Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Seventh One

The Seventh One

by Elizabeth Yates

See All Formats & Editions

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature
This story follows the life of Tom from childhood to adulthood. Throughout Tom's life, he finds companionship in seven dogs. In each new chapter, a new dog teaches him and introduces a new adventure into his life. Only through his companionship with his dogs do these life experiences come to mean anything. He learns to take pride in himself, and most importantly, he learns to let go. In order to let go, he has to accept going separate ways and the tragedy of death. This is a characteristic that becomes part of Tom throughout the book. He meets a young woman at a dog event and must choose between the dog and the woman. Through his experiences with Dawn and Victor, the fourth and fifth dogs, he learns to take life as it comes. During this time in his life, his wife is diagnosed with cancer. Only through the help of the dogs can he learn to cope with this news. The seventh dog, Una, is especially important to Tom because she gives him a new perspective on life. The story offers dog lovers a real sense of how man's best friend affects the life of the owner. Yates gives a good interpretation of the lives of dogs and how they affect people. She makes readers sit back and analyze the things humans take for granted and how they can learn by looking at things from a different perspective—in this case, through the eyes of a dog. 2003 (orig. 1978), Journey Forth, Ages 14 up.
—Joseph H. Israel

Product Details

Jones, Bob University Press
Publication date:
Product dimensions:
5.54(w) x 8.48(h) x 0.32(d)
950L (what's this?)
Age Range:
12 Years

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews