The Proxy Assassin: Book Three of the American Spy Trilogy

The Proxy Assassin: Book Three of the American Spy Trilogy

5.0 2
by John Knoerle
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

October, 1948. Former OSS agent Hal Schroeder gets an invitation to Washington D.C. from Frank Wisner, who heads the CIA’s new covert ops division. Hal is whisked off to Wisner’s Maryland shore retreat and introduced to a brace of Romanian royals, including the scarily beautiful Princess Stela Varadja, a direct descendant of Vlad Tepes Draculea. Then Frank

Overview

October, 1948. Former OSS agent Hal Schroeder gets an invitation to Washington D.C. from Frank Wisner, who heads the CIA’s new covert ops division. Hal is whisked off to Wisner’s Maryland shore retreat and introduced to a brace of Romanian royals, including the scarily beautiful Princess Stela Varadja, a direct descendant of Vlad Tepes Draculea. Then Frank Wisner pops the question. Would Hal consider parachuting into a remote mountain camp to meet with the leader of a group of Romanian anti-Communist guerillas? Hal had already survived two previous suicide missions and a third did not appeal. But he told Frank Wisner he would need a few days to think it over and had some sightseeing to do. As it turns out, Hal gets to do a lot more sightseeing than he bargained for. Proxy Assassin is a journey that brings the American Spy Trilogy to a surprising, and emotional, conclusion.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"For readers of Olen Steinhauer’s TOURIST series, Daniel Silva & Alan Furst, add a terrific new author to your library of cerebral espionage thrillers. JOHN KNOERLE and 'The Proxy Assassin' go right to the top of the list."
—Stan Corwin, author of'Oxymorons I Have Known'.

"John Knoerle has mastered the art of less is more. In 'The Proxy Assassin' he strings compelling words into kinetic sentences that have the reader flipping pages late into the night."
—-Phil Brody, author of 'The Holden Age of Hollywood'.

“John Knoerle is such a smart writer. The humor, heart and intrigue in 'A Despicable Profession' is great.”
—Sarah Branham, Editor, Simon & Schuster.

Kirkus Reviews
Knoerle's ace thriller, the third in the American Spy series, chronicles a noirish tough guy's efforts to protect the world from the Red Menace, circa 1944. Knoerle hits precisely the right note of humility and bravado when his protagonist, American Office of Strategic Services agent Hal Schroeder, declares in the novel's prologue: "You wouldn't believe how much crap you get credit for when you're a hero." What follows is a spare, stylish thriller peopled with wisecracking characters straight out of a Billy Wilder flick. Schroeder, a World War II vet marking time as a librarian in his native Cleveland, is tapped by real-life intelligence heavyweight Frank Wisner for another covert ops "suicide mission" in Eastern Europe. He accepts, of course--after which everything spirals blissfully out of control. Robert Altman–esque cameos of historical baddies, including FBI director J. Edgar Hoover and suave Cambridge Five double agents Guy Burgess and Kim Philby (who made careers of providing British secrets to their Soviet masters) add historical depth to the international political hijinks. However, Schroeder is the star here. The slightly goofy patriot is bright but not extravagantly so--much like author Laura Lippman's nerdy Baltimore PI, Tess Monaghan, or Peter Robinson's Inspector Banks, whose dogged legwork and occasional epiphanies eventually solve the problems at hand. Agent Schroeder is no Sherlock, and that makes him all the more appealing and the novel more accessible. Beguiled readers will want to seek out Schroeder's two prior adventures (2008's A Pure Double Cross and 2010's A Despicable Profession) as a stopgap until Knoerle hopefully blesses fans with a fourth book (à la numerically expansive author Robert Rankin) in this delightful trilogy. A terrific Cold War thriller.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780982090398
Publisher:
Blue Steel Press
Publication date:
09/01/2012
Series:
The American Spy Trilogy Series
Pages:
272
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.70(d)

Meet the Author

John Knoerle was born in Cleveland, Ohio, in 1949 and migrated to California with his family in the 1960s. He has worked as a stand-up comic, a voiceover actor, and a radio reporter. He wrote the screenplay for Quiet Fire, which starred Karen Black and Lawrence Hilton Jacobs, and the stage play The He-Man Woman Hater’s Club, an LA Time’s Critics Choice. He also worked as a writer for Garrison Keillor’s A Prairie Home Companion. His first novel, Crystal Meth Cowboys, published in 2003, was optioned by Fox TV. His second novel, The Violin Player, won the Mayhaven Award for fiction. He is currently at work on the American Spy Trilogy. Book One, A Pure Double Cross, came out in 2008. Book Two, A Despicable Profession, was published in August of 2010.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Proxy Assassin: Book Three of the American Spy Trilogy 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
InsideBJsHead More than 1 year ago
Honestly I thought this book was interesting....totally caught me from the first few chapters. I don't usually go for "Spy novels" , but this is so far from a normal "Spy novel" that I'm blown away. I have to go back now and read books 1 and 2! Hal Schroeder's character is remarkable...Well developed...just LOVED him! As you traverse across Europe during the Cold war era the book has you on edge about what will happen next....so many twists :) Never knew an ashtray could be so dangerous...LOL If you are looking for Action...It's here!!! Adventure....Totally!!!! Intrigue.....It's in there Package in short easy to read chapters that will have you wanting MORE!! Wonderful job Mr. Knoerle!!!!
IYamVixenBooks More than 1 year ago
Whew! Exhausting book to read and made me glad I am not ever considering a career in espionage. It seems to take a certain mindset and ability to play chess AND have a sense of humor to keep going. THE PROXY ASSASSIN is set in the US and other environs just after WWII. Hal Schroeder is hailed as both a hero, but isn't loved by all. He's trying to come to grips with his life thus far. I know I have to read the first two in the trilogy so I can catch up to some of the mentions and occurences that happen in this entry. Hal is sent to Europe to battle the Red threat by garnering trust with the Romanian anti-Communist guerillas. Not everything is as it seems and Hal doesn't know who to trust other than himself...and sometimes not even him. I loved the dry humor throughout. I think I could be friends with Hal, though the friend attrition rate is pretty high with him. I look forward to reading the first two in the trilogy and anything else John Knoerle writes.