THE SHILOH PROJECT [NOOK Book]

Overview

"The uneasy peace that has existed for more than 100 years between the Confederate States and the United States may be over...." -- Civil War Times

A riveting alternate history in the tradition of THE GUNS OF THE SOUTH and SS-GB. A Confederate Army intelligence officer, a beautiful Yankee spy, and the leader of the Slave Underground – they’ll decide the final outcome of an enmity that’s lasted over a century.

The South won at Gettysburg in ...
See more details below
THE SHILOH PROJECT

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$3.99
BN.com price

Overview

"The uneasy peace that has existed for more than 100 years between the Confederate States and the United States may be over...." -- Civil War Times

A riveting alternate history in the tradition of THE GUNS OF THE SOUTH and SS-GB. A Confederate Army intelligence officer, a beautiful Yankee spy, and the leader of the Slave Underground – they’ll decide the final outcome of an enmity that’s lasted over a century.

The South won at Gettysburg in 1863. Today the Mason-Dixon Wall divides Union and Confederacy . . . and many other things are different from the world we know. There was no Russian Revolution and no World War Two. The Wright brothers died in fiery crashes, and gigantic Zeppelins cruise the skies.
Nevertheless, a shaky peace has prevailed between the North and South. For forty years now, steaming endlessly up and down the North American coast from the Antilles to Nova Scotia, the Great Line has been the guarantor of the policy (first formulated by Winston Churchill in 1955) of "containment" of the expansionist Yankees and their no less aggressive Czarist Russian allies. Ten time larger than the primitive dreadnoughts Jellicoe and von Scheer maneuvered in 1916, in the closing days of the World War, each modern line-of-battle ship takes seven years to build and strains the resources of its sponsor government.
Only now . . . that ring of guns and steel may be broken.
For now the Union has a powerful new weapon, tested on Yokohama during the just-concluded Yankee-Japanese War. Unless the Confederacy can obtain its secret for the Empire, the hundred and thirty-year balance of terror may escalate into global disaster.
Only Colonel Aubrey Lee Quidley IV, Confederate States Army Intelligence, knows of the Shiloh Project's existence. Until the leak. In a police-state “Dixie Socialist” South, closed off behind barbed wire, there are those who want disaster for their own ends. The vengeful "conditionally emancipated" black Resistance . . . the fascist, genocidal Kuklos League . . . a beautiful Yankee mole inside the highest levels of the Richmond Government.
Together, they’ll turn Quidley's mission into a treacherous triangle of conspiracy, betrayal, and chaos. Whoever wins, the Confederacy will never be the same. . . .

About the Author

Millions of copies of Dave Poyer's thirty-plus books are in print, including THE MED, THE GULF, THE CIRCLE, THE PASSAGE, TOMAHAWK, CHINA SEA, BLACK STORM, THE COMMAND, THE THREAT, KOREA STRAIT, THE WEAPON, THE CRISIS, and THE TOWERS, USA Today best-selling novels of the modern Navy and Marine Corps; and FIRE ON THE WATERS, A COUNTRY OF OUR OWN, and THAT ANVIL OF OUR SOULS, historical fiction set during the Civil War. His work has been translated into Japanese, Dutch, and Italian, and rights have been sold for films, audiobooks, and ebooks.
Poyer holds a master's degree from George Washington University and has taught or lectured at Annapolis, Flagler College, University of Pittsburgh, Old Dominion University, Armed Forces Staff College, University of North Florida, The New College, and other institutions. He has been a writer in residence at Flagler and Annapolis, and a guest on PBS's "Writer to Writer" series and on Voice of America. His fiction has been required reading in the U.S. Naval Academy’s “Literature of the Sea” course, along with that of Joseph Conrad and Herman Melville. He was a founding editor of the New Virginia Review and is currently a consulting editor for other literary magazines. He currently teaches fiction and memoir in the Creative Writing program at Wilkes University, Wilkes-Barre, PA.
THE SHILOH PROJECT, originally published in 1981, was his second novel.

Website: <www.poyer.com>
Facebook: David Poyer
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940015580648
  • Publisher: Northampton House
  • Publication date: 10/9/2012
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 238,825
  • File size: 304 KB

Meet the Author

Millions of copies of Dave Poyer's thirty-plus books are in print, including THE MED, THE GULF, THE CIRCLE, THE PASSAGE, TOMAHAWK, CHINA SEA, BLACK STORM, THE COMMAND, THE THREAT, KOREA STRAIT, THE WEAPON, THE CRISIS, and THE TOWERS, USA Today best-selling novels of the modern Navy and Marine Corps; and FIRE ON THE WATERS, A COUNTRY OF OUR OWN, and THAT ANVIL OF OUR SOULS, historical fiction set during the Civil War. His work has been translated into Japanese, Dutch, and Italian, and rights have been sold for films, audiobooks, and ebooks.
Poyer holds a master's degree from George Washington University and has taught or lectured at Annapolis, Flagler College, University of Pittsburgh, Old Dominion University, Armed Forces Staff College, University of North Florida, The New College, and other institutions. He has been a writer in residence at Flagler and Annapolis, and a guest on PBS's "Writer to Writer" series and on Voice of America. His fiction has been required reading in the U.S. Naval Academy’s “Literature of the Sea” course, along with that of Joseph Conrad and Herman Melville. He was a founding editor of the New Virginia Review and is currently a consulting editor for other literary magazines. He currently teaches fiction and memoir in the Creative Writing program at Wilkes University, Wilkes-Barre, PA.
THE SHILOH PROJECT, originally published in 1981, was his second novel.

Website: <www.poyer.com>
Facebook: David Poyer
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 2
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Duh

    Such a poorly written story...this could have been an interesting read if the author was more mature or had a decent editor for guidance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)