The Strange Files of Fremont Jones (Fremont Jones Series #1)

The Strange Files of Fremont Jones (Fremont Jones Series #1)

5.0 1
by Dianne Day
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Brave, resourceful, adventurous Fremont (née Caroline) Jones is a woman ahead of her time. Hungry for independence, she's traded in her conventional life in Boston for a career as a "type-writer" in turn-of-the-century San Francisco. But Fremont soon discovers that her clients aren't always what they appear to be, and that in doing her job she's

…  See more details below

Overview

Brave, resourceful, adventurous Fremont (née Caroline) Jones is a woman ahead of her time. Hungry for independence, she's traded in her conventional life in Boston for a career as a "type-writer" in turn-of-the-century San Francisco. But Fremont soon discovers that her clients aren't always what they appear to be, and that in doing her job she's transcribing her way into a wealth of mystery—and mortal danger....

Dashing lawyer Justin Cameron well-nigh sweeps Fremont Jones off her feet—and into a situation ripe with perilous intrigue. A client meets an untimely death that Fremant suspects is linked to the paper she typed for him, of which she can recall but one small fragment. And her attempts to disentangle reality and imagination in the gothic tales penned by Edgar Allan Partridge—whose demeanor is one of terror under the barest restraint—send her up the rocky California coast on a mission of discovery from which she may not return....

A riveting, atmospheric mix of intrigue and humor introduces a new investigator as cultivated as Sherlock Holmes and as spunky as Kinsey Millhone.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"A fine, buoyany literary style...A spirited, likable heroine."—Kirkus Reviews

"One of the most refreshing heroines to appear in years...Day rates top marks for her crisp, witty dialogue;...cleverly conceived plot; and darkly menacing touches of the macabre."—Booklist

"Dianne Day provides a delightful heroine and a lively, twisty, intriguing mystery."—Carolyn G. Hart, author of Death on Demand and the Henrie O mysteries.

J. Ashley
...The first in the Fremont Jones series and won the Macavity Award for best first novel....Strangely, I found this book to be a mixture of the refreshingly original and the annoyingly cliche. Why, oh why, when sleuths are handed A Vital Clue, in the form of a letter, diary, computer disk, what-have-you, does their insatiable curiosity suddenly disappear, and they refuse to read said letter and/or carelessly lose it? The Vital Clue that would have explained all had they but taken the time...
Over My Dead Body.com

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780553569216
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Publication date:
01/28/1996
Series:
Fremont Jones Series, #1
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
272
Sales rank:
325,925
Product dimensions:
4.13(w) x 6.09(h) x 0.96(d)

What People are saying about this

Margaret Maron
"Fans of Elizabeth Peters or Anne Perry should love Dianne Day's new turn-of-the-century female sleuth."
Carolyn G. Hart
"Dianne Day provides a delightful heroine and a lively, twisty, intriguing mystery."

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Strange Files of Fremont Jones (A Fremont Jones Mystery) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago