The Last Good Man

( 5 )

Overview

In Beijing, a monk collapses in his chamber , dead.

A fiery mark—a tattoo? a burn?—spreads across his back and down his spine. In Mumbai, a beloved economist dies suddenly. The same symbol appears. Similar deaths are reported around the world—the victims all humanitarians, all with the same death mark. In Venice, a rogue Italian policeman links the deaths, tracing the evidence. Who is killing good people around the world?

In Copenhagen, the ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (21) from $1.99   
  • New (11) from $6.83   
  • Used (10) from $1.99   
The Last Good Man: A Novel

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$11.66
BN.com price

Overview

In Beijing, a monk collapses in his chamber , dead.

A fiery mark—a tattoo? a burn?—spreads across his back and down his spine. In Mumbai, a beloved economist dies suddenly. The same symbol appears. Similar deaths are reported around the world—the victims all humanitarians, all with the same death mark. In Venice, a rogue Italian policeman links the deaths, tracing the evidence. Who is killing good people around the world?

In Copenhagen, the Interpol alert lands on the desk of veteran detective Niels Bentzon: Find the “good people” of Denmark and warn them. But Bentzon is a man who is trained to see the worst in humanity, not the good.

Just as Bentzon is ready to give up, he meets Hannah Lund, a brilliant astrophysicist mourning the death of her son. With Hannah’s help, Bentzon begins to piece together the puzzle of these far-flung deaths. A pattern emerges—a perfectly executed plan of murder. There have been thirty-four deaths—two more to come if the legend is true. According to the pattern, Bentzon and Hannah can predict the time and place of the final two murders. The deaths will occur in Venice and Copenhagen. And the time is now.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“Intense…. Moments of rapid-fire suspense.… A truly compelling and worthwhile journey.”—Associated Press

"Terrifyingly compelling."—Oprah.com

“A spectacular thriller.” Library Journal (starred review)

"This one has everything I look for in a thriller—history, secrets, conspiracies, action, adventure, and international settings. Check this one outl; you're going to love it."—Steve Berry, New York Times-bestselling author of The Amber Room and The Columbus Affair

"A gripping, page-turning murder mystery with metaphysics."—Providence Journal

Oprah.com
“Terrifyingly compelling . . . quietly inspiring.”
Oprah.com
Danish Library Review
“A provocative thriller—somewhere between Dan Brown and Stieg Larsson.”
Danish Library Review
Library Journal
The Talmud claims that there are 36 righteous people on Earth that protect humanity—without them, the world will perish. In Denmark, Det. Niels Bentzon is tasked with finding "good people" and warning them that they may be targeted for murder. So far, there have been 34 victims around the world. Bentzon entrusts astrophysicist Hannah Lund, who sees patterns in everything, to help him unravel the mystery of the good people—who they are, what they have in common, why they are dying. They predict the final two murders—one in Venice, the other in Copenhagen—and attempt to stop them. VERDICT Drawing on the biblical story of Abraham and Isaac, this fast-paced debut collaboration between director/screenwriter Anders RØnnow Klarlund and Danish author Jacob Weinreich is a spectacular thriller. Named 2011 Best First Novel by the Danish Academy of Crime Fiction, this well-crafted twist of Jewish mythology made modern will appeal to fans of Dan Brown or Jennifer Lee Carrell (Interred with Their Bones). [See Prepub Alert, 9/23/11.]—Michelle Martinez, Sam Houston State Univ. Lib., Huntsville, TX
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781451640762
  • Publisher: Scribner
  • Publication date: 3/12/2013
  • Pages: 467
  • Sales rank: 466,592
  • Product dimensions: 7.80 (w) x 5.20 (h) x 1.20 (d)

Meet the Author

A. J. KAZINSKI is the pseudonym of Anders Rønnow Klarlund and Jacob Weinreich. Klarlund is a self-taught director and screenwriter whose 1999 film The Possessed caught the attention of Weinreich, who approached Klarlund with an idea for collaboration. Weinreich, a graduate of the National Film School of Denmark, is a screenwriter and novelist. He has published three novels for adults and more than 20 books for young adults. Both men live in Copenhagen with their families.

SIMON VANCE is a prolific and popular audiobook narrator and actor with several hundred audiobooks to his credit. An Audie® Award-winner, Vance was recently named "The Voice of Choice" by Booklist magazine.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    Am I the only one who wondered what or who was killing the men?

    Am I the only one who wondered what or who was killing the men? Was it our own evil that was killing the men? I never understood or was it made clear who the murderers were unless it was" we the people" with all of our flaws. It seemed to be sad that the lead character had to commit a sin to live; how depressing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Compelling Reading

    Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The book was interesting for the first 2/3ds, and hen it seemed

    The book was interesting for the first 2/3ds, and hen it seemed as if the author could not keep the storyline going in such a fashion.
    The whole concept of the 36 good men seems ludicrous if they know not who they are and seem to be as vulnerable as the rest of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    very good

    interesting characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)