The Middle of Everywhere: A Novel

( 1 )

Overview

A young man’s quest to keep his hometown’s paper mill from closing turns into an odyssey across a rural upstate New York county.

One man’s affliction is another’s gift, and Kenny Hopewell’s “special gift” is a terrible memory and virtually no sense of direction. Entrusted by a family friend to deliver a plea for help that might keep his hometown mill from closing, Kenny misses his ride and sets out on foot across an isolated rural area between Lake Ontario and the Adirondacks. ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (7) from $7.74   
  • New (3) from $15.00   
  • Used (4) from $7.74   
Middle of Everywhere, The

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$13.99
BN.com price
(Save 43%)$24.95 List Price

Overview

A young man’s quest to keep his hometown’s paper mill from closing turns into an odyssey across a rural upstate New York county.

One man’s affliction is another’s gift, and Kenny Hopewell’s “special gift” is a terrible memory and virtually no sense of direction. Entrusted by a family friend to deliver a plea for help that might keep his hometown mill from closing, Kenny misses his ride and sets out on foot across an isolated rural area between Lake Ontario and the Adirondacks. Along the way he meets and comes to terms with some of the denizens of this lonely landscape—the Casimir family, who survive on the outskirts of the law; Johnny Percy, a Vietnam veteran still defending his family’s abandoned homestead; and Gunnar Molshoc, a well-driller and “witcher”—refugees, like him, from the decay of rural America in the 1980s.

Meanwhile, several characters at the local college are struggling to define the college’s role in the mill fight and to rescue the soul of higher education. John Harlan is an instructor attempting to write a meaningful dissertation that won’t threaten his chances at tenure; Ernest Guppy’s notion of himself as a political comic is driving his wife off the deep end; and college president Baxter McAdam and his administrative vice president are locked in a withering campaign to force each other out of power.

The novel’s setting, a fictional county in upstate New York, is like a braided rug: smooth on the top, all knots underneath. Chained to a dying farm economy and losing its youth to greener pastures, it’s the sort of place where refugees from Brooklyn might live next to Amish farmers, who might live next to Italian millworkers, who might live next to a bigot whose house was once a stop on the Underground Railroad. Like so many rural American communities, it has the feel of a self-inflicted wound, and as Kenny comes to understand, sometimes you have to feel pain just to know you’re still alive.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“Ray Petersen’s The Middle of Everywhere is an intricate and cunningly crafted Odyssey through the troubled small towns of the northeast. It’s a keenly observed, taut, often very funny novel, stitched together by the wanderings of a wonderful, impaired Odysseus you won’t soon forget. I liked it a lot.” — Thomas Cobb, author of Crazy Heart: A Novel

“Ray Petersen’s vested epic, The Middle of Everywhere, does everything well. It is a billion-footed beast in running shoes. Swift, sensitive, and enduring, the novel is breathless in its transparent sustained dream of realistic replication of the blue blue-collar worlds of the steel and diploma mills. Run, run for all your lives!” — Michael Martone, author of Four for a Quarter: Fictions

“In his follow-up to the spectacularly funny and moving Cowkind, Ray Petersen has created another novel set in rural upstate New York that’s sure to make readers laugh and cry and wish for a better way to care for each other. The Middle of Everywhere gives us that necessary compass point as we journey across time and space with Kenny in an attempt to save the Alta paper mill. Once again Petersen proves to be a storyteller of unparalleled wisdom and kindness as he helps us find our True North with characters we’ll keep dreaming about long after the book’s final page.” — Todd Davis, author of The Least of These

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781438444703
  • Publisher: State University of New York Press
  • Publication date: 10/1/2012
  • Series: Excelsior Editions
  • Pages: 224
  • Product dimensions: 6.10 (w) x 9.03 (h) x 1.17 (d)

Meet the Author

Ray Petersen teaches political science and history and lives in a lake-locked village in northern New York State. He is the author of Cowkind: A Novel.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments ix

Cast of Characters xi

Chapter 1 A Mile in Kenny's Shoes 1

Chapter 2 Strange Bedfellows 25

Chapter 3 Getting to True 49

Chapter 4 Kenny Goes to School 75

Chapter 5 The Middle of Nowhere 103

Chapter 6 Kenny Takes His Shot 139

Chapter 7 The Inside Track 175

Chapter 8 Burning Love 213

Chapter 9 True North 257

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Ray Petersen has written a great second novel. On one level, thi

    Ray Petersen has written a great second novel. On one level, this is an erudite and spot on higher ed novel, in the tradition of Richard Russo's Straight Man or Jane Smiley's Moo. One another, deeper level, Petersen's novel is an inspiring story of how paper mill workers and their neighbors and families fight the forces of Reaganomics. The names of the characters are a hoot, and the plots twists and turns and poignant moments will keep you turning pages right to the end. Petersen is a keep observer of real people and he tells their story with grace and flair. He is one of the best contemporary writers when it comes to telling the story of working men and women and their plight in a political system stacked against them. Everyone interested in the lives of the 99 per cent should buy and read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)