The Meryl Streep Movie Club

The Meryl Streep Movie Club

3.7 18
by Mia March
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In the bestselling tradition of The Friday Night Knitting Club and The Jane Austen Book Club, three women find unexpected answers, happiness, and one another, with Meryl Streep movies as their inspiration.

Two sisters and the cousin they grew up with after a tragedy are summoned home to their family matriarch’s inn on the coast of Maine forSee more details below

Overview

In the bestselling tradition of The Friday Night Knitting Club and The Jane Austen Book Club, three women find unexpected answers, happiness, and one another, with Meryl Streep movies as their inspiration.

Two sisters and the cousin they grew up with after a tragedy are summoned home to their family matriarch’s inn on the coast of Maine for a shocking announcement. Suddenly, Isabel, June, and Kat are sharing the attic bedroom—and barely speaking. But when innkeeper Lolly asks them to join her and the guests in the parlor for weekly Movie Night—it’s Meryl Streep month—they find themselves sharing secrets, talking long into the night . . . and questioning everything they thought they knew about life, love, and one another.

Each woman sees her complicated life reflected through the magic of cinema: Isabel’s husband is having an affair, and an old pact may keep her from what she wants most . . . June has promised her seven-year-old son that she will somehow find his father, who he’s never known . . . and Kat is ambivalent about accepting her lifelong best friend’s marriage proposal. Through everything, Lolly has always been there for them, and now Isabel, June, Kat—and Meryl—must be there for her. Finding themselves. Finding each other. Finding a happy ending.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Art imitates art in March’s impossibly romantic debut about lost-and-found love and a frayed family repairing itself with the help of platitudes plucked from Streep’s prolific oeuvre. Streep’s films are as “good as a chicken soup, a best friend, a therapist, and a stiff drink,” Maine bed-and-breakfast owner Lolly Weller insists, regarding the regular viewings she holds at Maine’s quaint Three Captains’ Inn, where she raised daughter Kat, now 25, and nieces Isabel, 31, and June, 28 (the three trade narration duties), after a car crash on New Year’s Eve killed Lolly’s husband, sister, and brother-in-law. Fifteen years after the accident, Lolly summons the women to tell them she has cancer. By now, each is struggling with her own heartache: Isabel’s failed marriage to her childhood sweetheart, Edward; single mom June’s search for her son’s dad; and baking artisan Kat’s ambivalence about marrying her best friend, Oliver. Streep’s films have answers for all, including Lolly, who has a secret of her own to work out. There are no surprises, no problems too tough, nor men too insensitive, in this paean to Streep and happy endings. Consume with a bowl of popcorn and plenty of hankies. Agent: Alexis Hurly, Inkwell Management. (June)
From the Publisher
A heartwarming, spirit-lifting read just in time for beach season.
Kirkus Reviews

March’s debut is a treat for movie lovers an fans of meaningful women’s fiction. The main characters have their flaws, but are easy to relate to, and one can’t help but root for their success in life and love.
Romantic Times Book Reviews

Consume with a bowl of popcorn and plenty of hankies.
Publishers Weekly

In the tradition of Friday Night Knitting Club and The Jane Austen Book Club, this debut novel also has a healthy dose of Meryl Streep thrown in.
USA TODAY

"March’s first novel is a touching story of self-discovery and the strength of family."
Booklist

"Mamma Mia! Any romance that offers life lessons from Meryl wins on style points alone."
–USA TODAY

"In March’s debut novel, three cousins come together in the quaint Maine inn where they grew up to find solace and comfort in Streep’s oeuvre of films after each finds her life in disarray. The movies work their magic as each woman repairs her heartache in this emotional and heartwarming read."
Woman's Day

"March's debut novel is a romantic, heartfelt read, one that will likely be pulled out of beach bags from California to the coast of Maine this summer season."
BookReporter.com

Kirkus Reviews
When Lolly Weller summons her daughter and nieces home to The Three Captains' Inn, her announcement that she has been diagnosed with cancer is just one of many life-changing secrets to be told. March's debut novel uses the films of Meryl Streep to illuminate these women's lives and to drive away the shadows that dim their happiness. After their mother and father die in a car crash, Isabel and June Nash are taken in by their Aunt Lolly, who lost her own husband in the same crash. Lolly's daughter, Kat, gains instant sisters, but grief tinges the familial bonds. Now grown up, gathered back under Lolly's roof, and drafted into Friday Movie Nights, these young women begin to reconsider the choices they have made--and the opportunities ahead. Like the heroine of Heartburn, Isabel is reeling from her husband's affair. Handsome veterinarian Griffin might know the sting of infidelity, as well, and Isabel is certainly drawn to him for more than their shared pain. Kat has been all but betrothed to Oliver since they were toddlers, but she's not sure if she is more ready to marry Oliver or to run off to a Paris patisserie. Defending Your Life makes her wonder if the real shame is in missing the opportunities life offers. Perhaps the exotic Dr. Matteo Viola is such an opportunity. Like the daughter in Streep's Mama Mia!, June's son, Charlie, has never known his real father. To help Charlie finish his family tree project, June agrees to once more search for John Smith, but maybe Henry Books is a truer father for Charlie. And she can't deny her own attraction to him for much longer. But which movie mirrors Lolly's past? What secret does she hide still? And why has she watched Out of Africa only once in her life? A heartwarming, spirit-lifting read just in time for beach season.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781451655414
Publisher:
Gallery Books
Publication date:
06/19/2012
Sold by:
SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
352
Sales rank:
304,840
File size:
3 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >