The King's Jar [NOOK Book]

Overview

"Wickedly funny." —Kirkus Reviews
"A layered, smart, surprising plot." —Booklist
"Fresh, fast-paced, and great fun." —Library Journal

Acquisition of the King's Jar, a priceless African artifact, is a major coup for San Francisco's prestigious Devor Museum of Art and Antiquities—and the gala celebration honoring its donors is a high-stakes affair. Dani O'Rourke, Devor's chief fundraiser, is a pro at dealing with wealthy patrons, demanding bosses, big egos, and museum-world politics. Murder, however, is way above ...
See more details below
The King's Jar

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$6.99
BN.com price

Overview

"Wickedly funny." —Kirkus Reviews
"A layered, smart, surprising plot." —Booklist
"Fresh, fast-paced, and great fun." —Library Journal

Acquisition of the King's Jar, a priceless African artifact, is a major coup for San Francisco's prestigious Devor Museum of Art and Antiquities—and the gala celebration honoring its donors is a high-stakes affair. Dani O'Rourke, Devor's chief fundraiser, is a pro at dealing with wealthy patrons, demanding bosses, big egos, and museum-world politics. Murder, however, is way above her pay grade, and definitely beyond her comfort zone.

When the renowned archaeologist who authenticated the King's Jar turns up dead, and the invaluable relic vanishes, Dani suddenly finds herself trapped in a real-life game of Clue—with a gallery of glittering suspects, and a killer who's playing for keeps. But drumming up donations from society swells is a far cry from matching wits with homicidal thieves. And juggling the amorous advances of a police detective, a TV celebrity, and her own playboy ex-husband—while sparring with an African ambassador, an obsessed archaeologist-in-training, a billionaire and his trophy wife—certainly doesn't make it any easier to figure out who's lying...or keep anyone else from dying.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal - Teresa L. Jacobsen
This San Francisco–based cozy is fresh, fast-paced, and great fun. Shea’s characters’ professional and personal foibles are done especially well. Just right for fans of Kate Carlisle, Sheila Connelly, and Maggie Barbieri.
Booklist - Amy Alessio
The museum setting and the detailed information on how art is acquired contribute as much to the appeal here as does the mystery itself. The contrasting characters, from wealthy art patrons and eccentric scientists to determined museum staff, add intrigue to a layered, smart, surprising plot.
Teresa L. Jacobsen
This San Francisco–based cozy is fresh, fast-paced, and great fun. Shea’s characters’ professional and personal foibles are done especially well. Just right for fans of Kate Carlisle, Sheila Connelly, and Maggie Barbieri.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940016552347
  • Publisher: Top Five Books
  • Publication date: 5/1/2013
  • Series: Dani O'Rourke Mysteries , #2
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 288
  • Sales rank: 353,030
  • File size: 3 MB

Meet the Author

Susan C. Shea spent more than two decades as a nonprofit executive before beginning her bestselling mystery series featuring a professional fundraiser for a fictional museum. Susan is on the board of the Northern California chapter of Sisters in Crime and is a past board member of Norcal's chapter of Mystery Writers of America. She lives in Marin County, California.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    A quick, fun read

    This book is light and fun. A good summer read at the beach or indoors on a rainy day. The author uses language well to give the reader a strong sense of context. The main character who is telling the story seems real enough, especially in her size 12 jeans (lol!). I believe this to be more for a female audience, but, since I am female, I cannot say for sure. I would definitely read more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. It was fast paced and keep me guessi

    I really enjoyed this book. It was fast paced and keep me guessing who done it. Highly recommend this one. Can not wait to read another book by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)