The Last Good Man

( 5 )

Overview

 According to Jewish legend, there are 36 righteous people on Earth at any given time. Without them, humanity would perish. But the 36 do not know they are the chosen ones, and many are dying. A monk in Beijing, an economist in Mumbai, a glassmaker in Venice and more have all perished under bizarre circumstances, with strange marks on their backs.
 
 Veteran Danish detective Niels Bentzon is called to investigate. He’s ready to dismiss the assignment—but then he ...

See more details below
Audiobook (CD - Unabridged; 15 hours)
$35.95
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$39.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Audiobook)
  • All (7) from $9.66   
  • New (5) from $22.41   
  • Used (2) from $9.66   
The Last Good Man: A Novel

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$11.66
BN.com price
This digital version does not exactly match the physical book displayed here.

Overview

 According to Jewish legend, there are 36 righteous people on Earth at any given time. Without them, humanity would perish. But the 36 do not know they are the chosen ones, and many are dying. A monk in Beijing, an economist in Mumbai, a glassmaker in Venice and more have all perished under bizarre circumstances, with strange marks on their backs.
 
 Veteran Danish detective Niels Bentzon is called to investigate. He’s ready to dismiss the assignment—but then he meets Hannah, a brilliant astrophysicist mourning the death of her son. Together, they piece together the puzzle of these far-flung deaths, and a pattern emerges. Thirty-four have died, and only Bentzon and Hannah can predict the time and place of the final two.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Danish Library Review
“A provocative thriller—somewhere between Dan Brown and Stieg Larsson.”
Danish Library Review
Oprah.com
“A spectacular thriller. . . . This well-crafted twist of Jewish mythology made modern will appeal to fans of Dan Brown or Jennifer Lee Carrell.”
Library Journal [starred review]
From the Publisher
“Like hearing an expert musician perform Mozart. The story is clever, and Vance’s style brings out every nuance. [His] uncanny ability to create a unique style for each character, and his smooth yet convincing ability to turn dialogue into an art form make the performance as memorable as the plot.”
AudioFile [Earphones Award]

“Terrifyingly compelling . . . quietly inspiring.”
Oprah.com

Library Journal
The Talmud claims that there are 36 righteous people on Earth that protect humanity—without them, the world will perish. In Denmark, Det. Niels Bentzon is tasked with finding "good people" and warning them that they may be targeted for murder. So far, there have been 34 victims around the world. Bentzon entrusts astrophysicist Hannah Lund, who sees patterns in everything, to help him unravel the mystery of the good people—who they are, what they have in common, why they are dying. They predict the final two murders—one in Venice, the other in Copenhagen—and attempt to stop them. VERDICT Drawing on the biblical story of Abraham and Isaac, this fast-paced debut collaboration between director/screenwriter Anders RØnnow Klarlund and Danish author Jacob Weinreich is a spectacular thriller. Named 2011 Best First Novel by the Danish Academy of Crime Fiction, this well-crafted twist of Jewish mythology made modern will appeal to fans of Dan Brown or Jennifer Lee Carrell (Interred with Their Bones). [See Prepub Alert, 9/23/11.]—Michelle Martinez, Sam Houston State Univ. Lib., Huntsville, TX
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781611747577
  • Publisher: HighBridge Company
  • Publication date: 3/6/2012
  • Format: CD
  • Edition description: Unabridged; 15 hours
  • Pages: 840
  • Product dimensions: 5.10 (w) x 5.90 (h) x 1.20 (d)

Meet the Author

A. J. KAZINSKI is the pseudonym of Anders Rønnow Klarlund and Jacob Weinreich. Klarlund is a self-taught director and screenwriter whose 1999 film The Possessed caught the attention of Weinreich, who approached Klarlund with an idea for collaboration. Weinreich, a graduate of the National Film School of Denmark, is a screenwriter and novelist. He has published three novels for adults and more than 20 books for young adults. Both men live in Copenhagen with their families.

SIMON VANCE is a prolific and popular audiobook narrator and actor with several hundred audiobooks to his credit. An Audie® Award-winner, Vance was recently named "The Voice of Choice" by Booklist magazine.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    Am I the only one who wondered what or who was killing the men?

    Am I the only one who wondered what or who was killing the men? Was it our own evil that was killing the men? I never understood or was it made clear who the murderers were unless it was" we the people" with all of our flaws. It seemed to be sad that the lead character had to commit a sin to live; how depressing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Compelling Reading

    Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The book was interesting for the first 2/3ds, and hen it seemed

    The book was interesting for the first 2/3ds, and hen it seemed as if the author could not keep the storyline going in such a fashion.
    The whole concept of the 36 good men seems ludicrous if they know not who they are and seem to be as vulnerable as the rest of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    very good

    interesting characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)