BN.com Gift Guide

Overview

The Sea Warriors chronicles the real-life adventures of the great sea captains who spent long, arduous years on the world's oceans, fighting for king and country, to win and rule the waves. The struggles of the Royal Navy's finest commanders encompass the Napoleonic Wars and the War of 1812, as well as fights against pirates and battles with the sea itself. Author Richard Woodman, best known for his Nathaniel Drinkwater series of historical novels, recounts in exciting detail the deeds of the captains and mates ...

See more details below
The Sea Warriors

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$11.99
BN.com price

Overview

The Sea Warriors chronicles the real-life adventures of the great sea captains who spent long, arduous years on the world's oceans, fighting for king and country, to win and rule the waves. The struggles of the Royal Navy's finest commanders encompass the Napoleonic Wars and the War of 1812, as well as fights against pirates and battles with the sea itself. Author Richard Woodman, best known for his Nathaniel Drinkwater series of historical novels, recounts in exciting detail the deeds of the captains and mates who manned the opposing frigates—who blockaded ports, who intercepted the enemy's trade, who protected merchant ships from enemy attacks and piracy. Extraordinary characters stride across these pages—men like Lord Cochrane, Charles Brisbane, and Nisbet Willoughby—naval heroes who for nearly two centuries have stood in the shadow cast by the famous British admiral Horatio Nelson. Some, like Warren, Pellew, Cochrane, and Collingwood, still have some measure of renown, while others are almost unknown today despite their brave and brilliant exploits. " ... marvelous ... shows where Patrick O'Brian and C. S. Forester got all their stuff ... more exciting to read than either."—John Bayley, "Best Books of the Year,"—Times Literary Supplement "A superb Napoleonic War study, admirably written. It puts Patrick O'Brian and Hornblower in the shade."—Daily Telegraph "For fans of Patrick O'Brian or C. S. Forester who crave true stories of high adventure in Nelson's navy."—Kirkus Reviews

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Booknews
Woodman recounts the story of the late 18th- and early 19th-century British naval captains. He details the events of the war years, focusing on the blockading of enemy ports, the interception of trade, and the protection of British merchant ships. In addition to the heroics of battle, the monotony of sailing, the prevalence of disease, and outbreaks of mutiny are also discussed. Woodman is a former sailor, from a slightly later period. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)
Kirkus Reviews
A historical study of the fighting officers and sailors who served in Great Britain's powerful navy during the golden age of Admiral Horatio Nelson. Woodman, best known as an author of historical maritime novels (The Guineaman, 2000, etc.), seems a promising choice to produce a naval history of the Napoleonic Wars. Indeed, he demonstrates an impressive grasp of the era. This extraordinary knowledge of the English captains, ships, crews, tactics, and opponents produces a narrative full of authentic details that should help readers encounter this long-extinct age. The author constructs this quirky history of equal parts military biography, nautical adventure, and naval history. He focuses his writing on the age's most colorful characters, offering readers observations on the tactical audacity and individual courage of captains like Horatio Nelson and Nisbet Willoughby against their French and American opponents. Between the resulting episodes of broadside cannon fire, exploding fire ships, and sea chases, Woodman pauses to describe the domestic life on the ships, teaching readers about such disparate subjects as the ravishes of scurvy and the monotony of sail trimming. He also finds the space to comment on social injustices, shedding light on the impressment of American merchant seamen, and the beatings and executions of sailors that damaged British recruiting and inspired the era's infamous mutinies. Too often, Woodman loses his narrative thread in this blizzard of data, making the history seem like a series of richly detailed but loosely stitched together research projects instead of a coherent history. For fans of Patrick O'Brian or C.S. Forester who crave true stories of highadventure in Nelson's navy—although many of those fans would be better served by numerous, more scholarly histories of the epoch that are readily available.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781780339245
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
  • Publication date: 8/28/2002
  • Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 384
  • Sales rank: 656,259
  • File size: 3 MB

Meet the Author

Richard Woodman is the author of more than a dozen sea stories, most famously his Nathaniel Drinkwater series of historical novels, as well as several maritime histories. He lives in England.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)