The Songbird and the Soldier (HarperImpulse Contemporary Romance) [NOOK Book]

Overview

THE SONGBIRD AND THE SOLDIERAn emotional, intense love story. Perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks.Where do you turn when the first casualty of love is the truth?Sometimes it's when you least expect it that something wonderful happens, but for Andy Garrington the timing couldn't have been worse. Being sent half way round the world to Afghanistan, Andy is prepared for a fight, but what he doesn't expect is the most important battle of his life to carry on at home. For Samantha Litton, running into her childhood ...
See more details below
The Songbird and the Soldier (HarperImpulse Contemporary Romance)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook - ePub edition)
$1.99
BN.com price

Overview

THE SONGBIRD AND THE SOLDIERAn emotional, intense love story. Perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks.Where do you turn when the first casualty of love is the truth?Sometimes it's when you least expect it that something wonderful happens, but for Andy Garrington the timing couldn't have been worse. Being sent half way round the world to Afghanistan, Andy is prepared for a fight, but what he doesn't expect is the most important battle of his life to carry on at home. For Samantha Litton, running into her childhood crush at the pub one evening seems like good fortune. But when he is called away to war and she is left behind, things don't seem quite so clear and Sam has to determine who is telling her the truth and who is playing her for a fool, when all seems fair in love and war.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780007543939
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 7/25/2013
  • Series: HarperImpulse Contemporary Romance
  • Sold by: Harper Collins UK
  • Format: eBook
  • Edition description: ePub edition
  • Pages: 253
  • Sales rank: 227,554
  • File size: 2 MB

Meet the Author

My name is Wendy Jones. I was born and raised in West Sussex and moved to Birmingham to study Medicine at University, where I was lucky enough to meet my husband. We now live in a little village in Herefordshire with our two grubby boys. I discovered a love of writing not long after my youngest son started school. And if you were to ask me what it was that made me make the switch, I'd tell you quite simply, that it started with a dream.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted July 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    3.5 stars.  What I really enjoyed about this New Adult (they m


    3.5 stars. 

    What I really enjoyed about this New Adult (they may be mid 20s but they have all the markings of new adults) is that it was written for a
    British audience. We are immerse in the culture, language, and locations. I love it! I love that ebooks have given all readers a chance to
    read this way if they elect to do so!

    I also really liked that we get a view of the middle eastern wars from a regular soldiers perspective and the war from the British viewpoint
     on the homefront and in the arena.  These aspects make this a very special book for American readers, particularly. 

    The writer sets herself a challenge as her two lead characters are basically shy and not that talkative. I never get fully committed to the
    couple but that might just a personal thing. The story is very well written. We have a third love interest in the mix and he is not shy. The
    right choice for the heroine is clear from the start but like I said she is young and without the knowing that comes with more life and can't
    see that or other things clearly at first. Our hero is slow to move. There is a lot of angst in this one along with some lovely letter writing.
    The sensuality is mellow but right on for these characters. If you are looking for New Adult with more sensible angst, this is a good read for
     you. 

    I was given a copy of this book for my honest review. So, there you have i

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    Sam, a schoolteacher, is singing karaoke in her local pub and so

    Sam, a schoolteacher, is singing karaoke in her local pub and soldier Andy instantly recognises her as the girl who stole his heart with a kiss years earlier. But before he can meet her properly, his mate Dean (who just happened to be her teenage crush) steps in, sweeps her off her feet and away from Andy.




    However, after they deploy to Afghanistan, Dean loses interest in Sam. Andy sees his chance and takes it, deciding to write to Sam in his place. Soon a beautiful friendship is formed between them, and on an R&R visit, the relationship moves to a much more intimate level.




    But upon Andy's return to Afghanistan, a combination of lies, secrets and the acts of war itself threaten to tear all they've built apart.




    The romance between Sam and Andy is really well-written. Despite all of the missing information and secrets that lead to their relationship in the first place, it is fairly clear (at least to me) that this is one meant to last. I loved reading the letters between Sam and Andy. It was as if you could see yourself in their position, anticipating and eagerly awaiting the news of their loved one.




    I've read plenty of romances where the hero is in the military and is in some Special Forces/SAS type role. So it is nice to see Andy as a regular soldier (most in the armed forces are).




    When it comes to the dark moments in the book, I could sense Sam's confusion. She didn't want to believe ill of Andy, but Dean had never really given her a reason not to believe him. It did irk me a little that Sam believed Dean over Andy, but when you have been forcefed misinformation, it surely can't be easy to work out the truth.




    There was a moment towards the end of the story that made me stop and catch my breath. It was something I had NOT seen coming. I'm not planning to spoil it for you, so don't worry. However when you read it, you will know straight away which part I'm referring to.




    This was a really sweet and emotional read, and an excellent debut from Wendy Lou Jones. Based on this, the move from medicine to writing was a wise one.




    My rating: 4 out of 5 (originally 3.5, but rounded up on further reflection)




    Note: I was provided with an advanced reader copy of this book by Harper Impulse, an imprint of Harper Collins UK in return for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)