The Strange Files of Fremont Jones (Fremont Jones Series #1)

The Strange Files of Fremont Jones (Fremont Jones Series #1)

5.0 1
by Dianne Day
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Set in turn-of-the-century San Francisco, whose foggy, gaslit streets still echo with the sounds of horsedrawn carriages as well as the clang of cablecar bells, The Strange Files of Fremont Jones introduces a plucky, independent heroine who might well be the natural ancestor of those modern private eyes Kinsey Millhone and Kat Colorado. When proper Bostonian and…  See more details below

Overview

Set in turn-of-the-century San Francisco, whose foggy, gaslit streets still echo with the sounds of horsedrawn carriages as well as the clang of cablecar bells, The Strange Files of Fremont Jones introduces a plucky, independent heroine who might well be the natural ancestor of those modern private eyes Kinsey Millhone and Kat Colorado. When proper Bostonian and Wellesley graduate Fremont (nee Caroline) Jones buys a train ticket to San Francisco to escape her stepmother's meddlesome matchmaking and embark on a career as an independent "type-writer," she surely knows she is headed for adventure. Well-brought-up young ladies simply didn't do that sort of thing in 1905. But she soon discovers that her new career may involve more excitement than she bargained for. Certainly she had never intended to become so personally embroiled in the lives of her clients. First there is Justin Cameron, the dashingly handsome and somewhat feckless young lawyer, whose charm almost sweeps Fremont off her feet and lands her in mortal danger. Then there is the strangely disturbed and wildly frightened Edgar Allan Partridge, whose phantasmagoric autobiographical manuscript sends her on a mission of discovery up the California coast. And finally there is the elegant and deferential Li Wong, whose untimely death is linked to the paper Fremont typed for him, the content of which she cannot recall. With a setting and period meticulously observed, and a feisty, feminist protagonist, The Strange Files of Fremont Jones provides entertainment and intrigue for modernists and history lovers alike.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

J. Ashley
...The first in the Fremont Jones series and won the Macavity Award for best first novel....Strangely, I found this book to be a mixture of the refreshingly original and the annoyingly cliche. Why, oh why, when sleuths are handed A Vital Clue, in the form of a letter, diary, computer disk, what-have-you, does their insatiable curiosity suddenly disappear, and they refuse to read said letter and/or carelessly lose it? The Vital Clue that would have explained all had they but taken the time...
Over My Dead Body.com
From the Publisher
"A fine, buoyany literary style...A spirited, likable heroine."—Kirkus Reviews

"One of the most refreshing heroines to appear in years...Day rates top marks for her crisp, witty dialogue;...cleverly conceived plot; and darkly menacing touches of the macabre."—Booklist

"Dianne Day provides a delightful heroine and a lively, twisty, intriguing mystery."—Carolyn G. Hart, author of Death on Demand and the Henrie O mysteries.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780385475495
Publisher:
The Doubleday Religious Publishing Group
Publication date:
03/01/1995
Series:
Fremont Jones Series, #1
Edition description:
1st ed
Pages:
240

What People are saying about this

Margaret Maron
"Fans of Elizabeth Peters or Anne Perry should love Dianne Day's new turn-of-the-century female sleuth."
Carolyn G. Hart
"Dianne Day provides a delightful heroine and a lively, twisty, intriguing mystery."

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Strange Files of Fremont Jones (A Fremont Jones Mystery) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago