The Power to Persuade: How to Be Effective in Government, the Public Sector, Or Any Other Unruly Organization by Richard N. Haass, Hardcover | Barnes & Noble
The Power to Persuade: How to Be Effective in Government, the Public Sector, Or Any Other Unruly Organization

The Power to Persuade: How to Be Effective in Government, the Public Sector, Or Any Other Unruly Organization

by Richard N. Haass
     
 

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Government appointees and workers in nonprofit institutions can learn much from this authoritative, pithy guide to effective and rewarding service in the public sector, where, according to the author, more Americans now work than in manufacturing. A foreign affairs adviser to President Bush and a senior director of the National Security Council, Haass posits an imaginary ``compass'' whose four cardinal points represent bosses, subordinates, co-workers and outside contacts. He advises managers how to maintain good working relations with all points of their compass to achieve their goals when there is no measurable bottom line, as in the private sector. In the process, he believes the effectiveness of workers in the government bureaucracies and such institutions as charitable foundations and religious organizations will be increased. Author tour. (May)
Library Journal
In the tradition of Dale Carnegie, Haass presents a reader-friendly guide to making positive progress toward goal accomplishment for managers at all levels. Real-world situations and the experiences of people in the know combined with commonsense personal organization tips make this book essential reading for all managers who feel that they're spinning their wheels. The author, a former special assistant to President Bush and a senior director at the National Security Council, presents an impressive parade of personalities whose caveats and anecdotes demonstrate the power of persuasion and the necessary underlying planning and preparedness that go with it. Using the compass analogy, the author discusses how to persuade successfully those to one's north (bosses), south (subordinates), east (colleagues), and west (important outsiders). Recommended for all public and academic libraries.-Randy Abbott, Univ. of Evansville Libs., Ind.
David Rouse
The power to persuade and the art of persuasion are vital in all walks of life, but for those in the public sector, persuasion is often the only tool at one's disposal. Haass was special assistant to President Bush and a senior director at the National Security Council and has a long record of government service. He has written extensively on foreign affairs and defense issues but here addresses his concerns with making government more effective. He contrasts his book with the many other books now out aimed at making government more efficient. With observations culled from his own experience and from more than 50 in-depth interviews with the likes of James Baker and Colin Powell, Haass shows how to manage relationships with and get results from one's boss, one's staff, one's colleagues, and those on the "outside." Included is a brief but valuable bibliography of books that show how and why government works--and doesn't work. Sure to be requested at the circulation desk.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780395675854
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
Publication date:
05/25/1994
Pages:
260
Product dimensions:
5.84(w) x 8.56(h) x 1.17(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >