BN.com Gift Guide

The Magician's Bird: A Tuckernuck Mystery

( 1 )

Overview

In this sequel to The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck, Bud and Laurie solve another mystery at Tuckernuck Hall. This second hilarious installment is perfect for fans of From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, Chasing Vermeer, The Westing Game, and the Mysterious Benedict Society books.

In The Magician's Bird, the mystery Bud and Laurie must solve is much more serious than a treasure hunt—their beloved school founder, Maria Tutweiler, has been accused of murdering ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (24) from $1.99   
  • New (12) from $9.34   
  • Used (12) from $1.99   
The Magician's Bird: A Tuckernuck Mystery

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$6.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

In this sequel to The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck, Bud and Laurie solve another mystery at Tuckernuck Hall. This second hilarious installment is perfect for fans of From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, Chasing Vermeer, The Westing Game, and the Mysterious Benedict Society books.

In The Magician's Bird, the mystery Bud and Laurie must solve is much more serious than a treasure hunt—their beloved school founder, Maria Tutweiler, has been accused of murdering Marchetti the Magician! Can Bud and Laurie—with the help of enthusiastic Misti and evil but useful Calliope—prove Maria Tutweiler's innocence? Or will Tuckernuck Hall be closed down for good?

Emily Fairlie once again blends lists, notes, and classic prose to tell a story that sings with humor, suspense, and magic.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
12/01/2013
Gr 4–7—In this follow-up to The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck (HarperCollins, 2012), seventh-graders Laurie Madison and Bud Wallace uncover a new mystery surrounding their school's founder. Once again, Tuckernuck Hall is in danger of shutting its doors, this time due to a local news article alleging Maria Tutweiler's involvement in the decades-old murder of Marchetti the Magician. Bud and Laurie are joined by their friend Misti and a questionable ally, Calliope Judkin, who is useful but might have ulterior motives. Can these middle schoolers save the founder's—and Tuckernuck Hall's—reputation, or will the Tuckernuck Clucker soon go the way of the dodo? Fairlie improves upon the pacing of the first book, creating a worthy sequel that can also function as a stand-alone novel. Lighthearted mystery and humor are sustained throughout. Like the earlier title, this one is told from Bud's and Laurie's third-person perspectives, switching back and forth sometimes on the same page. Bud, Laurie, Misti, and Calliope are more fully developed here, but the adult characters remain just as exaggerated and purposefully kooky, emphasizing the exasperation and embarrassment that tweens often feel about authority figures. Just the right sprinkling of notes, lists ("How to Keep Your Archnemesis from Noticing That Your Friend Has Just Fallen Through a Hole in the Floor"), emails, and illustrations break up the text and will keep reluctant readers engaged. Perfect for mystery fans looking for a healthy dose of adventure and fun.—Jessica Ko, Los Angeles Public Library
Kirkus Reviews
In this easy, breezy mystery, Laurie and Bud spend their summer planning a scavenger hunt, discovering a secret room and solving a missing person case. After saving their school by finding the solution to a puzzle left behind by eccentric founder Maria Tutweiler (The Lost Treasure of Tuckernuck, 2012), Laurie and Bud, rising seventh-graders, are at school laying out the next hunt when they find a secret room kept by Maria Tutweiler. They have grand ideas about how to use it, but if villain Walker LeFranco has his way, they never will. He is still trying to shut down Tuckernuck Hall, this time by accusing Maria Tutweiler of having murdered Marchetti the Magician decades ago. Organized crime and an assumed identity come to light, but the young sleuths, aided by quirky Misti and former rival Calliope, will not be able to clear Maria Tutweiler's name unless they can make a little bird sing. Really: Marchetti left a mechanical bird in the room that can reveal the truth--if they can figure out how it works. Readers who have not met the characters before may find them a bit two-dimensional here, but their sassy repartee is spot-on and comical, providing the real magic in the story. As before, lists, notes, emails and articles add depth. Fans of the first book will be glad to rejoin this unlikely team of detectives. (Mystery. 8-12)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062118936
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 9/24/2013
  • Pages: 288
  • Sales rank: 1,399,186
  • Age range: 8 - 12 Years
  • Lexile: 600L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 8.30 (h) x 1.10 (d)

Meet the Author

Emily Fairlie grew up in Virginia and went to Tuckahoe Middle School, which has so far managed to escape the scandals that have plagued Tuckernuck Hall. She has been known to call on her little sister for backup and has witnessed firsthand the horror of bedazzling gone wrong. She now lives in Chicago with her dog, Binky.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 1
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    N-O

    Don't get it.It is tirrible!!!!!!! It got soooooo boring!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ):(:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)