The Road of Danger (RCN Series #9)

( 4 )

Overview

Master and Commander in space! Brilliant and brave starship captain Daniel Leary and ace spy Adele Mundy confront a pirate plot and once again save the Republic of Cinnabar despite itself.

#9 in the national best selling RCN space adventure series.

Captain Daniel Leary with his friend–and spy–Officer Adele Mundy are sent to a quiet sector to carry out an easy task: helping the local admiral put down a coup before it takes place. But then the jealous admiral gets rid of them by ...

See more details below
Hardcover (Baen)
$18.74
BN.com price
(Save 25%)$25.00 List Price
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (28) from $2.33   
  • New (9) from $13.99   
  • Used (19) from $2.33   
The Road of Danger

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$6.99
BN.com price

Overview

Master and Commander in space! Brilliant and brave starship captain Daniel Leary and ace spy Adele Mundy confront a pirate plot and once again save the Republic of Cinnabar despite itself.

#9 in the national best selling RCN space adventure series.

Captain Daniel Leary with his friend–and spy–Officer Adele Mundy are sent to a quiet sector to carry out an easy task: helping the local admiral put down a coup before it takes place. But then the jealous admiral gets rid of them by sending them off on a wild goose chase to a sector where commerce is king and business is carried out by extortion and gunfights.

With anarchy and rebellion in the air, a rogue intelligence officer plots the war that will destroy civilization and enlists the help of a brute whom even torturers couldn't stomach.

And, of course, it’s up to Leary and Mundy to put a stop to the madness.

About David Drake’s previous RCN novel, What Distant Deeps:
“Drake deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera.” –Publishers Weekly

About David Drake’s RCN series:
“[R]ousing old-fashioned space opera.” –Publishers Weekly

“The fun is in the telling, and Mr. Drake has a strong voice. I want more!” –Philadelphia Weekly Press

“[S]pace opera is alive and well. This series is getting better as the author goes along…character development combined with first-rate action and memorable world designs.” –SFReader.com

About David Drake:
“[P]rose as cold and hard s the metal alloy of a tank…rivals Crane and Remarque…” –Chicago Sun-Times

“Drake couldn’t write a bad action scene at gunpoint.” –Booklist

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In the ninth book of Drake's The RCN Series (after 2011's What Distant Deeps), Captain Daniel Leary and information savant Adele Mundy of the Republic of Cinnabar Navy are sent on a covert mission into Alliance space to uncover and potentially end a revolt on the frontier planet of Sunbright. Rumor has it that the rebel leader, known only as Freedom, is an agent of Cinnabar, and Leary must discover the truth and stop the rebellion before Alliance-Cinnabar interstellar relations devolve into full-scale war. Loosely based on Livy's account of Hamilcar's third-century B.C.E. rebellion against Rome, this colorless and repetitive character-driven space opera mixes history and military science fiction, but fails to add up to anything more than a dull mess. (Apr.)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781451638158
  • Publisher: Baen
  • Publication date: 4/3/2012
  • Series: RCN Series , #9
  • Edition description: Baen
  • Pages: 368
  • Sales rank: 502,768
  • Product dimensions: 6.50 (w) x 9.40 (h) x 1.40 (d)

Meet the Author

David Drake

David Drake was attending Duke University Law School when he was drafted. He served the next two years in the Army, spending 1970 as an enlisted interrogator with the 11th armored Cavalry in Viet Nam and Cambodia. Upon return he completed his law degree at Duke and was for eight years Assistant Town Attorney for Chapel Hill, North Carolina. He has been a full-time freelance writer since 1981. His books include the genre-defining and bestselling Hammer’s Slammers series, the RCN series including What Distant Deeps, In the Stormy Red Sky, The Way to Glory, and many more.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3.5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing...expected more from Drake.

    Nothing in this review is meant as any sort of attack against the author in particular. I'm a huge fan of David Drake, especially of his "Hammers' Slammers," and Bolo stories, which is why I jumped all over the chance to review this title. Unfortunately, because I had such high expectations, it fell pretty flat.

    I think Drake is at his best describing space combat, and there just wasn't a whole lot of that in this book. There's a lot of espionage and political backdooring as the Alliance and Cinnabar might or might not go to war. Frankly, I had a hard time following all the political subplots going on, even as they seemed to mostly come to a resolution at the end. And as an annoying afterthought, I have no idea what the cover illustration has to do with the book--the story within the front and back cover bears little resemblance to the action depicted on the front of the book.

    On the positive side, fans of Daniel Leary's signals officer, Adele Mundy, will find plenty to read about, as she takes up a bit more time than in some other of the RCN books. Tovera, Mundy's bodyguard, is as psychotic as ever, and of course there is Hogg, Leary's servant/bodyguard, who always seems to know exactly what (not) to say.

    I think die hard fans of the RCN series will find this installment adequate, but if you haven't read much of the RCN series to date, this is probably not a book for you.

    If you did not find this review helpful, please let me know how I can improve my reviews.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    I'll agree with Rob Ballister that this isn't the top of Drake's

    I'll agree with Rob Ballister that this isn't the top of Drake's space-battle game. There is little of that here, and what there is...well, it's fairly cursory (the best of these is the a nice game of cat-and-mouse near the end). On the other hand, this is really the first opportunity to delve into more of Mundy's mission rather than Leary's. Here it's Leary's mission that, while certainly important, isn't really the driving force.

    The biggest issue I see here is that because the two missions run parallel more than together, the narrative can be a bit disjointed, which certainly doesn't help.

    I'd like to give this 3 and a half stars, as I enjoyed the book, but it simply wasn't up to the standards of the rest of the RCN series. I can't give it 4 stars, but I think it deserves a bit more than the 3 I'm giving it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Great tale, Great series

    Great tale, Great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    I had to re-read this book. My first time I must admit I gave i

    I had to re-read this book. My first time I must admit I gave it a 2 star rating, but it improve the second time I read it. It focused a lot more on Adele than David and I had to kind of "re-route" my thinking of the major character of this story. However, once I read it once, then read it twice, it greatly improved. Not the best of the series but a good story nevertherless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)