The Lost Husband

The Lost Husband

4.3 20
by Katherine Center
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin, this tender and heartwarming novel explores the trials of losing what matters most—and how there’s always more than we can imagine left to find.
 
Dear Libby, It occurs to me that you and your two children have been living with your mother for—Dear Lord!—two whole

…  See more details below

Overview

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin, this tender and heartwarming novel explores the trials of losing what matters most—and how there’s always more than we can imagine left to find.
 
Dear Libby, It occurs to me that you and your two children have been living with your mother for—Dear Lord!—two whole years, and I’m writing to see if you'd like to be rescued.
 
The letter comes out of the blue, and just in time for Libby Moran, who—after the sudden death of her husband, Danny—went to stay with her hypercritical mother. Now her crazy Aunt Jean has offered Libby an escape: a job and a place to live on her farm in the Texas Hill Country. Before she can talk herself out of it, Libby is packing the minivan, grabbing the kids, and hitting the road.
 
Life on Aunt Jean’s goat farm is both more wonderful and more mysterious than Libby could have imagined. Beyond the animals and the strenuous work, there is quiet—deep, country quiet. But there is also a shaggy, gruff (though purportedly handsome, under all that hair) farm manager with a tragic home life, a formerly famous feed-store clerk who claims she can contact Danny “on the other side,” and the eccentric aunt Libby never really knew but who turns out to be exactly what she’s been looking for. And despite everything she’s lost, Libby soon realizes how much more she’s found. She hasn’t just traded one kind of crazy for another: She may actually have found the place to bring her little family—and herself—back to life.

Praise for The Lost Husband
 
“A sweet tale about creating the family you need.”People

“A heartwarming novel that explores the trials of losing what matters most.”USA Today
 
“[Katherine] Center writes endearingly of love and family in her fourth novel, with lessons about loss, gain, standing up for oneself, and accepting that your best is good enough. Fans of well-crafted romantic women’s fiction won’t be disappointed.”Booklist

“A novel about family, love and forgiveness . . . heart-rending and heartwarming.”Kirkus Reviews

Read More

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“A sweet tale about creating the family you need.”People

“A heartwarming novel that explores the trials of losing what matters most.”USA Today
 
“[Katherine] Center writes endearingly of love and family in her fourth novel, with lessons about loss, gain, standing up for oneself, and accepting that your best is good enough. Fans of well-crafted romantic women’s fiction won’t be disappointed.”Booklist

“A novel about family, love and forgiveness . . . heart-rending and heartwarming.”Kirkus Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
A novel about family, love and forgiveness. Libby, a heroine of this story on many levels, loses her husband in an automobile accident and cannot afford to keep the family house. She sells the house and, having no other choice, moves with her two young children to her mother's condominium. She takes a job as a bank teller and must trust her mother to help her care for the children, which is difficult insofar as her critical mother has never taken much interest in her. After two miserable years with her narcissistic mother, Libby receives an invitation from her mother's estranged sister, Jean (the other heroine of the story), to bring the children and live on her farm near Atwater, Texas. Jean says she is suffering from arthritis and needs help with the chores, but there is another, secret reason she yearns to have Libby, her precocious 7-year-old daughter, Abby, and the little boy, "Tank," come live with her. While driving to Jean's, Libby meets two people who will play an important role in her new life. Heart-rending and heartwarming.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780345507945
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Publication date:
05/07/2013
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
605,861
Product dimensions:
5.10(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.90(d)

Meet the Author

Katherine Center is the author of three novels about love and family: The Bright Side of Disaster, Everyone Is Beautiful, and Get Lucky. Her books and essays have appeared in Redbook, People, USA Today, Vanity Fair, Real Simple, the Dallas Morning News, and the Houston Chronicle—as well as the anthologies Because I Love Her, CRUSH, and My Parents Were Awesome. Center is a graduate of Vassar College and the University of Houston’s Creative Writing Program. She lives in Houston with her husband and two young children.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >