The Spirit Child [NOOK Book]

Overview

You are invited to enter Ar’rothi, a world as vividly realized as Narnia or Middle Earth, a world where animal spirits guide humans towards enlightenment, and in which an orphaned girl and a warrior duchess must join forces against an evil that threatens everything they have learned to love.

Bree is a duchess and a warrior: independent, prickly and strong. As a former commander in the elite Huntington’s Cavalry in the Queen’s Brigade, she ...
See more details below
The Spirit Child

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$2.99
BN.com price

Overview

You are invited to enter Ar’rothi, a world as vividly realized as Narnia or Middle Earth, a world where animal spirits guide humans towards enlightenment, and in which an orphaned girl and a warrior duchess must join forces against an evil that threatens everything they have learned to love.

Bree is a duchess and a warrior: independent, prickly and strong. As a former commander in the elite Huntington’s Cavalry in the Queen’s Brigade, she knows how to fight. But when she takes on responsibility for an eight-year-old orphan, Katie, rescuing her from the men who want to defile her, she gets far more than she ever expected.

For Katie is no ordinary girl. She is the Spirit Child, blessed and cursed with an unusual power…

In the world of Ar’rothi there are seven realms. Humans progress through these realms with the help of their Spirit Guides – animals who teach them the skills they need to move onto the next plane. A Badger, a White Wolf, a Panther… although most humans have lost the ability to see their Guides, these Spirits play a vital part in everyone’s life.

But now the Spirit Guides, and Ar’rothi itself, are under threat from Morgrad, the malevolent god of the underworld. In the shadows of the seventh realm, he is assembling a dark army, intent on destruction. Only the Spirit Child stands in the way of this terrible evil… but can she learn to use her powers before it is too late?

The Spirit Child is the first book in a powerful and moving new fantasy series by Alison Naomi Holt that will appeal to fans of Anne McAffrey and Mercedes Lackey — one that blends the lyrical and mystical with pulse-pounding action.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Amazon
"The Spirit Child seems a mystical work, flavored with Alaskan frontierism, Native American mysticism, and a lot of human interest...I want to know these people. It is a healing piece of work, far beyond just a good read."
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940015695793
  • Publisher: Alison Holt Books
  • Publication date: 9/19/2012
  • Series: The Seven Realms of Ar'rothi , #1
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 221
  • Sales rank: 745,088
  • File size: 213 KB

Meet the Author

Alison writes what she knows. She worked as a cop for more than 20 years, and her murder mystery series featuring police detective Alexandra Wolfe and her psychological suspense, The Door at the Top of the Stairs draw heavily upon that experience.
The series, The Seven Realms of Ar'rothi, is a departure from that part of Alison's life. Growing up on a working cattle ranch in Arizona gave her a unique love and understanding of animals of every shape and size. It also left time to read, constantly. In this new series, Alison has combined her love for animals with her ability to create other worlds and to populate those worlds with interesting and likable characters. So sit back with your Nook, relax, and be ready to escape into a new and exciting world of The Seven Realms of Ar'rothi.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Spirit Child (The Seven Realms of Ar'rothi) / Alison Naomi H

    The Spirit Child (The Seven Realms of Ar'rothi) / Alison Naomi Holt




    “You are invited to enter Ar’rothi, a world as vividly realized as Narnia or Middle Earth, a world where animal spirits guide humans towards enlightenment, and in which an orphaned girl and a warrior duchess must join forces against an evil that threatens everything they have learned to love.”




    Alison Naomi Holt has done an outstanding job creating her own elaborate world of Ar’rothi and its spiritual realms. Basic elements and environments are earthlike and there is a strong influence from Native American culture and spiritualism throughout, which made it easy for me to slip into her world.  Aurelia “Bree” Makena, Duchess of Danforth, has secluded herself away from society while she mourns the loss of her husband in the small township of Ashton Fork. When a trapper hauls a wild, mute, orphaned eight-year-old girl into town and offers her for sale, Bree could not let this child be bought by the likes of the men offering up bids. She also cannot see herself raising a child; regardless she now has possession of a severely abused, hard-headed child who is used to fending for herself. The battles of wills between these two are realistic, daunting, and at times comical.




    It is heartwarming to watch Bree come to terms with herself in taking responsibility for this little girl, having to push aside her depression and reach out to try to communicate with, what we soon find out is, the Spirit Child. When Bree’s friend Becca, a healer who studied at the King’s Collegiums and the Outer Territories to learn native healing techniques, shows up we learn this child’s history. The abuse she survived while being raised by one of the Shona tribes was severe and heartbreaking. When Bree learns the child was never even given a name she names her Kaiti, after her dead husband’s mother, therefore claiming the child as her own. The emotional journey these two characters take us on is worth the cost of the book.




    One of my favorite aspects of this story are the spirit guides, they are quite entertaining. Bree is considered a deaf one because she cannot (or refuses to) hear or see her spirit guide, much to her badger’s dismay. Becca can see and hear all spirit guides and hers is an awesome white wolf whose personality I loved. The Spirit Child sees and hears all spirit guides but her own, one of the most powerful Guides, Denabi the black panther, however, she refuses to acknowledge any of them believing she would be killed because she was not worthy. Ms. Holt has gone into a lot of detail building her spiritual world naming all the different levels and which spirit guides belong to which level. I found it all a bit overwhelming trying to remember them all, especially when two different tribes of Shona warriors started chasing the Spirit Child.




    There has been a breach between the Realms.  Evil is spilling into the physical realm from the Underworld and Black Guides, known as Teivaledin, are aligning themselves with those who have an inherently evil nature. In all Realms only Kaiti, who has the Gifts of Aevala, can see the Teivaiedin, She is their only hope in defeating Morgrad, God of the Underworld. This book is full of adventure, danger, drama, humor, healing, treachery, and the strength of the human spirit itself.




    FYI: 




    There is a Glossary included for all the terms and names, which really comes in handy.
    I found no significant editing or formatting issues in this story.




    **Originally written for "Books and Pals" book blog. May have received a free review copy. ** May 14, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2012

    I read this book in three VERY late nights. Ms. Holt is an excel

    I read this book in three VERY late nights. Ms. Holt is an excellent storyteller whose works span genres. This is her first novel in the Fantasy realm and is spot-on. The writing is crisp, clean, and to the point.

    Set in a world similar to the Middle Ages, there is a strong influence of Native American tribal culture and spiritualism implicit throughout. The danger is real and immediate. The humanity is three-dimensional, as is the personal growth of the main characters. The personal pain and torment of the both the Duchess and the Spirit Child has depth, from which they have the opportunity to grow. Spirit Guides are personal, both spiritual and real. They are woven in ways that are not necessarily obvious. Both Human and Spirit Guide have to grow and learn from each other. They each must protect and be protected. From that, the story grows.

    I highly recommend this book. I am very glad that this is only Book One. There is so much story to tell. I cannot wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)