The Marvelous Inventions of Alvin Fernald

The Marvelous Inventions of Alvin Fernald

by Clifford B. Hicks, Charles Geer
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The Alvin Fernald books have delighted children for close to forty years. These funny, fast-paced mysteries featuring inventor and ace detective Alvin are just right for fans of Encyclopedia Brown and Homer Priceùand, now, a new generation of readers. The Foolproof Burglar Alarm. The Sure Shot Paper Slinger. The Portable Fire Escape. Alvin Fernald invented them…  See more details below

Overview

The Alvin Fernald books have delighted children for close to forty years. These funny, fast-paced mysteries featuring inventor and ace detective Alvin are just right for fans of Encyclopedia Brown and Homer Priceùand, now, a new generation of readers. The Foolproof Burglar Alarm. The Sure Shot Paper Slinger. The Portable Fire Escape. Alvin Fernald invented them all. His brainÆs working a mile a minuteùjust ask his best friend, Shoie, or his little sister, the Pest. But even Alvin needs to think twice around the old Huntley place. ItÆs like something out of a horror movieùespecially because no oneÆs seen Mrs. Huntley in days. Can Alvin and his inventions crack the case?

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
First published in the 1960s, these two mysteries feature a boy inventor. In the first book, Alvin uses a periscope to search out a missing neighbor; in the second, he learns about decoding and uncovers a mystery involving a hostage and buried treasure. Ages 8-12. (July)
Children's Literature - Trina Heidt
What do the Foolproof Burglar Alarm, the Sure Shot Paper Slinger, the Silent Waker Upper and the Portable Fire Escape all have in common? They are all creations of the great inventor, Alvin Fernald. Twelve year old Alvin thinks of himself as a great inventor much like Edison, and like all great inventors his mind is constantly working to solve some kind of problem. One fine day as Alvin is testing one of his grand devices he stumbles upon a great mystery at the old Huntley place. With his friend, Shoie and little sister, The Pest, Alvin's mind is put to the ultimate challenge as they try invention after invention to help old Mrs.Huntley out of her predicament. Mr. Hicks' creation of such an imaginative young man can only encourage other youngsters to find the creative genius inside them. 1998 (orig.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781930900219
Publisher:
Purple House Press
Publication date:
03/28/2006
Pages:
119
Product dimensions:
5.60(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >