, you just can't put the book down. Love his books!
scorpio11 More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting and extremely different . Fast paced . Great imagination very scary at the possibilities .
sa60SC More than 1 year ago
Great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its so gross i read th blurb and it sounded fine but its gross and innapropriate the website should let us know!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Avid_Nook_ReaderIN More than 1 year ago
The finish was very satisfying. I expect the other Swartwood novels to be as good. I will definitely be checking them out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent follow up to Man of Wax, one of the best suspense thrillers I read last year. Continues the characters very well. Looking forward to more from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book does not stand alone, seems written soley for the purpose of setting up the 3rd book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago