The Life Cycle of a Frog

The Life Cycle of a Frog

by Bobbie Kalman, Kathryn Smithyman, Bonna Rouse

View All Available Formats & Editions

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature
My how you've changed, I barely recognized you! Frogs, cold-blooded amphibians, have a different life cycle than most animals. Typically, babies resemble, in miniature, their parents. Not so with frogs. Frogs emerge from their eggs as tadpoles and undergo a total change, or metamorphosis, during the four stages of their life cycle. When a tadpole sprouts legs, it becomes a froglet, the third stage of this change. It is not a mature frog until its tail is completely gone. Insects are the food source during all this change and remains so for small frogs. Large frogs eat rats, mice, small snakes and small frogs. Frogs, in turn, have predators. They are an important food source for snakes, birds, fish, lizards and rats. A greater danger to frogs is the loss of their habitats all over the world. Read on and find out what people can do to help. Many drawings and photographs enhance the book, depicting the life cycle and providing a sample of the 2,800 species of frogs. A web site for more information about helping frogs is included as is a glossary and index. Part of "The Life Cycle" series. 2002, Crabtree Publishing, $20.60 and $5.95. Ages 6 to 10. Reviewer: Barbara Kennedy AGES: 6 7 8 9 10

Product Details

Crabtree Publishing Company
Publication date:
Life Cycle Series
Sales rank:
Product dimensions:
8.20(w) x 9.30(h) x 0.20(d)
Age Range:
5 - 8 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >