×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Sailor from Gibraltar
     

The Sailor from Gibraltar

by Marguerite Duras, Barbara Bray (Translator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Bored with his career and disgusted by his girlfriend, the narrator of The Sailor of Gibraltar finds himself at the point of complete breakdown while vacationing. He leaves his mistress behind, instead joining the crew of The Gibraltar, a yacht captained by Anna, a beautiful American in search of her sometime lover.

Overview

Bored with his career and disgusted by his girlfriend, the narrator of The Sailor of Gibraltar finds himself at the point of complete breakdown while vacationing. He leaves his mistress behind, instead joining the crew of The Gibraltar, a yacht captained by Anna, a beautiful American in search of her sometime lover.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"It's not a book to rush through. It's a book to be savored while drinking cognac and smoking pretentious cigarettes ... Whether [it's] a lost love or a reason not to go home again, Duras captures the longing that infects her 'haracters — and all of us from time to time — with elegant prose and a story that will set you blissfully adrift."—Jessa Crispin, NPR

"Despite the novel's dizzying pace, Volpi never loses sight of his characters, and it is their richness that makes "Season of Ash" a tour de force. Fans of Roberto Bolano, Thomas Pynchon and even Leo Tolstoy would do well to add this novel to their reading lists."—Rebecca Oppenheimer, The Howard County Times

"Jorge Volpi’s Season of Ash is the kind of novel that reminds me why I read novels in the first place, but it’s also the kind that makes me wonder why I bother to write ... Volpi is a genius, that you have to buy this book, and that he’ll end up with the Nobel Prize in Literature if there is any justice in the world ... Translating genius requires itself a certain genius. [Alfred] MacAdam is already well-lauded for his work as a translator, but someone needs to give this man a medal for his current effort."—Okla Elliot, Inside Higher Ed

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781934824047
Publisher:
Open Letter
Publication date:
12/15/2008
Edition description:
New Edition
Pages:
318
Sales rank:
900,412
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.00(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author


Marguerite Duras wrote dozens of plays, film scripts, and novels, including The Ravishing of Lol Stein, The Sea Wall, and Hiroshima, Mon Amour. She's most well known for The Lover which received the Goncourt prize in 1984 and was made into a film in 1992.

Barbara Bray translated several works by Marguerite Duras, including The Malady of Death, The Lover, and The War. In addition, she has translated Jean Genet, Ismail Kadare, and Tahar Ben Jelloun, and has received the French-American Foundation Translation Prize.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews