The Proxy Assassin: Book Three of the American Spy Trilogy

The Proxy Assassin: Book Three of the American Spy Trilogy

5.0 2
by John Knoerle
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

October, 1948. Former OSS agent Hal Schroeder gets an invitation to Washington D.C. from Frank Wisner, who heads the CIA’s new covert opps division. Hal is whisked off to Wisner’s Maryland shore retreat and introduced to a brace of Romanian royals, including the scarily beautiful Princess Stela Varadja, a direct descendant of Vlad Tepes Draculea. Then… See more details below

Overview

October, 1948. Former OSS agent Hal Schroeder gets an invitation to Washington D.C. from Frank Wisner, who heads the CIA’s new covert opps division. Hal is whisked off to Wisner’s Maryland shore retreat and introduced to a brace of Romanian royals, including the scarily beautiful Princess Stela Varadja, a direct descendant of Vlad Tepes Draculea. Then Frank Wisner pops the question. Would Hal consider parachuting into a remote mountain camp to meet with the leader of a group of Romanian anti-Communist guerillas? 'I had already survived two previous suicide missions and a third did not appeal. But I told Frank Wisner I would need a few days to think it over. I had some sightseeing to do.' As it turns out Hal Schroeder gets to do a lot more sightseeing than he bargained for. A journey that brings the American Spy Trilogy to a surprising, and emotional, conclusion.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"For readers of Olen Steinhauer’s TOURIST series, Daniel Silva & Alan Furst, add a terrific new author to your library of cerebral espionage thrillers. JOHN KNOERLE and 'The Proxy Assassin' go right to the top of the list."
—Stan Corwin, author of'Oxymorons I Have Known'.

"John Knoerle has mastered the art of less is more. In 'The Proxy Assassin' he strings compelling words into kinetic sentences that have the reader flipping pages late into the night."
—-Phil Brody, author of 'The Holden Age of Hollywood'.

“John Knoerle is such a smart writer. The humor, heart and intrigue in 'A Despicable Profession' is great.”
—Sarah Branham, Editor, Simon & Schuster.

Kirkus Reviews
Knoerle's ace thriller, the third in the American Spy series, chronicles a noirish tough guy's efforts to protect the world from the Red Menace, circa 1944. Knoerle hits precisely the right note of humility and bravado when his protagonist, American Office of Strategic Services agent Hal Schroeder, declares in the novel's prologue: "You wouldn't believe how much crap you get credit for when you're a hero." What follows is a spare, stylish thriller peopled with wisecracking characters straight out of a Billy Wilder flick. Schroeder, a World War II vet marking time as a librarian in his native Cleveland, is tapped by real-life intelligence heavyweight Frank Wisner for another covert ops "suicide mission" in Eastern Europe. He accepts, of course--after which everything spirals blissfully out of control. Robert Altman–esque cameos of historical baddies, including FBI director J. Edgar Hoover and suave Cambridge Five double agents Guy Burgess and Kim Philby (who made careers of providing British secrets to their Soviet masters) add historical depth to the international political hijinks. However, Schroeder is the star here. The slightly goofy patriot is bright but not extravagantly so--much like author Laura Lippman's nerdy Baltimore PI, Tess Monaghan, or Peter Robinson's Inspector Banks, whose dogged legwork and occasional epiphanies eventually solve the problems at hand. Agent Schroeder is no Sherlock, and that makes him all the more appealing and the novel more accessible. Beguiled readers will want to seek out Schroeder's two prior adventures (2008's A Pure Double Cross and 2010's A Despicable Profession) as a stopgap until Knoerle hopefully blesses fans with a fourth book (à la numerically expansive author Robert Rankin) in this delightful trilogy. A terrific Cold War thriller.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780982090381
Publisher:
Blue Steel Press
Publication date:
08/30/2012
Series:
American Spy Trilogy , #3
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
281
Sales rank:
1,219,428
File size:
1 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >