The Morning Gift

The Morning Gift

4.1 47
by Eva Ibbotson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Drama and romance abound in this charming epic romance, ideal for fans of The English Patient

Twenty-year-old Ruth Berger is desperate. The daughter of a Jewish-Austrian professor, she was supposed to have escaped Vienna before the Nazis marched into the city. Yet the plan went completely wrong, and while her family and fiancé are waiting for her in

Overview

Drama and romance abound in this charming epic romance, ideal for fans of The English Patient

Twenty-year-old Ruth Berger is desperate. The daughter of a Jewish-Austrian professor, she was supposed to have escaped Vienna before the Nazis marched into the city. Yet the plan went completely wrong, and while her family and fiancé are waiting for her in safety, Ruth is stuck in Vienna with no way to escape. Then she encounters her father’s younger college professor, the dashing British paleontologist Quin Sommerville. Together, they strike a bargain: a marriage of convenience, to be annulled as soon as they return to safety. But dissolving the marriage proves to be more difficult than either of them thought—not the least because of the undeniable attraction Quin and Ruth share. To make matters worse, Ruth is enrolled in Quin’s university, in his very classes. Can their secret survive, or will circumstances destroy their love?

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
The grim political problems of Europe before and during World War II set in motion the plot of this upbeat, gently humorous romance, but such grave matters are soon left behind so the author of Madensky Square can spin a predictable but engaging story of love denied, then finally triumphant. As the Nazis march into Vienna, British paleontologist Quinton Somerville decides to save 20-year-old Ruth Berger, daughter of his Jewish-Austrian colleague, by marrying her and whisking her off to England, where the couple plan to obtain a quick annulment. Naturally, complications delay the dissolution of their marriage, so Ruth enrolls in London's Thameside College, where Quin is a highly sought-after professor. Indeed, wealthy, aristocratic Verena Plackett has set her cap for him. Ibbotson's spirited novel features atmospheric locales--Budapest, Vienna and the Somerville estate in Northumbria among them--and a colorful supporting cast of European refugees whose eccentric behavior mystifies their upper-class British sponsors. (Aug.)
KLIATT - Amanda MacGregor
When it becomes clear that the Nazis will invade Vienna, the wealthy Berger family flees to London. Twenty-year-old Ruth Berger is mired in red tape and stuck in Austria with no safe passage out. Through luck and coincidence, Quin Sommerville, a colleague of Ruth's father, stumbles upon Ruth, desperate and alone. After pursuing other options, it becomes clear that the only way out is for Ruth to marry Quin and become a British citizen. The marriage is to be a secret and annulled as soon as possible. Reunited with her family, Ruth tries to reestablish a normal life. She matriculates at the university where Quin teaches and winds up in his course. Their simple plan—to marry, annul it, and never see one another again—grows unexpectedly complicated. With breathtaking (or, as Ruth would suggest, breathgiving) twists and turns, Ibbotson takes the reader on a passionate journey filled with love, honor, and secrets. Ruth, who has always been a precocious and curious student of life, must learn the hard way that book learning is no match for matters of the heart. Both Ruth and Quin are headstrong, leading to many miscommunications that propel the action forward. The backdrop of the war infuses the story with a sense of despair and urgency, but that isn't the main focus of the plot. Just as Ruth charms everyone she meets in London, her effervescent personality will leap off the page and charm readers, too.
Library Journal
In this novel, Ibbotson ( Magic Flutes , St. Martin's, 1984, and A Glove Shop in Vienna , LJ 1/92, among others) offers an engaging love story set in pre-World War II Europe. Ruth, a vibrant, passionate young woman, is separated from her family when Hitler enters Austria. She marries Quin, a longtime family friend, in order to flee Vienna, intending to have a quick annulment once they reach England. However, neither has counted on the growing attraction to each other. Writing with humor and intelligence about this rocky relationship, Ibbotson creates a cast of charming characters. Readers will find Ruth a delight and applaud her awakening as a woman. This well-written romance will be welcome in popular fiction collections.-- Barbara E. Kemp, Library Consultant, Reston, Va.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780142409114
Publisher:
Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Publication date:
09/06/2007
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
416
Product dimensions:
5.49(w) x 8.26(h) x 1.07(d)
Age Range:
12 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Eva Ibbotson, born Maria Charlotte Michelle Wiesner (21 January 1925 – 20 October 2010), was an Austrian-born British novelist, known for her children's books. Some of her novels for adults have been successfully reissued for the young adult market in recent years. For the historical novel Journey to the River Sea (Macmillan, 2001), she won the Smarties Prize in category 9–11 years, garnered unusual commendation as runner up for the Guardian Prize, and made the Carnegie, Whitbread, and Blue Peter shortlists. She was a finalist for the 2010 Guardian Prize at the time of her death. Her last book, The Abominables, was one of eight books on the longlist for the same award in 2012.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Morning Gift 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 46 reviews.
Book_Lover_18 More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite books. Eva Ibbotson is a beautiful write and he stories reall come alive. I have found that her story line can become difficult to understand, so I would recommend rereading just to be sure you understand. Trust me, it is worth it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you enjoy the young adult historical romance genre, I highly recommend this book. I have read almost all of Eva Ibbotson's books (loved them all!) and I liked this one the most...so far. It leaves you with a good and satisfied feeling at the end. Will not disappoint.
lotsofpuppies More than 1 year ago
A good story!   Ruth has lived a wonderful, bohemian life in Vienna...until the Nazi's came and she was accidentally left behind when her parents immigrated to England. Her only hope of being transported safely out of Vienna and reunited with her parents is by marrying Professor Sommerville, an British citizen and friend of the family. Will Ruth marry him? What of her true love Heini and their future plans? Will she ever be reunited with her family? Read and see!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, absolutely amazing, great characters, great story, so romantic and cute! very sophisticated writing style, and overall an amazing book!! best of all the author's books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago