The Memory of Love: A Novel

( 3 )

Overview

From the beloved author of Astrid & Veronika, a moving tale of friendship and redemption
 
Fans of Astrid & Veronika and Chris Cleave's Little Bee will be thrilled to read Linda Olsson's third novel. Here is Olsson doing what she does best: illuminating the terrain of friendship and examining the many forms that love can take.

Marion Flint, in her early fifties, has spent fifteen years living a ...

See more details below
Paperback
$13.45
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$15.00 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (69) from $1.99   
  • New (17) from $1.99   
  • Used (52) from $1.99   
The Memory of Love: A Novel

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$12.99
BN.com price

Overview

From the beloved author of Astrid & Veronika, a moving tale of friendship and redemption
 
Fans of Astrid & Veronika and Chris Cleave's Little Bee will be thrilled to read Linda Olsson's third novel. Here is Olsson doing what she does best: illuminating the terrain of friendship and examining the many forms that love can take.

Marion Flint, in her early fifties, has spent fifteen years living a quiet life on the rugged coast of New Zealand, a life that allows the door to her past to remain firmly shut. But a chance meeting with a young boy, Ika, and her desire to help him force Marion to open the Pandora’s box of her memory. Seized by a sudden urgency to make sense of her past, she examines each image one-by-one: her grandfather, her mother, her brother, her lover. Perhaps if she can create order from the chaos, her memories will be easier to carry. Perhaps she’ll be able to find forgiveness for the little girl that was her. For the young woman she had been. For the people she left behind.
 
Olsson expertly interweaves scenes from Marion’s past with her quest to save Ika from his own tragic childhood, and renders with reflective tenderness the fragility of memory and the healing power of the heart.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Alternating between events on an isolated beach in New Zealand and a traumatic childhood in Sweden, this sentimental ode to love lost and found from Olsson (Sonata for Miriam) is a touching, if far-fetched, tale. Marion, a newly retired family doctor, has shut herself out from the world in her coastal home, where her main pastime is gazing at the ocean. Marion finds new purpose, however, after Ika, an introverted young boy trapped in an abusive home, unexpectedly enters her life. The author’s prose is at times pinched and lapidary, while at others, effusive and overstated, and sometimes both: “The coffee is hot and strong, the scones fresh. It is a superb breakfast.” On the other hand, Olsson handles Marion and Ika’s story in a beautifully natural fashion, though the long arm of fate is extravagantly elongated in a tragic subplot, involving an ill-starred affair in Marion’s earlier life, that would put Thomas Hardy to shame. Agent: Kathleen Anderson, Anderson Literary Management. (Mar.)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780143122432
  • Publisher: Viking Penguin
  • Publication date: 2/26/2013
  • Pages: 240
  • Sales rank: 500,290
  • Product dimensions: 5.10 (w) x 7.70 (h) x 0.90 (d)

Meet the Author

Linda Olsson

Linda Olsson was born in Stockholm, Sweden, in 1948. She graduated from the University of Stockholm with a law degree, and worked in law and finance until she left Sweden in 1986. What was intended as a three-year posting to Kenya then became a tour of the world with stops in Singapore, the U.K., and Japan, until she settled in New Zealand with her family in 1990. In 1993 she completed a bachelor of arts in English and German literature at Victoria University of Wellington. In 2003 she won the Sunday Star-Times Short Story Competition. Linda's first novel Astrid & Veronika became an international success, selling hundreds of thousands of copies in Scandinavia, Europe and the United States. It was followed by the heartbreaking and moving Sonata for Miriam. Olsson divides her time between Auckland, New Zealand and Stockholm, Sweden.
 

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Have you ever gotten into a reading funk where you find every



    Have you ever gotten into a reading funk where you find every book bland and boring? Where you have no motivation to pick up a book and read or if you do you set it aside because it is not catching your attention. Well lately I have been in a reading funk until I started The Memory of Love by Linda Olsson. The writing is fantastic I felt as though I was the character. I haven’t read a book that was so well written in 1st person narrative ever! I needed this book. It was refreshing and not like anything I have read in a long time. I just could not get enough.
    As a person have you ever done anything that you regret or blame yourself for and have never forgiven yourself? You carry that guilt with you never forgotten always there in the front of your mind? Well the main character Marion has and you go with her on journey of how she loved, lost, learn to forgive her self and how she found love again. It pulls you in and doesn’t let you go until the very end.
    I loved it. I couldn’t have picked a better book to read. One of my favorite books this year!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Marvelous.

    Stumbled upon this lovely novel. Evokative prose and a captivating story make for an excellent summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)