The Ninja Apprentice: The Lost Scrolls of Fudo Shin [NOOK Book]

Overview

Fourteen-year-old Jimmy Dolan has been shuffling from orphanage to orphanage since the sudden death of his parents, lost, and confused with a voice speaking in his head, until he is adopted by his "Aunt" V and thrown into a world where he must learn to fight to survive.

On the run from an evil industrialist known as Kotogawa and his band of assassins, Jimmy flees the United States and heads to Japan where he learns that he is the last ...
See more details below
The Ninja Apprentice: The Lost Scrolls of Fudo Shin

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$7.99
BN.com price

Overview

Fourteen-year-old Jimmy Dolan has been shuffling from orphanage to orphanage since the sudden death of his parents, lost, and confused with a voice speaking in his head, until he is adopted by his "Aunt" V and thrown into a world where he must learn to fight to survive.

On the run from an evil industrialist known as Kotogawa and his band of assassins, Jimmy flees the United States and heads to Japan where he learns that he is the last inheritor of a ninja family lineage. Tasked with finding nine sacred relics stolen from his family, Jimmy must learn the ways of the ancient Matsuda-ryu ninja warriors, recover the relics and battle against Kotogawa, whose hatred for Jimmy's family runs back hundreds of years.

Only then will Jimmy be able to reclaim the honor of the Matsuda-ryu Ninja and become the head of his family.

The Lost Scrolls of Fudo Shin is book one in this new exciting series from the author of the bestselling Lawson Vampire series, Jon F. Merz. It is packed with authentic ninjutsu techniques, strategy, and more culled from the author's training in authentic Togakure-ryu Ninjutsu for over twenty years. There are other ninja adventure books, but none written by an author who studies the real thing! Don't miss this exciting new series in the tradition of Alex Rider, Ranger's Apprentice, and more!
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940014401524
  • Publisher: Jon F. Merz
  • Publication date: 5/8/2012
  • Series: The Ninja Apprentice , #1
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 340,074
  • File size: 993 KB

Meet the Author

As a writer, Jon has penned over two dozen novels for various houses like St. Martin's Press, Kensington/Pinnacle, Harlequin/Gold Eagle, and many more.  He is best known for his critically-acclaimed Lawson Vampire series of hardboiled supernatural espionage novels that are current ebook bestsellers on both Amazon and Barnes & Noble.  Check out his ebooks here for Kindle: http://amzn.to/lawsonbks and here for the Nook:http://bit.ly/lawsonv  Be sure to sign up for his FREE newsletter, Boston Nocturne by going here: http://jonfmerz.net/about-jon/boston-nocturne-newsletter/ 

As a producer, Jon formed New Ronin Entertainment with his good friend Jaime Hassett in 2007 and they are starting production on THE FIXER (based on Jon's Lawson vampire series) in 2012, an entirely independent television production. 

As a ninja, Jon has studied authentic ninjutsu for over twenty years with Mark Davis of the Boston Martial Arts Center in Boston, MA.  During a trip to Japan in February 2003, Jon earned his 5th degree black belt shidoshi license directly from the 34th Grandmaster of Togakure-ryu Ninjutsu, Masaaki Hatsumi.  Jon has taught defensive tactics to a wide range of clients, including members of the US State Department, Department of Justice, and the Bureau of Prisons, as well as other agencies, military units, first responders, and more.

Prior to becoming a writer, Jon served in the US Air Force, worked for the US Government, and handled executive protection for a variety of Fortune 500 clients.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Formatting problem on the HD

    I have only been able to read a few broken sentences due to a formatting problem of the book when read on my Nook HD. The few that I have read keep me wanting to be able to read the whole book. Barnes and Noble says they have notified the publisher of the problem and I am looking forward to the correction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    ?

    i have read many teenage level books in my lifetime but this one is special. the aurtor loves suspence and mystery by the end of the book you are just angry that you dont have the next one yet. this is one of those books that you pick up and four hours latter on page 521 you look up and go crap its 2am already i need sleep!

    sry if i misspelled words i highly recomend this book to pre-teens through young adults hope you like the book :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great adventure story

    Jon Merz proves with Ninja Assassin that not only can he write an outstanding adventure series for adults (the Lawson Vampire series) he can also write a rousing adventure series for kids and teens. Jimmy is growing up in an orphanage and in and out of foster homes, when he starts hearing a voice in his head he thinks he might be a little crazy but he's not. He has a family history and heritage that he knows nothing about but it will get him caught up in more danger and adventure than he ever thought possible. Ninja Apprentice takes you to exotic locations in Japan and Nepal with never ending action. This is a great series for tweens or teens who like adventure stories. I'm an adult and I really enjoyed this first in a series and look forward to many more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Interestingly stupidity Interesting

    Was like pooping in a gas station

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Blueheart

    Yes dont u like it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Razor

    This cave?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Empty den

    Medium sized den at the end of a tunle with moss covered walls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Good read

    Totally enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)