The Simple Gifts Collection

This CD is Not Available through

Product Details

  • Release Date: 8/14/2001
  • Label: Gourd Music
  • UPC: 090167013128
  • Catalog Number: 131


Disc 1
  1. 1 Simple Gifts/Lovely Love (3:17)
  2. 2 Square Check Lane/When Cheer Fills the Hearts of My Friends (3:02)
  3. 3 O Lord Protect Thy Chosen Flock/My Carnal Life I Will Lay Down (5:08)
  4. 4 Back Manner Tunes (3:26)
  5. 5 And Now My Dear Companions (3:30)
  6. 6 My Robe Is New/Mother Ann's Song (3:18)
  7. 7 Father James's Song/Treasures of the Gospel/I Will Bow and Be Simple (3:07)
  8. 8 Mother Ann's Song (2:44)
  9. 9 Come Dance and Sing/Quick Dance (4:17)
  10. 10 The Saviour's Universal Prayer/And Again Heavenly Fathyer (4:16)
  11. 11 Hop up and Jump up/Simple Gifts (Reprise) (3:32)
Disc 2
  1. 1 I Will Walk with My Children/Welcome Gospel Kindred (4:12)
  2. 2 The Rolling Deep/Faithful Soldiers Travel On (3:10)
  3. 3 Mother Has Come with Her Beautiful Song/Love Oh Love (4:33)
  4. 4 I Want to Gather Down/The Earthquake (4:00)
  5. 5 Voyage to Canaan/Bow Down O Zion (4:28)
  6. 6 Living Souls/Good Believer's Life (4:50)
  7. 7 Tree of Life (3:44)
  8. 8 Holy Order Tune/How Beautiful O Zion/Shaker March (4:48)
  9. 9 The Humble Heart/I'm on My Way to Zion (5:33)
  10. 10 Pleasant Walk/F.M.'s March/Star of Purity (3:25)
  11. 11 Love Is Little (4:10)
  12. 12 Welcome Gospel Kindred/I Will Walk With My Children (Reprise) (4:51)
Disc 3
  1. 1 O Little Children/By Freedom Invited (3:19)
  2. 2 Shuffling Song (3:09)
  3. 3 A Cup of Rejoicing/Primitive Dance Tune (2:45)
  4. 4 Like Pretty Birds/Come Life, Shaker Life (3:19)
  5. 5 Music on the Mountains (3:28)
  6. 6 'Parting Glass Marech" (3:44)
  7. 7 Canterbury Solemn Song (3:28)
  8. 8 The Burning Day (2:33)
  9. 9 Heavy Cross/Mount Lebanon Solemn Song (4:56)
  10. 10 South Union Marches (3:13)
  11. 11 The Savior's Watchword (4:19)
  12. 12 Good Evening, My Friends/Mount Lebanon March (3:56)
  13. 13 The Ancients Song of Mourning (3:16)
  14. 14 Step Tune/Who Will Bow and Bend Like the Willow (4:05)
  15. 15 O Little Children (Reprise) (1:45)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
William Coulter Primary Artist, Guitar, Shaker, Guitar (Nylon String), Steel String
Robin Petrie Hammered Dulcimer
Neal Hellman Mountain Dulcimer
Lars Johannesson Wood Flute
Mike Marshall Mandolin, Violin, Viola, Mandocello
Shelley Philips English Horn, Oboe, Recorder, celtic harp, Irish Harp
Kaila Flexer Violin
Ester Landau Flute, Alto Flute, Wood Flute
Barry Philips Cello, Harmonium, Spoons, Mandola, Shaker, Bowed Psaltery
Deby Benton Grosjean Fiddle
Technical Credits
Neal Hellman Executive Producer
William Coulter Arranger, Composer, Producer, Engineer
Howard Johnston Mastering
Justin Mayer Arranger, Producer, Engineer
Gail Rich Liner Notes
Barry Philips Arranger, Producer, Engineer
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously