×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Master Of Strathburn
     

The Master Of Strathburn

4.1 7
by Amy Rose Bennett
 

A sweeping, sexy Highland romance about a wanted Jacobite with a wounded soul, and a spirited Scottish lass on the run.

Robert Grant has returned home to Lochrose Castle in the Highlands to reconcile with his long-estranged father, the Earl of Strathburn. But there is a price on Robert’s head, and his avaricious younger half-brother,

Overview

A sweeping, sexy Highland romance about a wanted Jacobite with a wounded soul, and a spirited Scottish lass on the run.

Robert Grant has returned home to Lochrose Castle in the Highlands to reconcile with his long-estranged father, the Earl of Strathburn. But there is a price on Robert’s head, and his avaricious younger half-brother, Simon, doesn’t want him reclaiming his birthright. And it’s not only Simon and the redcoats that threaten to destroy Robert’s plans after a flame-haired complication of the feminine kind enters the scene...

Jessie Munroe is forced to flee Lochrose Castle after the dissolute Simon Grant tries to coerce her into becoming his mistress. After a fateful encounter with a mysterious and handsome hunter, Robert, in a remote Highland glen, she throws her lot in with the stranger—even though she suspects he is a fugitive. She soon realises that this man is dangerous in an entirely different way to Simon...

Despite their searing attraction, Robert and Jessie struggle to trust each other as they both seek a place to call home. The stakes are high and only one thing is certain: Simon Grant is in pursuit of them both...

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781760370411
Publisher:
Harlequin Enterprises, Australia Pty Ltd
Publication date:
05/15/2016
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
260
Sales rank:
312,411
File size:
728 KB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Master Of Strathburn 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Sissymae1 More than 1 year ago
I received an eARC, from NetGalley and the publisher, in exchange for an honest review. 'The Master Of Strathburn' by Amy Rose Bennett is the story of Robert Grant and Jessie Munroe. This is the first book I have read by this author and I am so glad to have the chance to read her book. I will definitely be looking out for more books by Ms. Bennett. Jessie is having to go on the run because a man named Simon Grant is trying to make her his mistress and thinks she if fair game since her father is away. So Jessie is trying to escape him but get hurt a few times along the way. Jessie wakes up and finds herself with Robert Grant...Simon's older half brother. Robert has been gone from the area for a long time but is now back trying to fix things with his father and for when he was young and 'hot headed'. Robert takes to helping Jessie to get to a safer location in Edinburgh. This was a very entertaining book and was so glad to have the chance to read it! Please follow more reviews at the below sites: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1... http://sissymaereads.blogspot.com/ https://www.facebook.com/sally.mae.39... http://booklikes.com/ https://romancebookreviewforyou.wordp... https://www.facebook.com/groups/17091... https://twitter.com/soapsrus68
Nicolerko More than 1 year ago
Fantastic book. If you're a fan of historical romance this will satisfy that craving. Great characters that go along with entertaining a story line. I really liked the heroine Jessie. She is no shrinking violet she has gumption that gets her through some tough events that would cause anyone to give up. Robert is true hero material. We get the background on him while his in exile, but it's time to come home before there is no home to come back to. Jessie finds herself in spot where she must trust this handsome stranger over the evil she's running from. there are people out to thwart them both.
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
The Master Of Strathburn by Amy Rose Bennett is a well written Scottish Historical Romance. The hero, is a Scottish Jacobite (Robert Grant), the next Earl of Strathburn, who is a wanted man with a price on his head. A feisty Lass, (Jessie Munroe), whose on the run from Simon Grant, the evil younger half brother of Robert. A sexy Highland Romance with flawed characters, danger, a sweeping Highland adventure, suspense, redemption, secrets, making things right, and finding peace, love and HEA. Fast paced, sweeping story through the Scottish Highlands. The characters are flawed, likeable, engaging and intriguing. The storyline has its own uniqueness, where the author, pulls the reader into the story, while, anxiously awaits the outcome. An interesting, intense and intriguing tale. Fans of Scottish Romance, Historical Romance, Alpha Highlanders, feisty Lasses, deceitful, evil Step-Mothers, and a evil half-brother, will enjoy this book. A very enjoyable, entertaining and satisfying read! Received for an honest review from Net Galley. Rating: 4 Heat rating: Mild Reviewed by: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
Mirabelle8 More than 1 year ago
A beautiful story of redemption! I really loved, The Master of Strathburn, by Amy Rose Bennett! This Scottish adventure took me by surprise and kept my interest until the very last page. The characters were charming, in fact I found Robert Grant the perfect gentleman for the brave heroine Jessie Munroe. It tells the story of Robert Grant, returning home to Lochrose Castle in the Highlands, to ask forgiveness, to his long-estranged father, William, the Earl of Strathburn. Feeling responsible for the death of his Jacobite brothers, during the battle of Culloden, he is seeking redemption, having become a fugitive. During, his journey returning home, he meets a brave young woman, Jessie, who is fleeing his father's castle. Their attraction is mutual and a new relationship of trust and love, will developed with time. Let's not forget, Robert's half brother, Simon, who will complicate matters and make them worse. Will Robert and Jessie, finally find peace and love into each other's arms! Truly a captivating Scottish tale to please lovers of historical romance! The characters were nicely blended into a journey filled with twists and turns. The love scenes were nicely written, the pace was perfect, this tale had everything to please me! Amy Rose Bennett never disappoint me! *I received a copy of this book, from NetGalley and the publisher, in exchange for my honest opinion!*
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
Jessie is on the run as a man - Simon Grant who is the Earl of Lochrose’s son is trying to make her his mistress and Jessie wants nothing to do with that. Jessie plans to run to her cousin but first she tries to get to the Earl’s hunting lodge but she is shot at and the bullet skimmed her arm. When she comes to she is with the Earl’s other son Robert who is estranged from his father. Robert has decided to help Jessie get to her cousin. Then feelings develop between the two of them. But Robert could be hung at any time for his beliefs. I liked this story. I did feel bad for Jessie one of the Earl’s sons is trying to force her to be his mistress. Then she gets feelings for the son who could be hung at any time. But she was a good heroine and I liked her as well as Robert and all the ins and outs they went through as well as those in the story. This story had a good plot and written well. I recommend. I received an ARC of this story for an honest review.
Historical_Romance_Lover More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this story. The storyline was different from others in this genre and it was a nice change of pace. This was my first book by Bennett, but it definitely won't be my last! I really enjoyed reading the interactions between Robert and Jessie. They didn't know if they could trust the other, but then they had this mutual attraction that they couldn't seem to fight. But their flight from Simon, pushed them to have to rely on each other, therefore bring them together. I'm excited to see what Bennett has in store for us next!! Thanks go out to Escape Publishing via NetGalley for a copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.
def618 More than 1 year ago
could be 4.5 - I really enjoyed this book. The hero, young Robert Grant, fled Scotland after Culloden thinking his father, the Earl of Strathburn and not a Jacobite, would never want to see him again. After working as a French mercenary and then plantation and ship owner in the Caribbean for ten years he decides to return home hoping for a pardon. He arrives home and hides out in his father's hunting lodge until he can speak with him. Jessie Munroe's father, the younger brother of a former Laird, has taken a job as the factor for the Earl of Strathburn's estate. She is hopeful they will be welcomed and happy there. But Robert's younger half-brother, Simon, is not a gentleman and attempts to have her at any cost. When her father has to leave for a few days, Simon catches her outdoors and makes it clear she is to come to his room that night. She knows she must flee and plans to go to her cousin in Edinburgh. The cook, who has worked for the Grants for a long time, helps her escape to an old hunting lodge for a few days until the Edinburgh coach will be arriving in a nearby town. She meets Robert after he accidentally wounds her while hunting deer. He has seen her with his brother and doesn't trust her, especially when she recognizes him from a portrait. He keeps her with him as he tends her wound and plans to see his father. She offers to help him get into the castle without being seen but neither expected Simon to come after her. And for the rest of this story, read the book. I thought it was well written and a very good story, including a wicked step-mother. With a mother like her it's no wonder Simon was bad. Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for allowing me to read an ARC. I can easily recommend this, especially if you like Scottish Romance.