The Outsorcerer's Apprentice

The Outsorcerer's Apprentice

by Tom Holt
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A happy workforce, it is said, is a productive workforce.

Mmmm.

Try telling that to an army of belligerent goblins. Or the Big Bad Wolf. Or a professional dragons layer. Who is looking after their well-being? Who gives a damn about their intolerable working conditions, lack of adequate health insurance, and terrible coffee in the canteen?

Thankfully, with

…  See more details below

Overview

A happy workforce, it is said, is a productive workforce.

Mmmm.

Try telling that to an army of belligerent goblins. Or the Big Bad Wolf. Or a professional dragons layer. Who is looking after their well-being? Who gives a damn about their intolerable working conditions, lack of adequate health insurance, and terrible coffee in the canteen?

Thankfully, with access to an astonishingly diverse workforce and limitless natural resources, maximizing revenue and improving operating profit has never really been an issue for the one they call "the Wizard." Until now.

Because now a perfectly good business model — based on sound fiscal planning, entrepreneurial flair, and only one or two of the infinite parallel worlds that make up our universe — is about to be disrupted by a young man not entirely aware of what's going on.

There's also a slight risk that the fabric of reality will be torn to shreds. You really do have to be awfully careful with these things.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

SFX on Doughnut
"A light read from the prolific humorist; a romp round the multiverse."
Sun (UK) on Doughnut
"Like the deep-fried snack after which it's named, this sci-fi novel is sweet and fun."
T3 on Doughnut
"One for physicists as well s Krispy Kreme-loving policemen."
Christopher Moore
"Blonde Bombshell is a clever, funny, tirelessly inventive, apocalyptic leg-hump of a book."
From the Publisher
"Entertaining.... Holt has a zany humor that will appeal to fans of Terry Pratchett and Christopher Moore."—Library Journal on The Outsorcerer's Apprentice"

Holt adds to his repertoire of comedic sf, one of the most difficult genera acts to master. Theo is an engaging hero; his brilliance is counteracted by his laziness and his compassion, which is matched by his sense of survival. Place this title alongside Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman's Good Omens, Pratchett's "Discworld" series, and the absurdist works of mainstream authors such as John Barth and Gilbert Sorrentino."—Library Journal (Starred Review) on Doughnut"

A light read from the prolific humorist; a romp round the multiverse."—SFX on Doughnut"

Like the deep-fried snack after which it's named, this sci-fi novel is sweet and fun."—Sun (UK) on Doughnut"

Blonde Bombshell is a clever, funny, tirelessly inventive, apocalyptic leg-hump of a book."—Christopher Moore, New York Times bestselling author"

Tom Holt's Doughnut presents a roller-coaster ride through the world of physics and the origins of the universe."—Library Journal"

One for physicists as well s Krispy Kreme-loving policemen."—T3 on Doughnut

Library Journal
07/01/2014
The inhabitants of a fairy-tale-like kingdom have lived the same way for centuries: slaying dragons, dealing with wolves dressed as elderly grandmothers, fighting dwarf armies, etc. Everything is overseen by the wizard. But when Prince Florizel, the new heir to the local throne, arrives on the scene, something changes. Florizel is not from their world. He has traveled there by way of a doughnut (a technology explored in Holt's 2013 novel, Doughnut) and realizes that the wizard has been using the inhabitants of this world as cheap labor. VERDICT Light as air, this novel might not stick with you long after you read it, but it certainly is entertaining, especially in the ingenious ways that the wizard has found to make money off the fairy-tale denizens. Holt (Blonde Bombshell) has a zany humor that will appeal to fans of Terry Pratchett and Christopher Moore.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780316368797
Publisher:
Orbit
Publication date:
07/15/2014
Pages:
400
Sales rank:
489,611
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.20(d)

Meet the Author

Tom Holt was born in London in 1961. At Oxford he studied bar billiards, ancient Greek agriculture and the care and feeding of small, temperamental Japanese motorcycle engines; interests which led him, perhaps inevitably, to qualify as a solicitor and emigrate to Somerset, where he specialized in death and taxes for seven years before going straight in 1995. He lives in Chard, Somerset, with his wife and daughter.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >