×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Shroud Key (Chase Baker Series #1)
     

The Shroud Key (Chase Baker Series #1)

3.2 6
by Vincent Zandri
 

See All Formats & Editions

Named one of SUSPENSE MAGAZINE'S Best Books of 2014!
WINNER: BEST "POTBOILER" NOVEL for 2013 by CrimeFictionBook Blog
THE NO. 1 AMAZON BESTSELLER IN "OCCULT''
THE NO. 1 AMAZON BESTSELLER IN "INTERNATIONAL CRIME AND MYSTERY"

"If you put Zandri and Dan Brown in a dark Cairo back alley, I'd put money on Zandri. He went to Cairo in the middle of the Arab

Overview

Named one of SUSPENSE MAGAZINE'S Best Books of 2014!
WINNER: BEST "POTBOILER" NOVEL for 2013 by CrimeFictionBook Blog
THE NO. 1 AMAZON BESTSELLER IN "OCCULT''
THE NO. 1 AMAZON BESTSELLER IN "INTERNATIONAL CRIME AND MYSTERY"

"If you put Zandri and Dan Brown in a dark Cairo back alley, I'd put money on Zandri. He went to Cairo in the middle of the Arab Spring (against the explicit wishes of the U.S. State Department), gathered materials for the book while Tahrir Square rioted ... The Shroud Key is page-turning fun for popcorn munchers."
--Ben Sobieck, CrimeFictionBook Blog

"Zandri has brought back that wonderful 'quest' story ... THE SHROUD KEY is well worth every minute."
--SUSPENSE MAGAZINE

Chase Baker is a true Renaissance Man. He's also a man who knows how to find trouble. A part-time resident of Florence, Italy, his resume reads like a modern day Da Vinci or Casanova. Writer, private investigator, tour guide, historian, treasure hunter, adventurer, and even archaeological sandhog, Chase is also a prolific lover. Unfortunately for him, his dangerous liaisons all too often make him the target of a jealous husband. Now, at the direct request of the Florence police, he finds himself on the trail of an archaeologist by the name of Dr. Andre Manion who's gone missing from his teaching post at the American University. But having worked for the archaeologist several years ago as a sandhog on a secret but failed dig just outside the Great Pyramids in the Giza Plateau, Chase smells a renewed opportunity to uncover what just might be the most prized archaeological treasure in the world: The mortal remains of Jesus. But how will Chase Baker go about solving the mystery of finding both the archaeologist and the Jesus Remains? With the help of Manion's beautiful ex-wife, Chase will manage to secure an up-close and personal examination of the Shroud of Turin, not only to view the famous image of the crucified Christ, but to unlock the relic's greatest secret which is none other than a map, or a key, detailing the precise location of Jesus's body. A romantic, action-packed, and thrilling conspiracy mystery for fans of Clive Cussler, Dan Brown, and JR Rain, from NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY bestselling author, Vincent Zandri.

"Sensational...Masterful...Brilliant." --New York Post

"The action never wanes." --Fort Lauderdale Sun-Sentinal

"Gritty, fast-paced, lyrical and haunting." --Harlan Coben, bestselling author of Six Years

"Tough, stylish, heartbreaking." --Don Winslow, bestselling author of Savages

"Non-stop action." --I Love a Mystery

"Vincent Zandri nails reader's attention." --Boston Herald

"(Zandri) demonstrates an uncanny knack for exposition, introducing new characters and narrative possibilities with the confidence of an old pro...Zandri does a superb job interlocking puzzle pieces." --The San Diego Union-Tribune

"Zandri has brought back that wonderful 'quest' story that keeps the reader alert and pinging with anticipation from beginning to end. His 'Chase Baker' character is cocky, smart, and multi-talented, but with that brotherly quality that reminds you of a best friend in school. These are the types of characters we remember and follow, and Zandri does them with flair, along with non-stop action and a surprise ending. What thriller reader could not love that? ... THE SHROUD KEY is well worth every minute." -- SUSPENSE MAGAZINE

