The Power to Persuade: How to Be Effective in Government, the Public Sector, Or Any Other Unruly Organization

Overview

The Power to Persuade answers a fundamental question: how can you safely and successfully navigate a world where persuasion, rather than direct command, is the rule? Scores of business books suggest how to boost profits, but this is the only book to tell managers in government and other public sector organizations how to improve performance when there is no clear bottom line. While teaching at Harvard's Kennedy School of Government, Richard N. Haass realized that no existing book advised those in political ...
See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (20) from $1.99   
  • New (2) from $8.99   
  • Used (18) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$8.99
Seller since 2007

Feedback rating:

(433)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
Clean, unmarked pages. Good binding and cover. Hardcover and dust jacket. Ships daily.

Ships from: Boonsboro, MD

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$50.00
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(136)

Condition: New
Brand new.

Ships from: acton, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Sending request ...

Overview

The Power to Persuade answers a fundamental question: how can you safely and successfully navigate a world where persuasion, rather than direct command, is the rule? Scores of business books suggest how to boost profits, but this is the only book to tell managers in government and other public sector organizations how to improve performance when there is no clear bottom line. While teaching at Harvard's Kennedy School of Government, Richard N. Haass realized that no existing book advised those in political settings how to become more effective. Now he has filled the gap. Using a compass as his operating metaphor - your boss is north of you, your staff is south of you, and so on - he provides guidelines for managing key relationships, setting agendas, and translating goals into results. His interviews with Colin Powell, James Baker, Robert Strauss, and dozens of others yield much practical insight. For the twenty million Americans now employed in the public sector, and for millions more working in complex or unruly organizations of every sort, here is a lively, useful book about practicing the delicate art of persuasion to gain influence and achieve success.

Haass, a former special assistant to President Bush and a senior director of the National Security Council, offers a unique and invaluable book about how to work effectively in the public sector--a lively, useful guide about practicing the delicate art of persuasion to gain influcence and achieve success.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Government appointees and workers in nonprofit institutions can learn much from this authoritative, pithy guide to effective and rewarding service in the public sector, where, according to the author, more Americans now work than in manufacturing. A foreign affairs adviser to President Bush and a senior director of the National Security Council, Haass posits an imaginary ``compass'' whose four cardinal points represent bosses, subordinates, co-workers and outside contacts. He advises managers how to maintain good working relations with all points of their compass to achieve their goals when there is no measurable bottom line, as in the private sector. In the process, he believes the effectiveness of workers in the government bureaucracies and such institutions as charitable foundations and religious organizations will be increased. Author tour. (May)
Library Journal
In the tradition of Dale Carnegie, Haass presents a reader-friendly guide to making positive progress toward goal accomplishment for managers at all levels. Real-world situations and the experiences of people in the know combined with commonsense personal organization tips make this book essential reading for all managers who feel that they're spinning their wheels. The author, a former special assistant to President Bush and a senior director at the National Security Council, presents an impressive parade of personalities whose caveats and anecdotes demonstrate the power of persuasion and the necessary underlying planning and preparedness that go with it. Using the compass analogy, the author discusses how to persuade successfully those to one's north (bosses), south (subordinates), east (colleagues), and west (important outsiders). Recommended for all public and academic libraries.-Randy Abbott, Univ. of Evansville Libs., Ind.
David Rouse
The power to persuade and the art of persuasion are vital in all walks of life, but for those in the public sector, persuasion is often the only tool at one's disposal. Haass was special assistant to President Bush and a senior director at the National Security Council and has a long record of government service. He has written extensively on foreign affairs and defense issues but here addresses his concerns with making government more effective. He contrasts his book with the many other books now out aimed at making government more efficient. With observations culled from his own experience and from more than 50 in-depth interviews with the likes of James Baker and Colin Powell, Haass shows how to manage relationships with and get results from one's boss, one's staff, one's colleagues, and those on the "outside." Included is a brief but valuable bibliography of books that show how and why government works--and doesn't work. Sure to be requested at the circulation desk.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780395675854
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
  • Publication date: 5/25/1994
  • Pages: 260
  • Product dimensions: 5.84 (w) x 8.56 (h) x 1.17 (d)

Table of Contents

Preface
1 Introduction: Finding Your Way 1
2 The Center of Your Compass: You 19
3 North: Those for Whom You Work 70
4 South: Those Who Work for You 102
5 East: Those with Whom You Work 151
6 West: Those with Whom You Should Work 184
7 Conclusion: Back to the Center 225
Acknowledgments 235
Notes 237
Further Reading 251
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)