The Marriage Wager (for Jane Austen and Downton Abbey Fans) by Karla Darcy | NOOK Book (eBook) | Barnes & Noble
The Marriage Wager (for Jane Austen and Downton Abbey Fans)

The Marriage Wager (for Jane Austen and Downton Abbey Fans)

4.3 4
by Karla Darcy
     
 
"Fans of Downton Abbey and Jane Austen (without zombies) will adore this book. Karla Darcy makes us remember why we lose sense and sensibility for a sexy Regency hero and captures the era with a glorious and colorful voice!"
Roxanne St. Claire, New York Times Bestselling Author

"Karla Darcy weaves one fabulous Regency Romance after another. Wise, witty

Overview

"Fans of Downton Abbey and Jane Austen (without zombies) will adore this book. Karla Darcy makes us remember why we lose sense and sensibility for a sexy Regency hero and captures the era with a glorious and colorful voice!"
Roxanne St. Claire, New York Times Bestselling Author

"Karla Darcy weaves one fabulous Regency Romance after another. Wise, witty and wonderful. Move over Jane for another Darcy you will love!"
Mary Alice Monroe, NY Times author of Beach House Memories

"... creates a particularly attractive heroine to captivate both the hero and the reader alike. Darcy is winning a large readership with her diverting novels in this most competitive genre."
Romantic Times

If you love Downton Abbey and Jane Austen you'll love The Marriage Wager! This is book #3 in the Sweet Deception series. Jena Christie had been kidnapped by a group of drunken gentlemen, married and deserted on her wedding night. Now her new husband, Lord Havenhurst was refusing to acknowledge their marriage! Convinced his new bride couldn't hold her own among the ton, Dev proposed a wager that Jena dared not refuse. Neither had planned on a wild card called LOVE!


Readers Love Karla Darcy, RWA Golden Heart award winning author.

"Set in a delightful tangle of mistaken identity, these characters have charm, wills of iron, and hearts filled with compassion and love.

"Readers will relish the charming ingenuity of the determined Jena as she battles to save her family stud and win her new husband's heart."

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940015539011
Publisher:
Glades Publishing
Publication date:
09/24/2012
Series:
Pride Meets Prejudice , #3
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
165,531
File size:
1 MB

Meet the Author

Karla Darcy lives with her husband, several tame geckos and an occasional friendly snake on the Treasure Coast on the east side of Florida. She has always felt she lived in the Regency period in a past life. Her early writings were musical comedies and humor columns so it was an easy transition to the romantic and humorous style of Regencies. Lovely dresses, masked balls and witty conversations, which contained saucy double entendres, were the perfect cup of tea for this author.

Karla discovered years ago that you don't have to be a bitch to write a Regency but it helps. Tone is everything in the era of witty repartee. Dialogue has to have that snap that makes Regency conversations sparkle.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Marriage Wager 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
DebDiem More than 1 year ago
Karla Darcy's book, The Marriage Wager is an enjoyable read. This was my first book by Ms Darcy and I was impressed with her writing style. The Marriage Wager is a well written book with lovable characters, humor, drama, and action. Dev and Jena's story was a pleasure to read and I look forward to reading more from this author in the future. The Marriage Wager is a complete book, not a cliff-hanger.
SheilaDeeth More than 1 year ago
A fun, lighthearted romance set in Regency England, The Marriage Wager, by Karla Darcy, propels its protagonist from riches to poverty and back again. Swift point of view changes make for a slightly jumpy read, appropriately disorienting as Jena, upset from her favored days of good fortune, struggles to cope with a life of hardship without compromising her moral standards. When Dev sees her, he’s convinced she’s a fallen woman. But he’ll never marry anyway, since ladies and actresses – both ends of the social spectrum – can surely only be interested in money. With Dev unwilling, and Jena unable to marry, the stage is set for romance. Jena's father turns out not to be the only one partial to a good wager as this tale progresses. And Jena's good nature combines with good humor and generous wisdom to offer the promise of improvement to her former employees. There may even be the hope of love for this tale’s jaded antagonist, if he can just learn to listen to his heart. Meanwhile readers can enjoy some great characters and fun historical details in a tale of pleasing romance. Disclosure: I found a free ecopy. I can’t remember how, but I enjoyed it.
funnygirlecu More than 1 year ago
The Marriage Wager The book is funny, the characters are witty, and the passion is real. Lord Dev has one problem. In a drunken stupor he and his friends kidnaps an actress off the streets and beguile her into marry him. The next morning, he realizes he has wed a stranger and wants to quietly rectify the situation. However, his actress (Jena) claims to be improvised lady and will not allow her reputation to be ruin nor let the chance to care for those she loves to slip from her fingers. Lord Dev can come up with only one solution. Let her prove her worth by showing she can run his household Thus the stage is set. Lady Jena sits out to battle against all barriers in order to prove her worth through various situations that will lead the reader to chuckle but not able to put the book down. This is a great Saturday read, but just be sure you have nothing to do because it won't get done. The reader will be so entwined with the characters especially when Lord Dev and Jena realize they might be fighting for then wager.
Sandys_Reads More than 1 year ago
Karla Darcy in her seasoned, well-written style has created a witty and sweet Regency romp. Seeing her hard-hearted hero create a devilish wager that is taken apart by capable heroine with the odds piled against her was simply fun. I also loved the imagination behind the unusual household staff, especially the butler, who if Darcy ever revisits these characters might well be sporting a spear. My only wish…was that I could have stayed with the characters a little bit longer. Definitely worth a read.