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780615972145
Publisher:
Bear Media
Publication date:
02/14/2014
Series:
Chase Baker Series , #1
Pages:
316
Sales rank:
915,973
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.66(d)

Meet the Author

Winner of both the 2015 PWA Shamus Award and the 2015 ITW Thriller Award for Best Original Paperback Novel, Vincent Zandri is the NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY bestselling author of more than 20 novels including THE REMAINS, MOONLIGHT WEEPS, EVERYTHING BURNS, and ORCHARD GROVE. He is also the author of numerous Amazon bestselling digital shorts, PATHOLOGICAL, TRUE STORIES and MOONLIGHT MAFIA among them. Harlan Coben has described THE INNOCENT (formerly As Catch Can) as "...gritty, fast-paced, lyrical and haunting," while the New York Post called it "Sensational...Masterful...Brilliant!" Zandri's list of domestic publishers include Delacorte, Dell, Down & Out Books, Thomas & Mercer and Polis Books, while his foreign publisher is Meme Publishers of Milan and Paris. An MFA in Writing graduate of Vermont College, Zandri's work is translated in the Dutch, Russian, French, Italian, and Japanese. Recently, Zandri was the subject of a major feature by the New York Times. He has also made appearances on Bloomberg TV and FOX news. In December 2014, Suspense Magazine named Zandri's, THE SHROUD KEY, as one of the Best Books of 2014. A freelance photo-journalist and the author of the popular "lit blog," The Vincent Zandri Vox, Zandri has written for Living Ready Magazine, RT, New York Newsday, Hudson Valley Magazine, The Times Union (Albany), Game & Fish Magazine, and many more. He lives in New York and Florence, Italy. For more go to WWW.VINCENTZANDRI.COM

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Shroud Key (A Chase Baker Thriller) 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Suspenseful and intriguing
ediekEW More than 1 year ago
If you are into religious mysteries, and thrillers, this one is it. I couldn't put it down, and I love the twists that this one takes. There is definitely a sequel coming for this book.
Nook_Users_Book_Club More than 1 year ago
Are you looking for a modern day Renaissance Man? Well look no further than The Shroud Key by Vincent Zandri. This novel is fast paced and action packed and will take you globetrotting to places seen only in the Movies or on TV. The story revolves around Chase Baker. Chase is a jack of all trades. He’s an investigator, best-selling author, archaeological Sandhog, tour guide, and more. He also has an inability to say no to beautiful women (married or otherwise). The ex-wife of a former colleague has requested his help in finding her missing husband, Andre Manion. Manion, a teacher at the American University, has been secretly looking for the mortal remains of Jesus of Nazareth’s. He is believed to be somewhere in Giza, Egypt, and is most likely being held against his will. As different religious factions try to stop him, Chase finds himself in the middle of a religious battle that may cost him and his companions their life. The differences between religious beliefs has always been a touchy and controversial subject. This book was a great display of how beliefs can cause people to do dangerous things. The characters are richly developed and a love/hate relationship started immediately with several of them. The Shroud is talked about just enough to make you want to read up on the history. Zandri provides an adventure mixed with facts and faith. This book keeps you on your toes and is hard to put down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Packed with adventure, interesting characters and savory locales, Vincent Zandri's The Shroud Key is as entertaining as they come. A fantastic read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an intriguing, fast paced religious thriller that some may enjoy, but it may also be offensive to some Christians, Muslims, Jews, and Atheists. The main character, Chase, is an arrogant, cocky womanizer in the mold of the traditional hard-boiled old school P.I. The plot lacks the believable authenticity of a Dan Brown novel, with lots of hard-to-believe circumstances and ultimately relying on religious faith for the conclusion. There is lots of shooting and killing, thouh not much gore. I enjoyed it initially but became more and more disappointed as it progressed. I don't recommend this book, but I may give the author another try on a non-religious story. JB
NookChess More than 1 year ago
The author did not impress me how he wrote in first person style. He was kind of too cute. But I instantly put the book down when I read a sentence, (The bones of Jesus Christ). Well it does not take a genius to figure out this is most insulting to Christians.