×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Rebellious Heiress (for Jane Austen and Downton Abbey Fans)
     

The Rebellious Heiress (for Jane Austen and Downton Abbey Fans)

4.3 3
by Karla Darcy
 
"This is Regency romance at its best. Karla Darcy's books are simply magical. Her stories have everything I look for in this wonderful genre: wit, humor, intrigue, and tenderness. You're in for a treat."
Debbie Macomber, #1 NYT bestselling author

"Fans of Downton Abbey and Jane Austen (without zombies) will adore this book. Karla Darcy makes us

Overview

"This is Regency romance at its best. Karla Darcy's books are simply magical. Her stories have everything I look for in this wonderful genre: wit, humor, intrigue, and tenderness. You're in for a treat."
Debbie Macomber, #1 NYT bestselling author

"Fans of Downton Abbey and Jane Austen (without zombies) will adore this book. Karla Darcy makes us remember why we lose sense and sensibility for a sexy Regency hero and captures the era with a glorious and colorful voice!"
Roxanne St. Claire, New York Times Bestselling Author

"Karla Darcy weaves one fabulous Regency Romance after another. Wise, witty and wonderful. Move over Jane for another Darcy you will love!"
Mary Alice Monroe, NY Times author of Beach House Memories

If you love Downton Abbey and Jane Austen you'll love The Rebellious Heiress! This is the 8th book in the Sweet Deception Regency series. Marry her cousin Woodie? Bella would sooner run away. On her escape to London she finds the Earl of Wyndham attacked and left for dead. When Tristram regains consciousness, he can't believe this wisp of a girl has saved him. Unable to leave her to her own devices, he escorts her to London and hires her as governess to his son. Though he suspects Bella is lying about her identity, he welcomes her into his home and his heart. Will her controlling guardian find her and force her into a disastrous marriage when her heart belongs to the man she rescued?

Readers Love Karla Darcy, RWA Golden Heart award winning author.

"The humor and tenderness give this book heart and authentic details and great sexual tension make for a great read."

"This is a book I will read again and again over the years because it is so delightful."

Get your copy today!

Product Details

BN ID:
2940016539881
Publisher:
Glades Publishing
Publication date:
06/27/2013
Series:
Pride Meets Prejudice , #8
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
537,286
File size:
1 MB

Meet the Author

Karla Darcy lives with her husband, several tame geckos and an occasional friendly snake on the Treasure Coast on the east side of Florida. She has always felt she lived in the Regency period in a past life. Her early writings were musical comedies and humor columns so it was an easy transition to the romantic and humorous style of Regencies. Lovely dresses, masked balls and witty conversations, which contained saucy double entendres, were the perfect cup of tea for this author.

Karla discovered years ago that you don't have to be a bitch to write a Regency but it helps. Tone is everything in the era of witty repartee. Dialogue has to have that snap that makes Regency conversations sparkle.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Rebellious Heiress 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
funnygirlecu More than 1 year ago
This is a good light romance built on dialogue and character interaction. There are a lot of great romantic lines to make the reader smile. Bella and Wyndham have quite a few misunderstandings that keep them apart and from finding true love. The ending is satisfying. The novel is also clean. If you like romance novels that keep the bedroom door closed, and is built on character interaction instead of sex and dirty language this novel is for you.
MTSmith More than 1 year ago
***Received from Story Cartel for an honest review*** This is part of Karla Darcy's "Pride Meets Prejudice" series but can be read as a standalone. Bella flees her controlling Uncle after learning he intends to force her to marry his son, who is more a friend than a love interest to Bella. On her way to London, she stumbles upon a man left for dead and nurses him back to health. That man is Lord Tristram Wyndham, who was attacked while traveling to his country home, Dragon's Keep. The attraction between Tristram and Bella is sweet and gradual but it grows into a strong love and passion by the end of the story. I enjoyed Tristram's initial resolve to keep beautiful, resourceful Bella at arm's length and to try to view her as a child. But his attempts are thwarted by his mother, who has decided Bella will be Tristram's new wife, and by the tantalizing glimpses of the woman Bella truly is. I loved Bella. She's witty, smart, resourceful, and stubborn. She sees the good man Tristram is and adores the affection he has for his son Colin. The most engaging aspect of this story was how both Tristram and Bella had no desire to marry--Bella simply because she had no desire to, and Tristram because of what transpired between him and his late wife before she died. And yet it was thoroughly entertaining to watch them fall in love with each other all while denying their need/want to marry. The honest downer was the slow start of the story. That's not to say it wasn't interesting, but it just didn't move fast enough for me. Once past the beginning though, the story moved at a marvelous pace. I'm a huge Karla Darcy fan, and I've enjoyed every single book in this series, and this one is no exception.
LJCapehart More than 1 year ago
I was given a copy of this in exchange for an honest review. I chose it originally because it was likened to Jane Austen, who I am definitely a fan of. The similarity is accurate, and I truly enjoyed this story by Karla Darcy(could she have a more perfect last name? Lol!). I loved her characters and felt deeply involved in caring about what happened to them throughout the book. I had a hard time putting it aside to do things that I must, being in charge of home, and all things of any importance there! I'm very pleased to have had the opportunity to enjoy this story, and will follow up by checking out her other books. If they're as well written, I'll be pleased. I am definitely now a fan!