The Strange Maid: Book 2 of United States of Asgard

Overview

Fans of Neil Gaiman, Holly Black, and Maggie Stiefvater will embrace the richly drawn, Norse-influenced alternate world of the United States of Asgard, where cell phones, rock bands, and evangelical preachers coexist with dragon slaying, rune casting, and sword training in schools. Where the president runs the country alongside a council of Valkyries, gods walk the red carpet with Hollywood starlets, and the U.S. military has a special battalion dedicated to eradicating Rocky ...
See more details below
The Strange Maid: Book 2 of United States of Asgard

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

Available for Pre-Order
This item will be available on June 10, 2014.
NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.99
BN.com price
Note: Visit our Teens Store.

Overview

Fans of Neil Gaiman, Holly Black, and Maggie Stiefvater will embrace the richly drawn, Norse-influenced alternate world of the United States of Asgard, where cell phones, rock bands, and evangelical preachers coexist with dragon slaying, rune casting, and sword training in schools. Where the president runs the country alongside a council of Valkyries, gods walk the red carpet with Hollywood starlets, and the U.S. military has a special battalion dedicated to eradicating Rocky Mountain trolls.

Signy Valborn was seven years old when she climbed the New World Tree and met Odin Alfather, who declared that if she could solve a single riddle, he would make her one of his Valkyrie. For ten years Signy has trained in the arts of war, politics, and leadership, never dreaming that a Greater Mountain Troll might hold the answer to the riddle, but that’s exactly what Ned the Spiritless promises her. A mysterious troll hunter who talks in riddles and ancient poetry, Ned is a hard man to trust. Unfortunately, Signy is running out of time. Accompanied by an outcast berserker named Soren Bearstar, she and Ned take off across the ice sheets of Canadia to hunt the mother of trolls and claim Signy’s destiny.

From the Hardcover edition.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
2014-03-17
Can Signy solve the riddle that stands between her and her rightful place among the Valkyrie? Ten years ago, when she was 7, Signy's parents died in an accident. In her grief, during a visit to the New World Tree, she climbed the Tree and met Odin Alfather; he renamed her Signy Valborn, handing her her destiny: to become the next Valkyrie of the Tree, one of nine Valkyries who help run the United States of Asgard. The day after her 15th birthday, a riddle appeared on the trunk of the New World Tree; since she couldn't solve it, Signy set out to find her answer. Two years of sometimes-homeless living later, she's still looking…until she meets Ned Unferth, who says he can provide her the answer. He says that "The Valkyrie of the Tree will prove herself with a stone heart" means she must kill a troll and take its heart, which becomes stone in daylight. She trusts the truth rune she sees in his eye, and they set off to train and find a troll. Gratton's follow-up to The Lost Sun (2013) is more entertaining and engaging than its predecessor, but the tale's padded with so many complications it's easy to put down. There's such a surfeit of navel-gazing that Signy should be able to map her own spinal column. Fans of the first book and lovers of Norse legend may enjoy, but there's better for fantasy-adventure lovers. (Fantasy. 14-17)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780307977519
  • Publisher: Random House Children's Books
  • Publication date: 6/10/2014
  • Series: United States of Asgard Series
  • Pages: 416
  • Sales rank: 1,022,645
  • Age range: 12 years

Meet the Author

Tessa Gratton
TESSA GRATTON has wanted to be a paleontologist or a wizard since she was seven. She was too impatient to hunt dinosaurs, but is still searching for someone to teach her magic. After traveling the world with her military family, she acquired a BA (and the important parts of an MA) in gender studies, and then settled down in Kansas with her partner, her cats, and her mutant dog.
Read More Show Less

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)