×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck
     

The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck

4.2 5
by Emily Fairlie
 

See All Formats & Editions

This laugh-out-loud novel by Emily Fairlie is a fresh take on the classic mystery caper. It's perfect for fans of From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, Chasing Vermeer, The Westing Game, and the Mysterious Benedict Society books.

Using a unique blend of notes, lists, and classic prose, The Lost Treasure of

Overview

This laugh-out-loud novel by Emily Fairlie is a fresh take on the classic mystery caper. It's perfect for fans of From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, Chasing Vermeer, The Westing Game, and the Mysterious Benedict Society books.

Using a unique blend of notes, lists, and classic prose, The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck tells the story of Bud and Laurie's quest to find the infamous Tutweiler Treasure. They're hot (or at least lukewarm) on the trail of scavenger hunt clues, but time is running out—the school board wants to tear down Tuckernuck Hall. Can Bud and Laurie find the treasure before it's lost forever?

Readers can enjoy solving puzzles along with the characters, and teachers will appreciate references to famous artists and architects such as Pablo Picasso and Frank Lloyd Wright. There is something for everyone in this treasure trove of wry wit, thrilling adventure, and undeniable heart!

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
Gr 4–6—Sixth-grader Laurie is miserable. Her parents have enrolled her in their alma mater, Tuckernuck Hall, which is falling apart and is about to be torn down by a vengeful school board. On top of that, her unfortunate classroom assignment is gerbil duty with the school social outcast, Bud, and everyone has to wear humiliating chicken hats for school assemblies. Laurie wants to transfer to Hamilton to be with her best friend, Kimmy, but her parents are fiercely loyal to the school and are convinced that the building has historical value and shouldn't be destroyed. Laurie distracts herself with decoding the puzzle the founder of the school created 80 years before. No one knows what the promised treasure is and no one's been able to unravel the clues. She ends up on a wild scavenger hunt with Bud, tracking down old items that hold famous poems, odd clues, and random letters leading them back to a chicken painting that began it all. But Hilda the chicken is not what she appears to be. Interspersed throughout the text are lists by Laurie and other classmates as well as email from school administrators, which give readers a window into what is happening behind the scenes. Bud and Laurie are well-developed characters, and the plot is fast paced and often funny. Readers are kept guessing about the treasure until the very end. A great read for fans of mystery or puzzles.—Clare A. Dombrowski, Amesbury Public Library, MA
Lisa Yee
“Whoa! Packed with plenty of humor, intrigue, and unexpected twists and turns, The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck kept me guessing until the very end.”
Adam Rex
“As fun and funny as it is mysterious!”
David Yoo
“Fans of The Westing Game will easily get wrapped up in this hilarious, delicious mystery full of surprises, but be warned: you’ll sorely wish you attended Tuckernuck after reading this...sigh.”
Mac Barnet
“The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck reminded me of a lot of my time in sixth grade, only with more mystery and treasure-hunting, and less benchwarming for the J.V. volleyball team.”
David Lubar
“Funny, smart, mysterious, and playful-read it or risk being tuckered out.”
Chris Rylander
“This book has everything: action, mystery, hilarity, and gerbils! What more do you need? Plus, it leaves you craving doughnuts for some reason.”
Kirkus Reviews
Laurie does not want to be a Tuckernuck Clucker. Her plan: Stay long enough to solve the puzzle posed by the school's founder, reap the promised treasure, then transfer to Hamilton Junior High. Laurie is embarrassed by the Clucker regalia (chicken hats!). Worse, she is paired as Gerbil Monitor with Bud, the outcast who had sugary treats banned from school. It is while chasing an escaped gerbil that Laurie and Bud discover the first clue in the 80-year-old challenge. While the premise is familiar, children will delight in the over-the-top treatment and fresh delivery. The third-person narration indulges the comical, self-involved dramas of preteens. Nor are Laurie and Bud especially interested in the clues' highbrow references. After asking a teacher about Keats, Laurie assures him: "No, it's fine, I don't need to study him." Readers also find tips from Laurie on "How to Elude a Persistent and Overeager English Teacher," which include "Make excuses and back away slowly." Other lists, notes and emails are interspersed throughout, providing more insight into the characters and background for the story. Most poignant is the relationship revealed between Bud and his father. That Laurie and Bud will solve the puzzle is a given. The real thrill is how the characters begin to discover and determine their own futures as they go through the process. A sure hit. (Mystery. 8-12)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062118929
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
09/25/2012
Series:
Tuckernuck Mysteries , #1
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
349,607
Lexile:
630L (what's this?)
File size:
3 MB
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

What People are Saying About This

David Lubar

“Funny, smart, mysterious, and playful-read it or risk being tuckered out.”

Lisa Yee

“Whoa! Packed with plenty of humor, intrigue, and unexpected twists and turns, The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck kept me guessing until the very end.”

Mac Barnet

“The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck reminded me of a lot of my time in sixth grade, only with more mystery and treasure-hunting, and less benchwarming for the J.V. volleyball team.”

Chris Rylander

“This book has everything: action, mystery, hilarity, and gerbils! What more do you need? Plus, it leaves you craving doughnuts for some reason.”

David Yoo

“Fans of The Westing Game will easily get wrapped up in this hilarious, delicious mystery full of surprises, but be warned: you’ll sorely wish you attended Tuckernuck after reading this...sigh.”

Adam Rex

“As fun and funny as it is mysterious!”

Meet the Author

Emily Fairlie grew up in Virginia and went to Tuckahoe Middle School, which has so far managed to escape the scandals that have plagued Tuckernuck Hall. She has been known to call on her little sister for backup and has witnessed firsthand the horror of bedazzling gone wrong. She now lives in Chicago with her dog, Binky.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was amazing and showed lots of adventure.I hope/hoped you enjoy/enjoyed reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
it was exciting and funny reccomend to any mystery book lovers out there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want someonw to kiss me boy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My girlfreind lilly kissed me