The Proxy Assassin: Book Three of the American Spy Trilogy [NOOK Book]

Overview

October, 1948. Former OSS agent Hal Schroeder gets an invitation to Washington D.C. from Frank Wisner, who heads the CIA’s new covert opps division. Hal is whisked off to Wisner’s Maryland shore retreat and introduced to a brace of Romanian royals, including the scarily beautiful Princess Stela Varadja, a direct descendant of Vlad Tepes Draculea. Then Frank Wisner pops the question. Would Hal consider parachuting into a remote mountain camp to meet with the leader of a group of Romanian anti-Communist guerillas? ...
See more details below
The Proxy Assassin: Book Three of the American Spy Trilogy

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$2.99
BN.com price

Overview

October, 1948. Former OSS agent Hal Schroeder gets an invitation to Washington D.C. from Frank Wisner, who heads the CIA’s new covert opps division. Hal is whisked off to Wisner’s Maryland shore retreat and introduced to a brace of Romanian royals, including the scarily beautiful Princess Stela Varadja, a direct descendant of Vlad Tepes Draculea. Then Frank Wisner pops the question. Would Hal consider parachuting into a remote mountain camp to meet with the leader of a group of Romanian anti-Communist guerillas? 'I had already survived two previous suicide missions and a third did not appeal. But I told Frank Wisner I would need a few days to think it over. I had some sightseeing to do.' As it turns out Hal Schroeder gets to do a lot more sightseeing than he bargained for. A journey that brings the American Spy Trilogy to a surprising, and emotional, conclusion.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"For readers of Olen Steinhauer’s TOURIST series, Daniel Silva & Alan Furst, add a terrific new author to your library of cerebral espionage thrillers. JOHN KNOERLE and 'The Proxy Assassin' go right to the top of the list."
—Stan Corwin, author of'Oxymorons I Have Known'.

"John Knoerle has mastered the art of less is more. In 'The Proxy Assassin' he strings compelling words into kinetic sentences that have the reader flipping pages late into the night."
—-Phil Brody, author of 'The Holden Age of Hollywood'.

“John Knoerle is such a smart writer. The humor, heart and intrigue in 'A Despicable Profession' is great.”
—Sarah Branham, Editor, Simon & Schuster.

Kirkus Reviews
Knoerle's ace thriller, the third in the American Spy series, chronicles a noirish tough guy's efforts to protect the world from the Red Menace, circa 1944. Knoerle hits precisely the right note of humility and bravado when his protagonist, American Office of Strategic Services agent Hal Schroeder, declares in the novel's prologue: "You wouldn't believe how much crap you get credit for when you're a hero." What follows is a spare, stylish thriller peopled with wisecracking characters straight out of a Billy Wilder flick. Schroeder, a World War II vet marking time as a librarian in his native Cleveland, is tapped by real-life intelligence heavyweight Frank Wisner for another covert ops "suicide mission" in Eastern Europe. He accepts, of course--after which everything spirals blissfully out of control. Robert Altman–esque cameos of historical baddies, including FBI director J. Edgar Hoover and suave Cambridge Five double agents Guy Burgess and Kim Philby (who made careers of providing British secrets to their Soviet masters) add historical depth to the international political hijinks. However, Schroeder is the star here. The slightly goofy patriot is bright but not extravagantly so--much like author Laura Lippman's nerdy Baltimore PI, Tess Monaghan, or Peter Robinson's Inspector Banks, whose dogged legwork and occasional epiphanies eventually solve the problems at hand. Agent Schroeder is no Sherlock, and that makes him all the more appealing and the novel more accessible. Beguiled readers will want to seek out Schroeder's two prior adventures (2008's A Pure Double Cross and 2010's A Despicable Profession) as a stopgap until Knoerle hopefully blesses fans with a fourth book (à la numerically expansive author Robert Rankin) in this delightful trilogy. A terrific Cold War thriller.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780982090381
  • Publisher: Blue Steel Press
  • Publication date: 8/30/2012
  • Series: American Spy Trilogy , #3
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 281
  • Sales rank: 1,359,389
  • File size: 778 KB

Meet the Author

John Knoerle was born in Cleveland, Ohio in 1949 and migrated to California with his family in the 1960s. He has worked as a stand-up comic, a voiceover actor and a radio reporter. He wrote the screenplay for “Quiet Fire,” which starred Karen Black and Lawrence Hilton Jacobs, and the stage play “The He-Man Woman Hater’s Club,” an LA Time’s Critics Choice. John also worked as a writer for Garrison Keillor’s “A Prairie Home Companion.” Knoerle’s first novel, “Crystal Meth Cowboys,” published in 2003, was optioned by Fox TV. His second novel, “The Violin Player,” won the Mayhaven Award for Fiction. Knoerle is currently at work on “The American Spy Trilogy.” Book One, “A Pure Double Cross,” came out in 2008. Book Two, “A Despicable Profession,” was published in August of 2010. John Knoerle lives in Chicago with his wife, Judie.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Honestly I thought this book was interesting....totally caught m

    Honestly I thought this book was interesting....totally caught me from the first few chapters.
    I don't usually go for "Spy novels" , but this is so far from a normal "Spy novel" that I'm blown away.
    I have to go back now and read books 1 and 2!
    Hal Schroeder's character is remarkable...Well developed...just LOVED him!
    As you traverse across Europe during the Cold war era the book has you on edge about what will happen next....so many twists :)
    Never knew an ashtray could be so dangerous...LOL
    If you are looking for Action...It's here!!!
    Adventure....Totally!!!!
    Intrigue.....It's in there
    Package in short easy to read chapters that will have you wanting MORE!!
    Wonderful job Mr. Knoerle!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Exhaustingly good!

    Whew! Exhausting book to read and made me glad I am not ever considering a career in espionage. It seems to take a certain mindset and ability to play chess AND have a sense of humor to keep going.

    THE PROXY ASSASSIN is set in the US and other environs just after WWII. Hal Schroeder is hailed as both a hero, but isn't loved by all. He's trying to come to grips with his life thus far. I know I have to read the first two in the trilogy so I can catch up to some of the mentions and occurences that happen in this entry.
    Hal is sent to Europe to battle the Red threat by garnering trust with the Romanian anti-Communist guerillas. Not everything is as it seems and Hal doesn't know who to trust other than himself...and sometimes not even him.
    I loved the dry humor throughout. I think I could be friends with Hal, though the friend attrition rate is pretty high with him.
    I look forward to reading the first two in the trilogy and anything else John Knoerle writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)