The Skinwalker's Apprentice [NOOK Book]

Overview

“Welcome to The Empire State, where banshees, witches, and skinwalkers wait…”

Margo Pennyfeather is being hunted. The 16-year-old witch has always been an outcast, in her home back in England, and now in the village of East Hampton, New York, where her family has settled. No one but her family has ever cared for Margo, but now the most important witch in the magic world wants her as an apprentice, giving her a chance to bring her family out of poverty.
Before long, Margo ...

See more details below
The Skinwalker's Apprentice

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$1.99
BN.com price

Overview

“Welcome to The Empire State, where banshees, witches, and skinwalkers wait…”

Margo Pennyfeather is being hunted. The 16-year-old witch has always been an outcast, in her home back in England, and now in the village of East Hampton, New York, where her family has settled. No one but her family has ever cared for Margo, but now the most important witch in the magic world wants her as an apprentice, giving her a chance to bring her family out of poverty.
Before long, Margo realizes things aren't what they seem, least of all, what kind of witch she really is. Now, the young witch must face a terrifying monster on her own, and the reverberations will reach farther than she could have ever imagined.

More than three hundred years later, in 1984 Emerald Kipp is a high school senior in New York City. A troubled teen with a rebellious streak, Emerald can't seem to figure out what to do with her life, and unfortunately for her, “witch” isn’t one of the available career choices in her guidance counselor’s office. As she struggles to figure herself out, Emerald is faced with the threat of being stuck in school and missing her final summer with her three best friends. Her last year of high school is turning out to be the worst yet, and Emerald thinks it can’t possibly get any worse. Unfortunately for her, she’s dead wrong.
And there’s something else, something far more sinister stirring in Emerald’s world, and she’ll have to believe in herself if she wants to get through it alive.

Two witches, three hundred years apart, one inescapable fate.

The Skinwalker's Apprentice is a prequel to the upcoming novel, Emerald Kipp and The Riddle of The Timekeeper, a terrifying magical scavenger hunt through the gritty streets of 1980’s New York City,set to a killer soundtrack, and perfect for fans of Harry Potter and The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Part of The Empire Witches series.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940045567886
  • Publisher: Claribel Ortega
  • Publication date: 2/24/2014
  • Sold by: Smashwords
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 170,311
  • Age range: 13 years
  • File size: 305 KB

Meet the Author

Claribel is a graduate of the SUNY Purchase journalism program, and got her start writing for the school’s Independent Newspaper. There she quickly rose the ranks editing the student's often times hilarious ads and ramblings at the back of the paper to staff and feature writer. After graduation, Claribel worked as a reporter for The Rivertowns Enterprise, a local paper in lower Westchester County, New York. There, she enjoyed going to board of education meetings and texting the town mayors about the line at Starbucks. Today, Claribel works for The Combined Book Exhibit, a book marketing company in Westchester NY. She lives in New York with her really awesome boyfriend, her suspiciously intelligent yorkie Pancho Villa and is surrounded by an impenetrable fort of books she gets from her job. “The Skinwalker’s Apprentice,” is her first book, and cheese is her favorite food.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    The Skinwalker's Apprentice is the prequel to what can be the be

    The Skinwalker's Apprentice is the prequel to what can be the best series I have read in a long time. Claribel Ortega will be following up this book with Emerald Kipp & The Riddle of the Timekeeper, which will be considered to be book one. 
    It took me a night and a half to get through this amazing novella that took me way into a world of magic, witches, and all out mystery filled with lavishing intrigue. 
    From the very start the book I was swept into an imaginary world that kept me on the edge of my seat from start to finish. Two witches one in the past and another in the present combine to form a unique storyline and plot in an epic way that is captivating and engaging. Both of the main characters Margo Pennyfeather and Emerald Kipp are described to perfection and in many ways allows the reader to become one with them on their journey. 
    This book is well written, descriptive and above all filled with great imagery that keeps you wanting more. I love the way Author Claribel Ortega mixes in history with fantasy. I hope this stays through with the other books in the series. 

    5 Stars and cant wait to read the next book Emerald Kipp & The Riddle of the Timekeeper. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    Great introduction to a new magical world!

    I was fortunate enough to receive an advanced reader copy of The Skinwalker's Apprentice, which is a novella from the upcoming Emerald Kipp series. The author, Claribel Ortega, immediately pulls you into the unique and different worlds of Emerald Kipp and Margo Pennyfeather. In her her debut as a novelist, Ortega proves herself to be a gifted story teller, introducing the reader to new, unseen magical sides of the world in which we live.

    We meet Margo, a teenage witch in colonial America, as she unexpectedly finds herself in a dangerous and magical game of cat and mouse. Meanwhile, three hundred years in the future, we visit Emerald and taste what life is is like for a teenage witch in high school in 1980's New York City.

    The series will likely have roots in history, as there are references to New York City's Mayor Koch, the Salem Witch Trials, and various musical acts.

    I felt like was able to immediately connect to Emerald. I appreciated her worries and fear of the unknown, and I can see the potential underdog in her.

    As I read Margo's story, I felt like I was being put in her shoes,experiencing what her life was like in 17th century America. As her story progressed,I felt as though I was there beside her, each step of the way.

    This book will be enjoyed by all who like thrilling stories, adventures, and magic. It left me in anticipation of the author's next book, and first part of The Empire Witch Series, The Riddle of the Timekeeper.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    A good read. It's a prequel so you are left with a lot of questi

    A good read. It's a prequel so you are left with a lot of questions at the end but in a good way. Leaves you wanting more, hope the next book is out soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2015

    Great introductory book. Love the 80's setting :)

    Great introductory book. Love the 80's setting :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    This book has some potential, I enjoyed the stories but they bui

    This book has some potential, I enjoyed the stories but they build to a climax then just end. That's no way to treat your readers imo.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Good book, if you like magic and witches.

    Good book, if you like magic and witches.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Really enjoyed this book, well written and interesting characte

    Really enjoyed this book, well written and interesting characters. I cannot wait for the 1st book in the series to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Awesome book, can't wait for the next.

    Awesome book, can't wait for the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)