The Suffering Servant: Isaiah 53 for the Life of the Church

The Suffering Servant: Isaiah 53 for the Life of the Church

The Suffering Servant: Isaiah 53 for the Life of the Church

The Suffering Servant: Isaiah 53 for the Life of the Church


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, February 29
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


The description of the Suffering Servant in Isaiah 53 is a beloved biblical text with an unshakable place in the theology and self-understanding of the church. Since New Testament times, this text has fed the church's thinking about the person and work of Jesus Christ.

Leading Old Testament theologian Gordon McConville offers a lively exposition of Isaiah 53 that is at once true to its Old Testament context, conversant with the history of interpretation, and deeply Christian. McConville illuminates the text's contribution to our apprehension of who Jesus is and explores the various ways the text can speak to us in faithfulness to its scriptural authority and character. The author explores the theological and spiritual issues that arise from the poetry's words and phrases and shows how this classic text can speak to the life of the church today.

The Touchstone Texts series addresses key Bible passages, making high-quality biblical scholarship accessible to the church. The series editor is Stephen B. Chapman, Duke Divinity School.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781540960634
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group
Publication date: 11/14/2023
Series: Touchstone Texts
Pages: 224
Sales rank: 345,845
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x (d)

About the Author

J. Gordon McConville (PhD, Queen's University, Belfast) is Professor Emeritus of Old Testament Theology at the University of Gloucestershire in Gloucestershire, England. He previously taught at Trinity College, Bristol, and Wycliffe Hall, Oxford. McConville has written or edited many books, including Being Human in God's World, Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets, and commentaries on Deuteronomy, Joshua, 1 and 2 Chronicles, and Ezra, Nehemiah, and Esther, and Isaiah.

Table of Contents

Series Preface
1. Introduction
2. The Form of Isaiah 53
3. Exposition of Isaiah 53
4. The Servant and Christ
5. The Servant in the Church's Ministry
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews