×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Secret Wife: The new top ten bestselling romance of 2016
     

The Secret Wife: The new top ten bestselling romance of 2016

5.0 1
by Gill Paul
 

See All Formats & Editions

‘A cleverly crafted novel and an enthralling story… A triumph.’ DINAH JEFFERIESA Russian grand duchess and an English journalist. Linked by one of the world’s greatest mysteries . . .Love. Guilt. Heartbreak.1914Russia is on the brink of collapse, and the Romanov family faces a terrifyingly uncertain future. Grand Duchess Tatiana has fallen in

Overview

‘A cleverly crafted novel and an enthralling story… A triumph.’ DINAH JEFFERIESA Russian grand duchess and an English journalist. Linked by one of the world’s greatest mysteries . . .Love. Guilt. Heartbreak.1914Russia is on the brink of collapse, and the Romanov family faces a terrifyingly uncertain future. Grand Duchess Tatiana has fallen in love with cavalry officer Dmitri, but events take a catastrophic turn, placing their romance – and their lives – in danger . . .2016Kitty Fisher escapes to her great-grandfather’s remote cabin in America, after a devastating revelation makes her flee London. There, on the shores of Lake Akanabee, she discovers the spectacular jewelled pendant that will lead her to a long-buried family secret . . .Haunting, moving and beautifully written, The Secret Wife effortlessly crosses centuries, as past merges with present in an unforgettable story of love, loss and resilience.Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Dinah Jefferies.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
‘Meticulously researched and evocatively written, this sweeping story will keep a tight hold on your heartstrings until the final page’ Iona Grey‘A cleverly crafted novel and an enthralling story: the heartbreak genuine, the research brilliant. I love the way the present narrative throws light on the past story so that the transitions are smooth. A triumph.’ Dinah Jefferies‘A marvellous story: gripping, romantic and evocative of a turbulent and fascinating time’ Lulu Taylor‘This was just magical. At the last line, tears rolled down my cheeks. Highly recommended.’ Louise Beech'A heart-warming affirmation of the tenacity of human love' Liz Trenow'Gill Paul has crafted a beautiful book. The passages set in Russia in 1914 are so richly described and researched that I felt as if I was living in the pages myself. I adored it.' Amanda Jennings‘This is an intriguing and involving book that explores a really fascinating period in time in a clever and highly enjoyable way. I was hooked into both timelines from the start.’Joanna Courtney, author of The Chosen Queen and The Constant Queen‘A beautiful and moving story, beautifully and movingly told. I read it in just two sittings . . . I enjoyed every page’ John Julius Norwich‘Gill Paul has clearly done her research in this absorbing story that cleverly blends imagination with historical fact. The closeted and ultimately doomed Romanov family have always fascinated, especially the four grand duchesses, and the older strand of this dual narrative story is told by one of the girls' secret loves. Tragic, touching and authentic-feeling.’ Kate Riordan‘A marvellous moving adventure, full of vivid colour and atmospheric detail. If you loved POLDARK you’ll love this!’ Lulu Taylor‘Like VANITY FAIR crossed with POLDARK… Stunning epic’ Claudia Carroll‘A terrific adventure story, full of romance and atmospheric detail – a great escapist read’ Liz Trenow

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780008102142
Publisher:
HarperCollins UK
Publication date:
11/08/2016
Pages:
416
Sales rank:
57,126
Product dimensions:
5.00(w) x 7.70(h) x 0.90(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Gill Paul is a Scottish-born, London-based writer of historical fiction and non-fiction. Her novels include Women and Children First (2012), which was shortlisted for an RNA award, The Affair (2013), and No Place for a Lady (2015), which was shortlisted for a Love Stories Award. Her non-fiction includes A History of Medicine in 50 Objects (2016), World War I Love Stories (2014) and Royal Love Stories (2015). Gill has written about relationships for a number of newspapers and magazines, and has an occasionally successful sideline in matchmaking. She swims year-round in an outdoor pond.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Secret Wife: The new top ten bestselling romance of 2016 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous 11 months ago
This book is one if my all time favorites! I could not put in down and just looked forward to readind this captivating story,with just enough detail and a riveting flow. I have never written a review, but just had to recommend this book! Excellent job Gill, congratulations!!