The Lost Husband: A Novel

The Lost Husband: A Novel

4.3 20
by Katherine Center
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin, this tender and heartwarming novel explores the trials of losing what matters most—and how there’s always more than we can imagine left to find.
 
Dear Libby, It occurs to me that you and your two children have been living with your mother for—Dear Lord!—two whole…  See more details below

Overview

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin, this tender and heartwarming novel explores the trials of losing what matters most—and how there’s always more than we can imagine left to find.
 
Dear Libby, It occurs to me that you and your two children have been living with your mother for—Dear Lord!—two whole years, and I’m writing to see if you'd like to be rescued.
 
The letter comes out of the blue, and just in time for Libby Moran, who—after the sudden death of her husband, Danny—went to stay with her hypercritical mother. Now her crazy Aunt Jean has offered Libby an escape: a job and a place to live on her farm in the Texas Hill Country. Before she can talk herself out of it, Libby is packing the minivan, grabbing the kids, and hitting the road.
 
Life on Aunt Jean’s goat farm is both more wonderful and more mysterious than Libby could have imagined. Beyond the animals and the strenuous work, there is quiet—deep, country quiet. But there is also a shaggy, gruff (though purportedly handsome, under all that hair) farm manager with a tragic home life, a formerly famous feed-store clerk who claims she can contact Danny “on the other side,” and the eccentric aunt Libby never really knew but who turns out to be exactly what she’s been looking for. And despite everything she’s lost, Libby soon realizes how much more she’s found. She hasn’t just traded one kind of crazy for another: She may actually have found the place to bring her little family—and herself—back to life.

Praise for The Lost Husband
 
“A sweet tale about creating the family you need.”People

“A heartwarming novel that explores the trials of losing what matters most.”USA Today
 
“[Katherine] Center writes endearingly of love and family in her fourth novel, with lessons about loss, gain, standing up for oneself, and accepting that your best is good enough. Fans of well-crafted romantic women’s fiction won’t be disappointed.”Booklist

“A novel about family, love and forgiveness . . . heart-rending and heartwarming.”Kirkus Reviews


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780345538918
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Publication date:
05/07/2013
Sold by:
Random House
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
127,799
File size:
2 MB

Meet the Author

Katherine Center is the author of three novels about love and family: The Bright Side of Disaster, Everyone Is Beautiful, and Get Lucky. Her books and essays have appeared in Redbook, People, USA Today, Vanity Fair, Real Simple, the Dallas Morning News, and the Houston Chronicle—as well as the anthologies Because I Love Her, CRUSH, and My Parents Were Awesome. Center is a graduate of Vassar College and the University of Houston’s Creative Writing Program. She lives in Houston with her husband and two young children.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Lost Husband 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in a 30 hour period and could barely put the book down. I did not want to stop until I got to the end. When I reached the final line... I wished that the book never had to end. The story was about life, love and the lessons we learn along the way.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great beach read. Somewhat predictable but with some twists. Characters make morally acceptable choices for the most part. I would recommend>
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this for a quick poolside book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent book could not put down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very good read. Caught myself chuckling at some of the situations
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a good book, believeable characters and good twists to entertain. All in all, enjoyable. A light read.
Bitten-By-Love-Reviews More than 1 year ago
Libby Moran gets a letter out of the blue from her crazy Aunt Jean, wanting to rescue her and her two children from her mother. Two years prior Libby lost her husband and wasn't sure what to do next. The letter also states there will be a job, and a place to live in the Texas Hill Country. Without thinking anymore about it, Libby packs her stuff, and kids into a minivan and hits the road. Life isn't what she excepted it to be on her Aunt Jean's goat farm. Its deep country quietness makes this place mysterious and wonderful...she feels at peace. There is the shaggy, gruff, farm manager who hides behind his hair, has a tragic home life, then there is a formally famous store clerk who claim she can contact Danny "on the other side" , plus there is her Aunt she barely knows and is very eccentric. Libby comes to realize she is finding more and more about herself and her life. She seems to feel like she has found the place that feels like home and brings her the family she always felt she needed. This book was a tear jerker that pulled out your heartstrings. You watch as this widow grows into herself as well as her children. There are secrets that are uncovered that throws many for a loop...then there is the romance between Libby and James O'Connor that grows from when they first meet till the ending. Katherine Center did a fabulous job in creating a world where you and tossed into a whirl wind of emotions and watch it become something truly amazing like it could and would happen in the real world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mengel2 More than 1 year ago
After Libby’s husband gets into a car accident that takes his life and injures their daughter, Libby’s forced to sell all of their possessions and move back home with her overly judgmental mother.  It’s not easy to pick up the pieces of your life when you find out that your husband had secretly spent all of your savings and cashed in his life insurance.   The last few years, since Danny died, have not been easy.  But living with her mother for the last two years has made it damn near unbearable.  Until one day she receives a letter from her crazy Aunt Jean offering for Libby and her kids to stay with her in exchange for helping out on the goat farm.  Although Libby doesn’t know her Aunt Jean, only stories that her mother has told her, she realizes that this is an offer she can’t refuse.  Nothing can be worse than her current living situation.  So Libby packs up the kids and heads out to the farm.  But Aunt Jean is nothing like how Libby’s mother portrayed her to be.  Libby also realizes that living a modest life on the farm, although very different from what she’s used to, is actually very relaxing and enjoyable.  While on the farm, Libby makes some unexpected friends, learns about secrets that will change her life forever and realizes that things aren’t always what they seem.   From the very first page, I knew that I’d love this book.  The story was very heartwarming, yet the author brilliantly mixed in the right amount of humor.  I found myself near tears one minute and then the next chuckling at something funny that happened or was said.  I also really loved each character.  They were all so different, yet shared a major similarity.  They all just wanted to be loved and accepted.  They were all very likeable and relatable as well.   Overall, I really enjoyed this book.  It was well written, the story kept you interested and it tugged at your heart strings.  I think this book would make a wonderful book club choice.  There is so much that could be discussed about this book and had topics that many can relate to.  This book is a must read.  I loved it and feel that you would too!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mamawnina More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book, I love the author's writing style , and I will watching for more books from her !
Mickeymarie More than 1 year ago
A nice, sweet story It's just an all around pleasant, enjoyable book. No, it might not be full of unexpected moments but it is quite well written. The author writes beautifully about loss and carrying on because time is fleeting. I'm so glad I picked this book up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this quick read ...finished in two nights i saw it on a friends goodreads list glad i did looking forward to her other three books listed at end which i ordered
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It screams, "Beach Book." Well developed and real characters, witty dialogue. and about people grounded in real life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
irishclaireKG More than 1 year ago
Predictable. But...at the same time a thoroughly fun read. There is nothing wildly original here: woman must reinvent her life after she is widowed but the characters and setting are very appealing. As someone familiar with the Hill Country described, I can say the author captures that atmosphere and the lovely aunt who 'rescues' our protagonist has wonderful secrets of her own that make for a couple of engaging twists. The love interest fell flat for me as the author spends so much time describing him in terms that would more favor a Sasquatch, I found it hard to readjust my view when he cleans up. All that being said, this novel is a perfectly good way to spend a rainy afternoon while curled up in a favorite chair.