The Last Good Man

The Last Good Man

4.2 5
by A. J. Kazinski, Tiina Nunnally
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“A truly compelling and worthwhile thriller” (Associated Press) that centers around the mysterious murders of humanitarian men and women and the detective who seeks to solve the riddle—before it’s too late.

In Beijing, a monk collapses in his chamber , dead.

A fiery mark—a tattoo? a burn?—spreads across his back and

Overview

“A truly compelling and worthwhile thriller” (Associated Press) that centers around the mysterious murders of humanitarian men and women and the detective who seeks to solve the riddle—before it’s too late.

In Beijing, a monk collapses in his chamber , dead.

A fiery mark—a tattoo? a burn?—spreads across his back and down his spine. In Mumbai, a beloved economist dies suddenly. The same symbol appears. Similar deaths are reported around the world—the victims all humanitarians, all with the same death mark. In Venice, a rogue Italian policeman links the deaths, tracing the evidence. Who is killing good people around the world?

In Copenhagen, the Interpol alert lands on the desk of veteran detective Niels Bentzon: Find the “good people” of Denmark and warn them. But Bentzon is a man who is trained to see the worst in humanity, not the good.

Just as Bentzon is ready to give up, he meets Hannah Lund, a brilliant astrophysicist mourning the death of her son. With Hannah’s help, Bentzon begins to piece together the puzzle of these far-flung deaths. A pattern emerges—a perfectly executed plan of murder. There have been thirty-four deaths—two more to come if the legend is true. According to the pattern, Bentzon and Hannah can predict the time and place of the final two murders. The deaths will occur in Venice and Copenhagen. And the time is now.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“Intense…. Moments of rapid-fire suspense.… A truly compelling and worthwhile journey.”—Associated Press

"Terrifyingly compelling."—Oprah.com

“A spectacular thriller.” Library Journal (starred review)

"This one has everything I look for in a thriller—history, secrets, conspiracies, action, adventure, and international settings. Check this one outl; you're going to love it."—Steve Berry, New York Times-bestselling author of The Amber Room and The Columbus Affair

"A gripping, page-turning murder mystery with metaphysics."—Providence Journal

Oprah.com
“A spectacular thriller. . . . This well-crafted twist of Jewish mythology made modern will appeal to fans of Dan Brown or Jennifer Lee Carrell.”
Library Journal [starred review]
Danish Library Review
“A provocative thriller—somewhere between Dan Brown and Stieg Larsson.”
Danish Library Review
Library Journal
The Talmud claims that there are 36 righteous people on Earth that protect humanity—without them, the world will perish. In Denmark, Det. Niels Bentzon is tasked with finding "good people" and warning them that they may be targeted for murder. So far, there have been 34 victims around the world. Bentzon entrusts astrophysicist Hannah Lund, who sees patterns in everything, to help him unravel the mystery of the good people—who they are, what they have in common, why they are dying. They predict the final two murders—one in Venice, the other in Copenhagen—and attempt to stop them. VERDICT Drawing on the biblical story of Abraham and Isaac, this fast-paced debut collaboration between director/screenwriter Anders RØnnow Klarlund and Danish author Jacob Weinreich is a spectacular thriller. Named 2011 Best First Novel by the Danish Academy of Crime Fiction, this well-crafted twist of Jewish mythology made modern will appeal to fans of Dan Brown or Jennifer Lee Carrell (Interred with Their Bones). [See Prepub Alert, 9/23/11.]—Michelle Martinez, Sam Houston State Univ. Lib., Huntsville, TX

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781451640762
Publisher:
Scribner
Publication date:
03/12/2013
Pages:
467
Product dimensions:
7.80(w) x 5.20(h) x 1.20(d)

Meet the Author

A. J. Kazinski is the pseudonym of Anders Rønnow Klarlund and Jacob Weinreich. An instant bestseller in Denmark and now published in more than fifteen countries, The Last Good Man is their first collaboration. Both men live in Copenhagen with their families.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Last Good Man 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
fiercefairy More than 1 year ago
Am I the only one who wondered what or who was killing the men? Was it our own evil that was killing the men? I never understood or was it made clear who the murderers were unless it was" we the people" with all of our flaws. It seemed to be sad that the lead character had to commit a sin to live; how depressing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't put it down!
KenCady More than 1 year ago
The book was interesting for the first 2/3ds, and hen it seemed as if the author could not keep the storyline going in such a fashion. The whole concept of the 36 good men seems ludicrous if they know not who they are and seem to be as vulnerable as the rest of us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
interesting characters