×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher
     

The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher

by Dana Alison Levy
 

See All Formats & Editions

”Fans of Beverly Cleary’s Quimbys, Judy Blume’s Hatchers, and, more recently, Jeanne Birdsall’s Penderwicks will fervently hope that more Fletcher misadventures are yet to come.” —School Library Journal, Starred

The start of the school year is not going as the Fletcher brothers hoped. Each boy finds

Overview

”Fans of Beverly Cleary’s Quimbys, Judy Blume’s Hatchers, and, more recently, Jeanne Birdsall’s Penderwicks will fervently hope that more Fletcher misadventures are yet to come.” —School Library Journal, Starred

The start of the school year is not going as the Fletcher brothers hoped. Each boy finds his plans for success veering off in unexpected and sometimes diastrous directions. And at home, their miserable new neighbor complains about everything. As the year continues, the boys learn the hard and often hilarious lesson that sometimes what you least expect is what you come to care about the most.

 Praise for The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher 
 
A Junior Library Guild Selection 

[set star] ”Their banter is realistic, and the disorder of their everyday lives, convincing. The Fletcher family rules!” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred 

”Dana Alison Levy has gloriously reimagined the classic family story into a thoroughly modern mold, and it works perfectly.” —Bruce Coville, bestselling author of My Teacher Is an Alien and the Unicorn Chronicles

[set star] ”With its semi-episodic structure, laugh-out-loud humor, and mix of zaniness and love, Levy’s debut offers something truly significant: a middle-grade family story featuring gay parents and interracial families that is never about either issue.” —School Library Journal, Starred 

”Levy provides a compelling, compassionate, and frequently hilarious look at their daily concerns. By book’s end readers will want to be part of (or at least friends with) this delightful family.” —The Horn Book 

Editorial Reviews

The New York Times - Brianna Albanese
…Dana Alison Levy conjures up an enlightening tale for middle-grade readers, taking the traditional family-story structure and bringing it up to date by introducing same-sex parents and multiracial children…this is an upbeat book that is likely to make parents want to follow the example of the Fletchers' Papa and Dad and get more involved in their children's everyday lives. While The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher seems like the perfect book for children with two fathers or mothers, Levy's underlying message has broad appeal: No matter who your parents are, or what their sex, no matter what you look like or whether or not you were adopted, your family, and everyone else's, is absolutely crazy. And that's just as it should be.
Children's Literature - Heidi Hauser Green
You could compare this warm family story to My Three Sons (a television show from the early 1960’s)—with a few modern twists. Instead of three sons, there are four. Instead of one wise dad, there are two. The family members represent a variety of religions and ethnicities. But there is an important similarity: Like the families of classic tales, the Fletchers are good-hearted people motivated primarily by love. The boys of the Family Fletcher are diverse in interests and personalities, ensuring that readers can find themselves on the printed page. There is Sam, the twelve-year-old soccer player who discovers a talent for storytelling and performance that leads to a sort of identity crisis. Ten-year-olds Eli and Jax (who do not share a birthday) are motivated by a love of building structures (Eli) and connecting with people (Jax). Six-year-old Frog is sharing his joyful imaginative play with new kindergarten friends. A cast of secondary characters, including Aunt Lucy, Ladybug Li, athlete/actress Emily, several classmates, and the new neighbor cantankerous Mr. Nelson round out the community. The story takes us from the first day of school to the last, and the challenges these family members face over the course of the year are realistic. The final chapter, “In Which We Say Goodbye For Now,” leaves us hoping for more (mis)adventures with this wonderful family to come. Reviewer: Heidi Hauser Green; Ages 8 to 13.
Kirkus Reviews
★ 2014-05-19
Four lively adopted boys, two dads and a grouchy new neighbor star in this modern family comedy.Trying new things, dealing with difficult choices, and the joys and frustrations of life in a large family are all pieces of this humorous tale. Changing points of view in each chapter track each boy's particular issues as the third-person narrative chronicles the school year. Readers who get past the slow beginning will end up fully engaged with these characters and wanting more. Soccer-playing sixth-grader Sam stars in the school musical. Fourth-grader Jax can't find a way to connect with their unfriendly neighbor for an interview for a school report—and he's losing his best friend. Eli has chosen to spend his fourth-grade year at a school for academically gifted children that supports his talents but offers few physical outlets or social rewards. And who can believe in the existence of 6-year-old Frog's new friend when he's accompanied to kindergarten by an invisible cheetah? This book is notable for its matter-of-fact depiction of an atypical family, the same-sex couple and their ethnically diverse children—two white, one African-American, one adopted from India. The boys are very different from one another but closely tied with warm family bonds. Their banter is realistic, and the disorder of their everyday lives, convincing.The Fletcher family rules! (Fiction. 8-12)
From the Publisher
Kirkus starred review, June 1, 2014:
"The Fletcher family rules!"

School Library Journl starred review, June 14, 2014:
Fans of Beverly Cleary’s Quimbys, Judy Blume’s Hatchers, and, more recently, Jeanne Birdsall’s Penderwicks will fervently hope that more Fletcher misadventures are yet to come.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780385376525
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
07/22/2014
Pages:
272
Product dimensions:
5.70(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.10(d)
Lexile:
750L (what's this?)
Age Range:
9 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

Dana Alison Levy was raised by pirates but escaped at a young age and went on to earn a degree in aeronautics and puppetry. Actually, that's not true—she just likes to make things up. That's why she always wanted to write books. She was born and raised in New England and studied English literature before going to graduate school for business. While there is value in all learning, had she known she would end up writing for a living, she might not have struggled through all those statistics and finance classes. Dana was last seen romping around with her family in Massachusetts.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews