The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door

The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door

4.3 8
by Karen Finneyfrock
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

That's the day the trouble started.
The trouble that nearly ruined my life.
The trouble that turned me Dark.
The trouble that begs me for revenge.

Celia Door enters her freshman year of high school with giant boots, dark eyeliner, and a thirst for revenge against Sandy Firestone, the girl who did something unspeakable to Celia lastSee more details below

Overview

That's the day the trouble started.
The trouble that nearly ruined my life.
The trouble that turned me Dark.
The trouble that begs me for revenge.

Celia Door enters her freshman year of high school with giant boots, dark eyeliner, and a thirst for revenge against Sandy Firestone, the girl who did something unspeakable to Celia last year.

But then Celia meets Drake, the cool new kid from New York City who entrusts her with his deepest, darkest secret. When Celia's quest for justice threatens her relationship with Drake, she's forced to decide which is sweeter: revenge or friendship.

This debut novel from Karen Finneyfrock establishes her as a bright, bold, razor-sharp new voice for teens, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Will Grayson, Will Grayson.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Ninth-grader Celia Door lives in Hershey, Pa., home to chocolate and a sea of vanilla classmates. With a black wardrobe to match her outlook, Celia considers herself “Dark,” a permanent outsider who has accepted that she’ll never be one of the cool kids. The arrival of Drake, a new student from New York City, is a bright spot in Celia’s Dark life. She starts to fall for him, but it turns out that Drake is gay; far from a problem, it sets up a wonderful scenario for friendship, as Celia helps Drake woo his crush back home, and Drake helps Celia prioritize her dreams of becoming a poet rather than revenge over mean girl Sandy Firestone. In her YA debut, Finneyfrock gives Celia a drily funny voice that keeps the narrative zipping along. Although the serious secret Celia has been keeping comes a bit out of nowhere, readers who also feel like they have no place in the mainstream will easily identify with her, even when she makes a few seriously Dark mistakes. Ages 12–up. Agent: Daniel Lazar, Writers House. (Feb.)
Ruta Sepetys

“I loved The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door! Celia is a quirky and unique character whose journey—through friendship and secrets and chocolate—will stay with readers long after they close the book.”
—Ruta Sepetys, New York Times bestselling author of Between Shades of Grey
Bust Magazine Review
Finneyfrock’s work strikes the perfect tonal balance of humor, devastation and real storytelling." —Amber Tamblyn, Bust Magazine (review of author's poetry)
The Stranger Review
Finneyfrock writes poetry with muscular verve and narrative push. The depth and breadth suggested in just a few polished images placed next to each other will make you reconsider what poetry can do.” —Paul Constant, The Stranger (review of author's poetry)
Sherman Alexie

"Karen Finneyfrock is an amazing poet so it is no surprise that her first novel is poetic. It is also hilarious, exciting and as painful as anybody's teenage years. Read it, please."
—Sherman Alexie, National Book Award-Winning author of The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
From the Publisher
"Karen Finneyfrock is an amazing poet so it is no surprise that her first novel is poetic. It is also hilarious, exciting and as painful as anybody's teenage years. Read it, please."
Sherman Alexie, National Book Award-Winning author of The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian Sherman Alexie, National Book Award-Winning author

“I loved The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door!-Celia is a quirky and unique character whose journey-through friendship and secrets and chocolate-will stay with readers long after they close the book.”
Ruta Sepetys,-New York Times bestselling author of Between Shades of Grey Ruta Sepetys, New York Times bestselling author of Between Shades of Gray

Praise for The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door by Karen Finneyfrock:

“Finneyfrock gives Celia a drily funny voice that keeps the narrative zipping along.” -Publishers Weekly

“Revenge may be sweet, but the joys of friendship and following your own star prove even sweeter in this engaging…novel about a creative, rebellious youngster.” -Kirkus

"[Celia Door is] a memorable outsider who is articulate, funny, and brave."--School Library Journal

"Suggest this to fans of David Levithan's and A. S. King's books, as well as all teens who feel outside the frenzy of high-school social life."--Booklist
"...well-written, engaging, and ultimately hopeful..."--VOYA

VOYA - Nina Anikeeva
Every reader has known a run-of-the-mill high school outcast like Celia, which makes it easier to understand her thoughts and feelings. For example, when the interesting twist of Drake coming out breaks Celia's heart at first, and then strengthens their friendship as a result, readers will understand why. Although Finneyfrock waited too long to reveal the secret of The Book and unnecessarily capitalized words, overall this was an intriguing page-turner. It is recommended for ages thirteen and up. Reviewer: Nina Anikeeva, Teen Reviewer
VOYA - Rebecca Moore
Fourteen-year-old Celia Door lives in Hershey, Pennsylvania, but finds the town—and especially its schools—anything but sweet. After the incident in eighth grade with Sandy Firestone and The Book, Celia decides she has had enough. Over the summer, she changes herself into Celia the Dark and starts high school determined to get her revenge. The problem is, she has no idea how, and Sandy's torment only continues. Celia's only refuges are her hoodie, the library, and her poetry notebook. Then Celia meets newcomer Drake, a beyond-cool skateboarder from New York who insists on befriending her and trusts her with his deepest secret. When Drake inadvertently offers Celia a way to get back at Sandy once and for all, will Celia risk her one and only friendship to get her revenge? This well-written, engaging, and ultimately hopeful book offers sympathetic characters with depth and interest. Both Celia and Drake cope with issues unfortunately common to many teens, such as bullying, sexuality, absent parents, divorce, and suicidal thoughts. Many readers will see themselves reflected in these pages. The only disappointment is that, despite Celia's bold declarations at the start of the book, her lack of a revenge plan saps energy from the plot and the character. Still, Celia's actions and the repercussions are believable, if somewhat predictable, and her lovely poems add depth and lyricism to the story. This should enjoy wide readership among girls. Reviewer: Rebecca Moore
School Library Journal
Gr 8 Up—Celia Door enters Hershey High with one objective: revenge for what Sandy Firestone did to her the previous year. Sandy and her coterie of popular girls continue to torment Celia and others who don't fit their mold. The "Celia the Dark" locker sign attracts the attention of Drake Berlin, who lives with his grandmother while waiting for a place in an arts school back in New York City. Good-looking and athletic, he appreciates Celia's unconventional dress and outlook, trusting her with the secret that he is gay. When his best friend, Japhy, rejects his advances, Drake undertakes a program of positive thinking to convince Japhy otherwise. Following the precepts of Dream It! Do It! Drake encourages Celia to pursue her own dream. While Celia pretends to work toward becoming a published poet, her real goal is revenge. Unfortunately, her chance to take down Sandy ends up hurting Drake as well. Celia often seeks online advice from her cousin Dorathea, a student at UC Berkeley. Her replies mix social commentary with insights about family and friends. Not surprisingly, poet Finneyfrock deftly incorporates Celia's own poetry into the plot, as when she reworks her mom's brief instructional notes into haiku. Most memorable is Celia's wry, perceptive, and honest narrative voice. When readers finally learn the details of Sandy's eighth-grade actions and Celia's desperate response, it becomes clear that humor can cover only so much hurt. Finneyfrock weaves characters and plotlines into an entertaining and thought-provoking mix. She succeeds in making her debut much more than a "problem novel" by creating a memorable outsider who is articulate, funny, and brave.—Kathy Piehl, Minnesota State University, Mankato
Kirkus Reviews
Revenge may be sweet, but the joys of friendship and following your own star prove even sweeter in this engaging, low-key novel about a creative, rebellious youngster. Fourteen-year-old Celia Door has taken on the private moniker "Celia the Dark" after being roundly rejected by her classmates at the end of eighth grade. But as luck would have it, new student Drake joins her class, and his friendship gives her a fresh prism through which to see herself. Drake is also the keeper of his own secret, and how these friends support each other as they navigate the social and psychological minefield of ninth grade is the heart of the story. What debut novelist Finneyfrock captures perfectly is the powerlessness of being a teen. The things that distress Celia--her best friend being pulled out of school, a mean-girl campaign to humiliate her, her parents' separation and her father's move to far-away Atlanta--affect her very core but are largely out of her control. Illuminated with flashes of humor, Celia's narration is expressive, and her poems, which are sprinkled throughout the novel, elucidate her emotional state with grace and specificity. Although the story drags in places and the resolution feels forced, girls should sympathize with Celia and Drake and root for their success. (Fiction. 12-16)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101594049
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
02/21/2013
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
288
Sales rank:
696,174
File size:
1 MB
Age Range:
12 - 17 Years

What People are saying about this

Sherman Alexie
"Karen Finneyfrock is an amazing poet so it is no surprise that her first novel is poetic. It is also hilarious, exciting and as painful as anybody's teenage years. Read it, please."
—Sherman Alexie, National Book Award-Winning author of The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
From the Publisher

Praise for The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door by Karen Finneyfrock:

“Finneyfrock gives Celia a drily funny voice that keeps the narrative zipping along.” —Publishers Weekly

“Revenge may be sweet, but the joys of friendship and following your own star prove even sweeter in this engaging…novel about a creative, rebellious youngster.” —Kirkus

"[Celia Door is] a memorable outsider who is articulate, funny, and brave." —School Library Journal

"Suggest this to fans of David Levithan’s and A. S. King’s books, as well as all teens who feel outside the frenzy of high-school social life." —Booklist
"...well-written, engaging, and ultimately hopeful..." —VOYA

Ruta Sepetys
“I loved The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door! Celia is a quirky and unique character whose journey—through friendship and secrets and chocolate—will stay with readers long after they close the book.”
—Ruta Sepetys, New York Times bestselling author of Between Shades of Grey

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >