The Shogun's Scroll: Wield Power and Control Your Destiny

( 1 )

Overview

In the tradition of The Art of War and The Book of Five Rings, Stephen Kaufman's The Shogun's Scroll offers timeless advice on success in war and life. Written in the voice of Hidetomo Nakadai, a late twelfth century scholar and servant in the court of Minamoto Yoritomo—the first shogun of Japan and one of the world's most ruthless generals—this treatise can be used as a guide for personal development and motivation.

Read More Show Less
...
See more details below
Hardcover (Hardcover with Jacket)
$13.07
BN.com price
(Save 12%)$14.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (27) from $1.99   
  • New (13) from $1.99   
  • Used (14) from $1.99   
The Shogun's Scroll: Wield Power and Control Your Destiny

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.49
BN.com price
(Save 29%)$14.95 List Price

Overview

In the tradition of The Art of War and The Book of Five Rings, Stephen Kaufman's The Shogun's Scroll offers timeless advice on success in war and life. Written in the voice of Hidetomo Nakadai, a late twelfth century scholar and servant in the court of Minamoto Yoritomo—the first shogun of Japan and one of the world's most ruthless generals—this treatise can be used as a guide for personal development and motivation.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9784805311967
  • Publisher: Tuttle Publishing
  • Publication date: 3/10/2012
  • Edition description: Hardcover with Jacket
  • Pages: 128
  • Sales rank: 941,957
  • Product dimensions: 5.10 (w) x 7.60 (h) x 0.80 (d)

Meet the Author

Stephen F. Kaufman, Hanshi, 10th Dan, holder of the highest rank attainable in the martial arts, is an acknowledged "Founding Father" of American Karate. He is also the founder of the widely recognized Dojo No Hebi School of the Snake and the author of Mushashi's Book of Five Rings and The Art of War: The Definitive Interpretation of Sun Tzu's Classic Book of Strategy.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted October 30, 2012

    A Warrior's Read

    It's great to see this work updated in 2011. I read an earlier version of this text in the late 90's. Both are equally powerful in that the one expands further on the backstory, but not in its message. The docu-fiction account of the writing of the scrolls by Hidetomo Nakadai takes the reader through 23 chapters of how to conquer, how to create, how to manage, and how to wield the power necessary to not only acquire an empire, but to control it. The point of the work is not to focus on individual historical events, but moreso on the motivations behind Japanese historical figures and the mentality that caused them to be feared in feudal Japan and remembered in the 21st Century.

    Where we certainly aren't going to employ tactics such as raping, pillaging, and plundering today, understanding the distinctions made between evil and cruelty can yield the "emperor of his contemporary dynasty" a take-no-prisoners approach to goal setting and goal achieving.

    Hanshi Kaufman's experience with interpreting Sun Tzu's Art of War and Miyamoto Musashi's Book of Five Rings combined with his over 50 years in the martial arts allows him to come at the material, and in turn at us, from a warrior's vantage point. It's this perspective that perhaps above all is the best source of inspiration for, and the main motivator for our appreciation of, this first rate piece of literature.

    As such, this book is required reading for my martial arts students, as they quest toward their own personal dynasties.

    Sifu Mark Liverio
    Willow-Oak Martial Arts

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)