The Story of Egypt

The Story of Egypt

by Joann Fletcher
The Story of Egypt

The Story of Egypt

by Joann Fletcher



Available on Compatible NOOK devices, the free NOOK App and in My Digital Library.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers


The story of the world's greatest civilization spans 4,000 years of history that have shaped the world. It is full of spectacular cities and epic stories—an evolving society rich in inventors, heroes, heroines, villains, artisans, and pioneers. Professor Joann Fletcher pulls together the complete story of Egypt, charting the rise and fall of the ancient Egyptians while putting their whole world into a context to which we can all relate.Fletcher uncovers some fascinating revelations: new evidence shows that women became pharaohs on at least ten occasions; and that the ancient Egyptians built the first Suez Canal and then circumnavigated Africa. From Ramses II's penchant for dying his grey hair to how we know that Montuhotep's chief wife bit her nails, Fletcher brings alive the history and people of ancient Egypt as nobody else can.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781681772035
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Publication date: 08/02/2016
Format: eBook
Pages: 496
Sales rank: 716,518
File size: 8 MB

About the Author

Professor Joann Fletcher is based in the Department of Archaeology at the University of York, where she teaches world mummification and funerary archaeology. She is the author of eight books, including The Search for Nefertiti and Cleopatra the Great. Among her many television appearances, the follow-up program to The Search For Nefertiti won a BAFTA, a Royal Television Society Award, and an Association for International Broadcasting Award. Most recently, she wrote and presented Life and Death in the Valley of the Kings for BBC2, and is now working on the four-part series The Story of Egypt for the BBC and PBS.

Table of Contents

Introduction 1

1 In the Beginning 5

2 Sahara Savannah: c.55,000-5500 BC II

3 Seeking the Waters: c.5500-3500 BC 17

4 The North-South Divide: c.3500-3100 BC 30

5 Lords and Ladies of the Two Lands: c.3100-2890 BC 39

6 Shifting Focus: c.2890-2686 BC 54

7 The Rise of the Pyramid Age: c.2667-2613 BC 60

8 Sons and Daughters of the Sun: c.2613-2494 BC 66

9 The Rule of Ra: c.2494-2375 BC 83

10 Clouds Across the Sun: c.2375-2181 BC 96

11 Anarchy in the Two Lands: c.2181-1985 BC 112

12 Classic Kingdom, Middle Kingdom: C.1985-1855 BC 127

13 Proliferate, Disintegrate: c. 1855-1650 BC 145

14 Divided and Conquered: c. 1650-1550 BC 157

15 Dawn of the Golden Age: c. 1550-1425 BC 168

16 Zenith of the Sun: c.1425-1352 BC 196

17 Reflected Glories: c.1352-1295 EC 217

18 Reigns of the Ramessides: c.1295-1069 BC 235

19 Decline, Rise and Fall: c.1069-332 BC 268

20 The Final Flourish: 332-30 BC 304

Chronology 369

Note on Spellings 377

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews