×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Seventh Plague (Sigma Force Series)
     

The Seventh Plague (Sigma Force Series)

4.8 6
by James Rollins
 

See All Formats & Editions

In a breathtaking blend of scientific intrigue and historical mystery, #1 New York Times bestselling mastermind, James Rollins, reveals an ancient threat hidden within the pages of the Bible, one that threatens the modern world in The Seventh Plague

If the biblical plagues of Egypt truly happened—could they

Overview

In a breathtaking blend of scientific intrigue and historical mystery, #1 New York Times bestselling mastermind, James Rollins, reveals an ancient threat hidden within the pages of the Bible, one that threatens the modern world in The Seventh Plague

If the biblical plagues of Egypt truly happened—could they happen again—on a global scale?

Two years after vanishing into the Sudanese desert, the leader of a British archeological expedition, Professor Harold McCabe, comes stumbling out of the sands, frantic and delirious, but he dies before he can tell his story. The mystery deepens when an autopsy uncovers a bizarre corruption: someone had begun to mummify the professor’s body—while he was still alive.

His strange remains are returned to London for further study, when alarming news arrives from Egypt. The medical team who had performed the man’s autopsy has fallen ill with an unknown disease, one that is quickly spreading throughout Cairo. Fearing the worst, a colleague of the professor reaches out to a longtime friend: Painter Crowe, the director of Sigma Force. The call is urgent, for Professor McCabe had vanished into the desert while searching for proof of the ten plagues of Moses. As the pandemic grows, a disturbing question arises.

Are those plagues starting again?

Before Director Crowe can investigate, a mysterious group of assassins leaves behind a fiery wake of destruction and death, erasing all evidence. With the professor’s body incinerated, his home firebombed, Sigma Force must turn to the archaeologist’s only daughter, Jane McCabe, for help. While sifting through what’s left of her father’s work, she discovers a puzzling connection tying the current threat to a shocking historical mystery, one involving the travels of Mark Twain, the genius of Nikola Tesla, and the adventures of famous explorer Henry Morgan Stanley.

To unravel a secret going back millennia, Director Crowe and Commander Grayson Pierce will be thrust to opposite sides of the globe. One will search for the truth, traveling from the plague-ridden streets of Cairo to a vast ancient tomb buried under the burning sands of the Sudan; the other will struggle to stop a mad genius locked within a remote Arctic engineering complex, risking the lives of all those he holds dear.

As the global crisis grows ever larger, Sigma Force will confront a threat born of the ancient past and made real by the latest science—a danger that will unleash a cascading series of plagues, culminating in a scourge that could kill all of the world’s children . . . decimating humankind forever.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
★ 10/31/2016
Bestseller Rollins’s epic 12th Sigma Force adventure (after The Bone Labyrinth) features exotic locales, heroic quests, quixotic villains, action galore, and enough science and scientific curiosities to titillate even casual readers. Archeologist Harold McCabe, who has been missing for two years, suddenly emerges from the Egyptian desert near death and dies before being able to say where he has been and what has happened. McCabe’s body seems to be the source of a deadly pathogen that threatens to cause a pandemic. That thread sends one team—including McCabe’s daughter, Jean McCabe; bio-archaeologist Derek Rankin; and Sigma Force’s operative named Seichan and Commander Grayson Pierce—to Egypt and Sudan. Meanwhile, Safia al-Maaz, a senior curator at the British Museum, is kidnapped while speaking with Sigma Force director Painter Crowe in Washington, D.C., and Painter follows that line, which leads to the Arctic and a huge installation run by billionaire Simon Hartnell. A Russian assassin, Valya Mikhailov, matches skills and wits with Seichan, while Valya’s assassin twin brother, Anton, does likewise with Crowe. Rollins’s characters are as large as his landscape in this vast and vastly entertaining thriller saga. Agents: Russ Galen, Scovil Galen Ghost Literary Agency; and Danny Baror, Baror International. (Dec.)
Booklist (starred review)
“When it comes to the blending of action, adventure, history, and science, there is no other author who does it better than Rollins. Fans of Clive Cussler, Steve Berry, and Michael Crichton should already have Rollins on their mandatory reading list.”
Library Journal
07/01/2016
In this next Sigma Force novel, Commander Grayson Pierce investigates a particularly gruesome murder: when a member of a British archaeological team that's been missing for two years stumbles out of the desert and drops dead, he's already been partly mummified. A mystery involving Mark Twain, Nikola Tesla, and Henry Morgan Stanley, plus secrets at an engineering complex in the Arctic, provide clues to an ancient scourge now reemerging to threaten humankind.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062381705
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
12/13/2016
Series:
Sigma Force Series , #12
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
448
Sales rank:
354
File size:
3 MB

Meet the Author

James Rollins is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of international thrillers that have been translated into more than forty languages. His Sigma series has been lauded as one of the “top crowd pleasers” (New York Times) and one of the “hottest summer reads” (People magazine). In each acclaimed novel, Rollins unveils unseen worlds, scientific breakthroughs, and historical secrets—and he does it all at breakneck speed and with stunning insight.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
Sacramento, California
Date of Birth:
August 20, 1961
Place of Birth:
Chicago, Illinois

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Seventh Plague 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous 22 days ago
Isn't the seventh plague hail?
Anonymous 25 days ago
I like to say that all of James Rollins books are like drinking a fine wine. Once started I savor every page! He takes you into worlds that are so believable you can hardly wait to see what happens next, but at the same time you don't want it to end. Whenever I see a new release from him, the anticipation of knowing it's going to be a great read is what keeps me coming back! Love every single book he has written! Sigma Force is the best running series out there. Definitely a must read.
Anonymous 18 days ago
Anonymous 20 days ago
I absolutely love all your books!
SheTreadsSoftly 3 months ago
The Seventh Plague by James Rollins is a very highly recommended addition to the Sigma Force series. This time Rollins takes the Sigma Force on globe-trotting investigations and confrontations as they try to prevent a world-wide threat of Biblical proportions. Rollins is guaranteed to provide bookish action/adventure junkies the escapism they crave. Professor Harold McCabe, the leader of a British archeological expedition in the Sudanese desert, dies before he can explain where he was and what he was uncovering. The professor was a believer that the plagues Moses brought down upon the Egyptians were real events and had been looking into this. An autopsy reveals that his body was in the stages of being mummified while the professor was still alive. But, when the medical team who performed the autopsy all become ill with a mysterious disease that threatens to spread across the globe, it becomes essential to discover where the professor was and what he had discovered. Painter Crowe and the Sigma Force are called in to help, but when a mysterious group destroys all evidence and the body they must try to retrace his steps. The professor's son, Rory is still missing. Jane McCabe (some reviews are calling her Jean, but my review copy calls her Jane) his daughter, and Derek Rankin, the professor's young protégé, are being protected and helping to try and solve the puzzle. Historical guests in this one include Mark Twain, Henry Morgan Stanley, Nikola Tesla, and Dr. David Livingstone. This is an exciting thrill-ride of a novel that provides plenty of action and adventure. Those who have never read any of Rollin's Sigma Force novels can jump into this one and I think they will still find it enjoyable and the perfect choice for escapism, especially on a cold winter night. Fans of the series know all the characters and at this point they are all well-developed. Expect plenty of notes about the research into a wide variety of facts, including historical and scientific, that Rollins undertook when writing The Seventh Plague. Sure, I'll concede the point that Rollin's novels may be following a formula, but even if that is true, he is one of the best around at this genre, he still adds twists and surprises, and his novels are always entertaining and compelling. Disclosure: My advanced reading copy was courtesy of the publisher/author.
Anonymous 3 months ago
I love how the author has so many parts of the story going all at once yet he writes so well that the reader doesn't get confused. This was yet another fantastic book by Rollins. Those who haven't started reading them are missing out on a rare treat. Stephanie Clanahan