Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Original Mono Recordings

The Original Mono Recordings

by Miles Davis

See All Formats & Editions

The 2013 box set The Original Mono Recordings, brings together all nine of the albums the legendary jazz trumpeter recorded for Columbia that were originally released in mono, including 1957's 'Round About Midnight, 1957's Miles Ahead, 1958's


The 2013 box set The Original Mono Recordings, brings together all nine of the albums the legendary jazz trumpeter recorded for Columbia that were originally released in mono, including 1957's 'Round About Midnight, 1957's Miles Ahead, 1958's Milestones, 1959's Jazz Track, 1959's Porgy and Bess, 1959's Kind of Blue, 1960's Sketches of Spain, 1961's Someday My Prince Will Come, and 1964's Miles & Monk at Newport. Remastered using the original master tapes and with pristine versions of the LPs as comparative benchmarks for sound, these mono versions have a warmth and immediacy that, at the very least, match the stereo versions, and to some ears may even outdo them. Prior to 1959, all of Davis' recordings for Columbia were released in mono. Which means that, although stereo became a popular format during the '60s, most listeners first heard these landmark albums in mono. In fact, mono was considered the most faithful and purest representation of how the music sounded in the studio. There is some logic to this notion, as the aim was to present the music in the truest regard to the overall sound of the band in the studio. Subsequently, there is less post-production trickery involved on the mono versions. There is also a clarity and depth to the sound quality on these albums, especially when it comes to the piano and bass, that stands apart from previous stereo versions. It's as if you can see farther into the recording, revealing a fuller aural picture of the band as a whole. For some listeners this may not matter, but ultimately, for others, it will mean that these mono remasters, whether bought individually or as a part of this box set, will be must-have additions to their collections.

Product Details

Release Date:
Sony Legacy

Related Subjects


Album Credits

Performance Credits

Miles Davis   Primary Artist,Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Cannonball Adderley   Saxophone,Alto Saxophone
Phil Bodner   Flute
Jimmy Cleveland   Trombone
Johnny Coles   Trumpet
Bill Evans   Piano
Red Garland   Piano
Elvin Jones   Percussion
Philly Joe Jones   Drums
Wynton Kelly   Piano
Lee Konitz   Alto Saxophone
Pierre Michelot   Bass
Hank Mobley   Tenor Saxophone
Jerome Richardson   Flute
Charlie Rouse   Tenor Saxophone
Pee Wee Russell   Clarinet
Art Taylor   Drums
Julius Watkins   French Horn
Barney Wilen   Tenor Saxophone
Taft Jordan   Trumpet
Frank Rehak   Trombone
Ernie Royal   Trumpet
Joe Bennett   Trombone
Jimmy Cobb   Drums
Butch Warren   Bass
Willie Ruff   Horn,French Horn
Danny Bank   Bass Clarinet
Billy Barber   Tuba
John Barrows   French Horn
Joseph Bennett   Trombone
Albert Block   Clarinet,Flute
James Buffington   French Horn
Eddie Caine   Clarinet,Flute
Paul Chambers   Bass
Earl Chapin   French Horn
Kenny Clarke   Drums
John Coltrane   Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Sid Cooper   Clarinet,Flute
Frankie Dunlop   Drums
Gil Evans   Conductor
Harold Feldman   Clarinet,Flute
Bernie Glow   Trumpet
Dick Hixson   Trombone
Jack Knitzer   Bassoon
Jose Mangual   Percussion
Jimmy McAllister   Tuba
Tony Miranda   Horn,French Horn
Thelonious Monk   Piano
Louis Mucci   Trumpet
Romeo Penque   Clarinet,Flute
Gunther Schuller   French Horn
René Urtreger   Piano
Dick Hixon   Trombone
Joe Singer   French Horn
James Cobb   Drums
Tom Mitchell   Bass Trombone
Bill Barber   Tuba
John Carisi   Trumpet
Janet Putman   Harp
John Coles   Trumpet
Jimmy Buffington   Horn
Daniel Bank   Saxophone

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Dave Brubeck   Composer
Tadd Dameron   Composer
Miles Davis   Composer
Bill Evans   Original Liner Notes
Stan Getz   Composer
Bobby Troup   Composer
Willis Conover   Original Liner Notes
George Avakian   Producer,Original Liner Notes
Gil Evans   Arranger,Composer,Orchestra Director
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Ray Henderson   Composer
Nat Hentoff   Original Liner Notes
J.J. Johnson   Composer
Cal Lampley   Producer
Teo Macero   Producer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Thelonious Monk   Composer
Cole Porter   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Vince Wilburn   Executive Producer
Albert McCarthy   Original Liner Notes
Charles Edward Smith   Original Liner Notes
Don Hunstein   Back Cover Photo
Josh Cheuse   Art Direction
Bob Cato   Cover Photo
Aram Avakian   Cover Photo
DuBose Heyward   Composer
Mort Dixon   Composer
André Hodier   Original Liner Notes
David Noakes   translation
Traditional   Composer
Cheryl Davis   Executive Producer
Jim Marshall   Cover Photo
John Carisi   Composer
Erin Davis   Executive Producer
Marc Myers   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews